Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for bitcoin research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
The Bitcoin Big Bang: How Alternative Currencies Are About to Change the World by
Publication Date: 2014-11-17
Get a handle on the digital currency revolution, and learn how to get on board. The Bitcoin Big Bang is a guide to navigating the uncharted territory of digital currency. Written by CNBC contributor Brian Kelly, this book goes beyond Bitcoin 101 to explain how this transformative technology is about to change the world.
Virtual Billions: The Genius, the Drug Lord, and the Ivy League Twins Behind the Rise of Bitcoin by
Publication Date: 2016-04-05
"Bitcoin, the digital currency, was introduced in 2009 with little fanfare; five years later, shocking the world, it was worth $14 billion. This book explores the cyber currency by focusing on the remarkable stories and intriguing personalities of those responsible for its sudden success: Satoshi Nakamoto, the reclusive and anonymous genius who created Bitcoin; Ross Ulbricht, aka the Dread Pirate Roberts, administrator of the largest and most successful Dark Web drug superstore, using Bitcoin to fuel online sale of drugs, hacking services, counterfeit money, and assassinations; and Cameron and Tyler Winklevoss, Harvard graduates, successful litigants vs. Facebook, world-class Olympic rowers, and Bitcoin entrepreneurs who own 1 percent of all bitcoins in existence. Equal parts The Social Network, Sherlock Holmes, and Breaking Bad, this absorbing narrative tells the stories of the reclusive genius who waged a one-man war against the global banking system (and he's winning); the quiet and affable computer geek who, until his arrest, profited handsomely from Silk Road, his online drug superstore; and the multitalented Harvard twins, who made a fortune from an intellectual-property suit against Mark Zuckerberg, and now are the chief promoters of Bitcoin as "the next big thing."
The Evolution of Money by
Publication Date: 2016-06-14
The Evolution of Money illuminates money's elastic nature, focusing on the tension between currency's real and abstract properties and advancing a vital theory of money. From ancient Mesopotamia to the digital era, The Evolution of Money helps us visualize and strategize money's next, transformative role. The sharing economy's unique customer-to-company exchange is possible because of the way in which money has evolved. These transactions have not always been as fluid as they are today, and they are likely to become even more fluid. It is therefore critical that we learn to appreciate money's elastic nature as deeply as do Uber, Airbnb, Kickstarter, and other innovators, and that we understand money's transition from hard currencies to cryptocurrencies like Bitcoin if we are to access their cooperative potential.
Understanding Bitcoin by
Publication Date: 2014-11-24
With Understanding Bitcoin, expert author Pedro Franco provides finance professionals with a complete technical guide and resource to the cryptography, engineering and economic development of Bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies. This comprehensive, yet accessible work fully explores the supporting economic realities and technological advances of Bitcoin, and presents positive and negative arguments from various economic schools regarding its continued viability.
Mastering Bitcoin by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (HG1710.A58 2017)
Publication Date: 2017-07-01
Join the technological revolution that's taking the financial world by storm. The second edition includes: A broad introduction of bitcoin and its underlying blockchain--ideal for non-technical users, investors, and business executives An explanation of the technical foundations of bitcoin and cryptographic currencies for developers, engineers, and software and systems architects Details of the bitcoin decentralized network, peer-to-peer architecture, transaction lifecycle, and security principles New developments such as Segregated Witness, Payment Channels, and Lightning Network A deep dive into blockchain applications, including how to combine the building blocks offered by this platform into higher-level applications User stories, analogies, examples, and code snippets illustrating key technical concepts
How Money Got Free: Bitcoin and the fight for the future of finance by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (HG1710 .E33 2017)
Publication Date: 2017-05-09
In the space of a few years, Bitcoin has gone from an idea ignored or maligned by almost everyone to an asset with a market cap of more than $12 billion. Venture capital firms, Goldman Sachs, the New York Stock Exchange, and billionaires such as Richard Branson and Peter Thiel have invested more than $1 billion in companies built on this groundbreaking technology. Bill Gates has even declared it 'better than currency'. But can its early promise endure? Or will the next evolution of money be neutered as it goes mainstream? The pioneers of Bitcoin were twenty-first-century outlaws - cryptographers, hackers, Free Staters, ex-cons and drug dealers, teenage futurists and self-taught entrepreneurs - armed with a renegade ideology and a grudge against big government and big banks. Now those same institutions are threatening to co-opt or curtail the impact of digital currency. But the pioneers, some of whom have become millionaires themselves, aren't going down without a fight.
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven & Lakeland Circulation (HG221 .B5737 2015)
Publication Date: 2015-01-21
An explanation of Bitcoin / Adam Serwer and Dana Liebelson -- Bitcoin points to the future of cryptocurrency / Molly Wood -- Bitcoin is insecure and overhyped / Jim Edwards -- Bitcoin is doomed because transactions are irreversible / Nicholas Weaver -- Bitcoin transactions are reversible / Eli Dourado -- Are Bitcoins making money laundering easier? / Katherine Mangu-Ward -- The Mt. Gox disaster has seriously damaged Bitcoin / Michael Lewis -- Bitcoin shrugs off Mt. Gox's death rattle / Andy Greenberg -- Bitcoin is built on and promotes privilege and inequality / Annie-Rose Strasser -- Bitcoin promotes equality and freedom / Meghan K. Lords -- Government eyes regulation of "Bitcoins" / Kavya Sukumar -- With or without government regulation, Bitcoin is pointless / Mark Gimein -- The United States should ban Bitcoin / Joe Manchin.
The Bitcoin Guidebook: how to obtain, invest, and spend the world's first decentralized cryptocurrency by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (HG1710 .D46 2016)
Publication Date: 2016-08-16
Bitcoin is not another payment processor. Like the Internet, Bitcoin is a technology that runs through a distributed network. No one controls it, and no one can shut it down. Bitcoin has been called the currency of the Internet, but it is much more powerful than that--more astute observers have called it the Internet of currency. The Bitcoin Guidebook is for anyone who doesn’t want to be left behind in the next technological revolution.
Digital Gold : Bitcoin and the inside story of the misfits and millionaires trying to reinvent money by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven & Lakeland Circulation (HG1710 .P68 2015)
Publication Date: 2015-05-19
Digital Gold is New York Times reporter Nathaniel Popper’s brilliant and engrossing history of Bitcoin, the landmark digital money and financial technology that has spawned a global social movement. The notion of a new currency, maintained by the computers of users around the world, has been the butt of many jokes, but that has not stopped it from growing into a technology worth billions of dollars, supported by the hordes of followers who have come to view it as the most important new idea since the creation of the Internet.
Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Expanded Academic ASAP Resources for research across academic disciplines, offering in-depth coverage of
virtually any concentration from advertising, psychology and history to microbiology, the humanities and womens studies.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context The premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.