Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for bipolar disorder research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
Bipolar Disorder A guide for mental health professionals, carers and those who live with it by
Publication Date: 2014
This handbook brings together the knowledge and experience of both health professionals and those with bipolar disorder to create a balanced, informative and very practical guide to good practice in understanding and managing the disorder.
The 36 chapters cover a wide range of subjects, including diet, supporting the family, counselling, warning signs and relapse prevention, to develop the reader’s understanding of many aspects of the disorder. The chapters also contain case studies, exercises and consideration points for those who want to expand on their reading.
Bipolar II Disorder Workbook: Managing Recurring Depression, Hypomania, and Anxiety by
Publication Date: 2014-02-02
Most people have heard of bipolar disorder, a mental health condition that is marked by manic episodes and periods of intense depression. Bipolar II disorder differs from bipolar I in that sufferers may never experience a full manic episode, although they may experience periods of high energy and impulsiveness (hypomania), as well as depression and anxiety. If you have been diagnosed with bipolar II, or even if you think that you may have this disorder, you may be frightened by the highs and lows of your intense emotions. Fortunately, there are proven-effective treatments that can help you find a sense of calm and peace of mind. Written by an extremely accomplished team of bipolar experts, The Bipolar II Disorder Workbook is designed to help you manage the recurring depression, hypomania, and anxiety that can arise as a result of your condition. The convenient workbook format combines evidence-based cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT), dialectical behavioral therapy (DBT), and other mindfulness-based exercises to help you manage your emotions, track your progress, and ultimately live a happy and more productive life. This is the first self-help workbook available specifically for individuals diagnosed with bipolar II disorder.
The Tao of Bipolar: Simple Meditations to Help You Balance Your Moods, Feel Calm, and Foster Stable Relationships by
Publication Date: 2013-04-01
If you have bipolar disorder, you struggle with psychological balance, swinging between highly depressed and highly manic states. For you, finding the middle path can be a challenge, which is why the Tao understanding of energy can be so helpful. "Tao,” is a Chinese word meaning "the way” and a metaphysical concept for understanding the universe as a circular flow of energy. The Tao understanding of bipolar disorder is that symptoms are the result of a disrupted or imbalanced energy flow that can be brought back to harmony with dedication and practice. In The Tao of Bipolar, you will reconnect with your essential, stable, balanced nature, which, according to the Tao, is the inherent state of all matter. In the book, you will learn to manage your energy with meditation and other techniques so that you can always return to their stable center. While you may lose touch with the center during bipolar episodes, this book encourages you to use mindfulness and meditation to consciously shift your energy back to this center before a bipolar episode gets too extreme.
Peddling Mental Disorder : the crisis in modern psychiatry by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (RC455.2.C4 R49 2016)
Publication Date: 2015-10-19
Psychiatry is a mess. Patients who urgently need help go untreated, while perfectly healthy people are over-diagnosed with serious mental disorders and receive unnecessary medical treatment. The roots of the problem are the vast pharmaceutical industry profits and a diagnostic system--the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM)--vulnerable to exploitation. Drug companies have fostered the development of this system, pushing psychiatry to over-extend its domain so that more people can be diagnosed with mental disorders and treated with drugs. This book describes the steady expansion of the DSM--both the manual itself and its application--and the resulting over-medication of society. The author discusses revisions and additions to the DSM (now in its fifth edition) that have only deepened the epidemics of major depression, premenstrual dysphoric disorder, social anxiety disorder, attention deficit disorder and bipolar disorder.
Bipolar faith : a black woman's journey in depression and faith by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (RC516 .C65 2016)
Publication Date: 2016
Bipolar Faith is both spiritual autobiography and a memoir of mental illness. In this powerful book, Monica A. Coleman shares her life-long dance with trauma, depression, and the threat of death. Coleman offers a rare account of how the modulated highs of bipolar II can lead to professional success, while hiding a depression that even her doctors rarely believed. Only as she was able to face her illness was she able to live faithfully with bipolar. And in the process, she discovered a new and liberating vision of God.
Bipolar Disorder Assessment and Treatment by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation (RC516 .S865 2012)
Publication Date: 2010-12-07
Bipolar Disorder Assessment and Treatment, Second Edition has been updated to reflect today's standards of care for diagnosing and treating bipolar disorder in adults. This professional reference title includes extensive information for diagnosing, treating and managing adult patients with bipolar disorder. Key Features Include:Epidemiology and risk factors Assessment strategies Differential diagnosis/comorbidity Neurobiology and neuropsychiatry Treatment strategies Antimanic and antidepressant agents Maintenance treatment options Psychosocial interventions
Health Reference Center Academic Contains up-to-date information on a complete range of health care topics. This database includes full-text periodicals, reference books, and pamphlets, as well as hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context The premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Health and Wellness Resource Center This comprehensive consumer health resource, provides accurate, authoritative information on a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative and complementary medical practices. Designed for researchers at all levels, its intuitive interface provides multiple pathways to information including alternative medicine.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. Your borrower ID is your student ID number (no dashes). Your pin/password is the last four digits of your student ID number.