Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HUM 2020 - Professor Sandridge: Using Databases

Accessing Databases

Recommended Databases

Database Search Tips

 

 

 

Go to the Polk State homepage, https://www.polk.edu/, and select Library/TLCC at the top of the screen.

 

 

Next, select Articles/Databases on the left side of the screen.

 

Databases are listed alphabetically.

 

You can view databases by subject area.

 

You can also click the "i" bubbles to view information about what is contained in each database.

 

Need help choosing a database? Ask a librarian to assist you!

 

In this library guide, we'll do a sample search in two different databases, Art & Architecture Source and ARTstor.

 

You are not limited to these databases. Try practicing these search techniques in other databases too!

 

 

 

Let's try searching for articles about the Italian Renaissance in Art & Architecture Source.

 

Be sure to select "Full Text" under "Limit Your Results" on the left side of the screen.

 

 

 

 

Refine your results on the left side of the screen if you would like to. You can limit by Publication Date and Source Type, for example.

Let's look at an article entry. I clicked on the first article, Reasons to Be Cheerful: The Future of Italian Renaissance History.

 

The record contains bibliographic information as well as an abstract. On the left side of the screen, you'll see format options for the article. PDF Full Text will open in a new window. HTML Full Text appears on the same screen, below the bibliographic entry.

 

Tools are on the right side of the screen. You can save a copy of this article to your Google Drive or OneDrive. You can also email it to yourself. You can also view citation information.

 

Important: Database generated citations are not 100% correct 100% of the time. They are compiled by an algorithm. You must proofread them before submitting them in your paper.

 

Database Tip: To access articles later, be sure to either email them to yourself or find the permalink button. The URL at the top of the screen will time out once your session is over.

 

 

JSTOR allows you to search both JSTOR and ARTstor by searching All Content.

 

You can register for a separate, free, account if you'd like to organize your research.

 

An account is not required to search JSTOR, but it is required if you search non-public collections through the ARTstor database directly.

 

 

 

 

Let's try searching for the Italian Renaissance.

 

My results contain both images (at the top) and journal articles.

 

 

 

Note that you can refine your search on the left side of the page. Be sure to select "content I can access" so that you can view your results.

 

Narrow by content type or publication date if you would like to.

 

Let's look at an article. I selected the second article, The Italian Renaissance in America. On the left side of the screen, you will find citation information.

 

 

To the top right of the screen, you will find tools to assist you. Download the article, click Share to email it to yourself, and click Cite to see citations in MLA, Chicago, and APA formats.

 

 

Important: Database generated citations are not 100% correct 100% of the time. They are compiled by an algorithm. You must proofread them before submitting them in your paper.

 

Database Tip: To access articles later, be sure to either email them to yourself or find the permalink button. The URL at the top of the screen will time out once your session is over.

Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.