Locating Articles in Databases - POS 2041 - American Government, Prof. Martin

Finding an article

1. To locate articles in the Polk State Library, use the library's databases. Go to the library's website and click on the Articles/Databases link.

2. This is a list of all the Polk State Libraries databases. Select one of the databases.

3. You will be asked to login. Please login with your Passport credentials.

4. This is the Advanced Search screen for one of the recommended databases, Academic OneFile. Type in your search terms in the search box(es).

5. Scroll down and click Full Text. This will ensure that you get only full text articles and not abstracts.

6. Click Peer Reviewed Journals. This will ensure that you get only scholarly/peer reviewed articles.

7. Click Search. You are now at the Results page.

Suggested Databases

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
- This link opens in a new window
American History Online (Infobase) This link opens in a new window Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history, highlighting the important people and events of the American experience.
CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new window Provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research.
Biography in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window Covering a vast array of the world's most influential people from historically significant figures to present-day news makers, Biography in Context is continuously updated to ensure that students have access to the very latest information.
Legal Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window An authoritative source for information centered on the discipline of law and legal topics including criminal justice, ethics, federal law, international law, labor and human resource law, medical law, organized crime, the environment and more.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window The premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
- This link opens in a new window
U.S. History in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window Delivers a complete overview of our nations past that covers the most-studied events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements, and people. Comprehensive, contextual, media-rich information is provided on topics ranging from the arrival of Vikings in North America, to the stirrings of the revolution, through to the Civil Rights movement, 9/11, and the War on Terror.

POS 2041 - American Government, Prof. Martin: Locating Articles in Databases

Finding an article

Suggested Databases