Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for blockchain research topics. Below you will find suggested ebooks/books and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
Blockchain Hurricane by
Publication Date: 2020-04-04
This book gives business decision makers and students a clear overview of the history, current applications, and future potential of distributed ledgers and cryptocurrency. The hype around blockchain technology is matched only by the innovation it inspires and the skepticism it provokes. This book gives business decision makers and students a clear overview of the history, current applications, and future potential of distributed ledgers and cryptocurrency. It explores strengths and weaknesses, emerging opportunities, and perceived threats. Technical frameworks are presented in a business context to help strategists understand the risks and rewards of different approaches to blockchain implementation, and the decision factors in determining whether this is a viable solution to the problem at hand.
Blockchain Technology and Applications by
Publication Date: 2020-08-31
Blockchain is an emerging technology that can radically improve transactions security at banking, supply chain, andother transaction networks. It's estimated that Blockchain will generate $3.1 trillion in new business value by 2030. Essentially, it provides the basis for a dynamic distributed ledger that can be applied to save time when recording transactions between parties, remove costs associated with intermediaries, and reduce risks of fraud and tampering. This book explores the fundamentals and applications of Blockchain technology. Readers will learn about the decentralized peer-to-peer network, distributed ledger, and the trust model that defines Blockchain technology. They will also be introduced to the basic components of Blockchain (transaction, block, block header, and the chain), its operations (hashing, verification, validation, and consensus model), underlying algorithms, and essentials of trust (hard fork and soft fork). Private and public Blockchain networks similar to Bitcoin and Ethereum will be introduced, as will concepts of Smart Contracts, Proof of Work and Proof of Stack, and cryptocurrency including Facebook's Libra will be elucidated. Also, the book will address the relationship between Blockchain technology, Internet of Things (IoT), Artificial Intelligence (AI), Cybersecurity, Digital Transformation and Quantum Computing.
A Book about Blockchain by
Publication Date: 2020-12-30
Executives, consultants, and strategists are wondering how to participate in the blockchain economy. They are wondering whether new business models that will emerge because of this novel technology will disrupt theirs or whether they will ignore their businesses and create completely different models. In this book I answer all those questions. By the time you finish, you will understand what blockchain economy is, how to participate in it, and avoid being disrupted or, even worse, ignored. Drawing from my own experiences as research scientist and entrepreneur, the book describes methods to transform existing business by using digitized trust that is industrialized at scale.
Inside Blockchain, Bitcoin, and Cryptocurrencies by
Publication Date: 2019-09-04
This book covers blockchain from the underlying principles to how it enables applications to survive and surf on its shoulder. Having covered the fundamentals of blockchain, the book turns to cryptocurrency. It thoroughly examines Bitcoin before presenting six other major currencies in a rounded discussion. The book then bridges between technology and finance, concentrating on how blockchain-based applications, including cryptocurrencies, have pushed hard against mainstream industries in a bid to cement their positions permanent. It discusses blockchain as underlying banking technology, crypto mining and offering, cryptocurrency as investment instruments, crypto regulations, and markets.
Learn Ethereum by
Publication Date: 2019-09-20
Cryptocurrencies and Blockchain Technology by
Call Number: Lakeland and Winter Haven Circulation HG1710 .C785 2020
Publication Date: 2019-07-15
With cryptocurrencies like Bitcoin on the rise, many wonder if these digital currencies could be the exchange medium of the future, but what are cryptocurrencies and the blockchain technology that facilitates them? Blockchain technology involves linking a series of digital records through cryptography without the use of a centralized server, which when applied to asset exchange creates cryptocurrencies. However, there are various concerns about the ability to regulate cryptocurrencies, their stability, and whether they can be applied on a global scale. This volume enables readers to better understand these new technologies and the controversies surrounding them.
NFTs for Dummies by
Call Number: Lakeland Circulation ; HG1710 .L385 2022
Publication Date: 2021-12-09
Get a grip on NFTs and learn how to get in the game It's not often that a brand-new investment comes along that revolutionizes how we buy and sell digital assets. But that's what non-fungible tokens (NFTs) did. Built on blockchain tech, NFTs are shaking up the world of digital commodity investing. And you can get your slice of the pie before everyone jumps into the arena. In NFTs For Dummies, you'll find straightforward answers to critical aspects of the NFT phenomenon. You'll learn exactly what non-fungible tokens really are, how you can find them, and even how to create your own valuable NFTs. You'll also discover: How to find reliable and safe NFT marketplaces where you can be sure you're dealing with reputable buyers and sellers A peek behind the NFT curtain to see how NFTs work and what, exactly, you own when you buy or make an NFT Discussions of the kinds of digital properties that can be converted into an NFT Perfect for anyone who wants to learn about the market for buying, selling, and creating crypto collectibles, NFTs For Dummies is the only resource you'll need to get a handle on this cutting-edge tech and start making it work for you.
Technological Disruption and the Fourth Industrial Revolution by
Call Number: Lakeland Circulation ; HC79.T4 J64 2021
Publication Date: 2020-10-01
This book applies cutting-edge economic analysis and social science to unpack the rich complexities and paradoxes of the Fourth Industrial Revolution. The book takes the reader on a bold, refreshing, and informative tour through its technological drivers, its profound impact on human ecosystems, and its potential for sustainable human development. The overarching message to the reader is that the Fourth Industrial Revolution is not merely something to be feared or survived; rather, this dramatic collision of technologies, disciplines, and ideas presents a magnificent opportunity for a generation of new pioneers to rewrite accepted rules and find new avenues to empower billions of people to thrive. This book will help readers to discern the difference between disruption and transformation. The reader will come away from this book with a deeply intuitive and highly contextual understanding of the core technological advances transforming the world as we know it. Beyond this, the reader will clearly appreciate the future impacts on our economies and social structures. Most importantly, the reader will receive an insightful and actionable set of guidelines to assist them in harnessing the Fourth Industrial Revolution so that both they and their communities may flourish. The authors do not primarily seek to make prescriptions for government policy, but rather to speak directly to people about what they can do for themselves, their families, and their communities to be future-proofed and ready to adapt to life in a rapidly evolving world ecosystem.
The Truth Machine: the blockchain and the future of everything by
Call Number: Winter Haven Circulation HG1710 .C373 2018
Publication Date: 2018-02-27
"Views differ on bitcoin, but few doubt the transformative potential of Blockchain technology.The Truth Machine is the best book so far on what has happened and what may come along. It demands the attention of anyone concerned with our economic future." --Lawrence H. Summers, Charles W. Eliot University Professor and President Emeritus at Harvard, Former Treasury Secretary From Michael J. Casey and Paul Vigna, the authors ofThe Age of Cryptocurrency, comes the definitive work on the Internet's Next Big Thing: The Blockchain. Big banks have grown bigger and more entrenched. Privacy exists only until the next hack. Credit card fraud is a fact of life. Many of the "legacy systems" once designed to make our lives easier and our economy more efficient are no longer up to the task. Yet there is a way past all this--a new kind of operating system with the potential to revolutionize vast swaths of our economy: the blockchain. InThe Truth Machine, Michael J. Casey and Paul Vigna demystify the blockchain and explain why it can restore personal control over our data, assets, and identities; grant billions of excluded people access to the global economy; and shift the balance of power to revive society's faith in itself. They reveal the disruption it promises for industries including finance, tech, legal, and shipping. Casey and Vigna expose the challenge of replacing trusted (and not-so-trusted) institutions on which we've relied for centuries with a radical model that bypasses them.The Truth Machine reveals the empowerment possible when self-interested middlemen give way to the transparency of the blockchain, while highlighting the job losses, assertion of special interests, and threat to social cohesion that will accompany this shift.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Expanded Academic ASAP This link opens in a new window
Resources for research across academic disciplines, offering in-depth coverage of
virtually any concentration from advertising, psychology and history to microbiology, the humanities and womens studies.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
The premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.