Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for autism research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
ABC of Autism by
Publication Date: 2019-04-15
ABC of Autism provides clinicians and medical students with a succinct, evidence-based overview of the symptoms, evaluation, treatment, and management of autism in both daily practice and for ongoing patient support plans. This accessible and informative guide allows primary healthcare professionals to quickly reference the essential information required for appropriate patient care. Compact yet comprehensive, this book offers concise and focused chapters covering topics ranging from basic epidemiology and key diagnostic features to managing behavioural difficulties and co-morbidities, such as ADHD and dyspraxia. Full-colour illustrations reinforce understanding of the condition while actual case studies demonstrate contemporary practices and real-life scenarios. ABC of Autism is a valuable resource for GPs, paediatricians, speech therapists, educational psychologists, medical and nursing students, and practitioners responsible for coordinating multidisciplinary care for patients with autism.
Exploring Autism by
Publication Date: 2020
This book is based on an in-depth filmed conversation between Howard Burton and one of the world's leading experts on autism Uta Frith, Professor of Cognitive Development at University College London. Topics that are examined in this extensive conversation are what autism actually is, the reasons behind the increased number of diagnoses over the last few years, autism spectrum disorders, Asperger's syndrome, mentalizing, brain imaging to research the cognitive and neurobiological bases of autism and more.This carefully-edited book includes an introduction, The Autistic Condition, and questions for discussion at the end of each chapter. Howard Burton was the Founding Director of Canada's Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics. He holds a PhD in theoretical physics and an MA in philosophy. This book is part of an expanding series of 100+ Ideas Roadshow conversations, each one presenting a wealth of candid insights from a leading expert in a focused yet informal setting to provide a uniquely accessible window into frontline research and scholarship that wouldn't otherwise be encountered through standard lectures and textbooks.
The SAGE Handbook of Autism and Education by
Publication Date: 2019-09-11
Education is an important aspect of the environmental influences on autism and effective education can have a significant effect on outcome for those on the autism spectrum. This handbook is a definitive resource for reflective practitioners and researchers who wish to know and understand current views of the nature of autism and best practice in educational support. It explores the key concepts, debates and research areas in the field.
Assessment of Autism Spectrum Disorder, Second Edition by
Call Number: Winter Haven Circulation ; RJ506.A9 A867 2018
Publication Date: 2018-03-09
This authoritative resource, now thoroughly revised for DSM-5, has set the standard for the comprehensive assessment of autism spectrum disorder (ASD). Leading experts demonstrate how to craft a scientifically grounded profile of each child's strengths and difficulties, make a formal diagnosis, and use assessment data to guide individualized intervention in clinical and school settings. Chapters review state-of-the-art instruments and approaches for evaluating specific areas of impairment in ASD and co-occurring emotional and behavioral disorders. Considerations in working with children of different ages are highlighted. With a primary focus on children, several chapters also address assessment of adolescents and adults. New to This Edition *Chapter on key implications of DSM-5 diagnostic criteria, plus related updates throughout the volume. *Chapter on advances in early identification (ages 0-3). *Chapter with in-depth case examples illustrating the evaluation decision-making process and common diagnostic challenges. *Chapters on pseudoscience (including strategies for advising parents) and future directions in the field. *Current assessment data, numerous new and revised measures, and cutting-edge screening approaches.
Divergent Mind by
Call Number: Lakeland Circulation ; RC451.4.W6 N47 2021
Publication Date: 2021-02-16
AUDIBLE EDITOR'S PICK A paradigm-shifting study of neurodivergent women--those with ADHD, autism, synesthesia, high sensitivity, and sensory processing disorder--exploring why these traits are overlooked in women and how society benefits from allowing their unique strengths to flourish. As a successful Harvard and Berkeley-educated writer, entrepreneur, and devoted mother, Jenara Nerenberg was shocked to discover that her "symptoms"--only ever labeled as anxiety-- were considered autistic and ADHD. Being a journalist, she dove into the research and uncovered neurodiversity--a framework that moves away from pathologizing "abnormal" versus "normal" brains and instead recognizes the vast diversity of our mental makeups. When it comes to women, sensory processing differences are often overlooked, masked, or mistaken for something else entirely. Between a flawed system that focuses on diagnosing younger, male populations, and the fact that girls are conditioned from a young age to blend in and conform to gender expectations, women often don't learn about their neurological differences until they are adults, if at all. As a result, potentially millions live with undiagnosed or misdiagnosed neurodivergences, and the misidentification leads to depression, anxiety, low self-esteem, and shame. Meanwhile, we all miss out on the gifts their neurodivergent minds have to offer. Divergent Mind is a long-overdue, much-needed answer for women who have a deep sense that they are "different." Sharing real stories from women with high sensitivity, ADHD, autism, misophonia, dyslexia, SPD and more, Nerenberg explores how these brain variances present differently in women and dispels widely-held misconceptions (for example, it's not that autistic people lack sensitivity and empathy, they have an overwhelming excess of it). Nerenberg also offers us a path forward, describing practical changes in how we communicate, how we design our surroundings, and how we can better support divergent minds. When we allow our wide variety of brain makeups to flourish, we create a better tomorrow for us all.
Unmasking Autism by
Call Number: Lakeland Circulation ; RC553.A88 P754 2022
Publication Date: 2022-04-05
A deep dive into the spectrum of Autistic experience and the phenomenon of masked Autism, giving individuals the tools to safely uncover their true selves while broadening society's narrow understanding of neurodiversity "A remarkable work that will stand at the forefront of the neurodiversity movement."--Barry M. Prizant, PhD, CCC-SLP, author of Uniquely Human: A Different Way of Seeing Autism For every visibly Autistic person you meet, there are countless "masked" Autistic people who pass as neurotypical. Masking is a common coping mechanism in which Autistic people hide their identifiably Autistic traits in order to fit in with societal norms, adopting a superficial personality at the expense of their mental health. This can include suppressing harmless stims, papering over communication challenges by presenting as unassuming and mild-mannered, and forcing themselves into situations that cause severe anxiety, all so they aren't seen as needy or "odd." In Unmasking Autism, Dr. Devon Price shares his personal experience with masking and blends history, social science research, prescriptions, and personal profiles to tell a story of neurodivergence that has thus far been dominated by those on the outside looking in. For Dr. Price and many others, Autism is a deep source of uniqueness and beauty. Unfortunately, living in a neurotypical world means it can also be a source of incredible alienation and pain. Most masked Autistic individuals struggle for decades before discovering who they truly are. They are also more likely to be marginalized in terms of race, gender, sexual orientation, class, and other factors, which contributes to their suffering and invisibility. Dr. Price lays the groundwork for unmasking and offers exercises that encourage self-expression, including: * Celebrating special interests * Cultivating Autistic relationships * Reframing Autistic stereotypes * And rediscovering your values It's time to honor the needs, diversity, and unique strengths of Autistic people so that they no longer have to mask--and it's time for greater public acceptance and accommodation of difference. In embracing neurodiversity, we can all reap the rewards of nonconformity and learn to live authentically, Autistic and neurotypical people alike.
What Science Tells Us about Autism Spectrum Disorder by
Call Number: Lakeland Circulation ; RJ506.A9 B394 2020
Publication Date: 2020-02-05
What have scientists learned about the causes of autism spectrum disorder? Why do different kids have such different symptoms, and what are the best ways to deal with them? Will there ever be a cure? From leading autism researchers, this accessible guide helps you put the latest advances to work for your unique child. Separating fact from fiction about causes, treatments, and prevention, the book guides you to make lifestyle choices that support the developing brain. From the impact of sleep, exercise, diet, and technology, to which type of professional help might be the right fit, the authors cover it all with expertise and compassion. Learn about the choices you face--and the steps you can take--to build a happier, healthier life for your child and family. Winner (Second Place)--American Journal of Nursing Book of the Year Award, Consumer Health Category
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
The premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Gale Health & Wellness This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive consumer health resource, provides accurate, authoritative information on a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative and complementary medical practices. Designed for researchers at all levels, its intuitive interface provides multiple pathways to information including alternative medicine.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.