The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects.
Academic OneFile is an excellent starting database for a wide variety of topics. Databases contain different articles and other sources, so it is a good idea to search in more than one using the following steps:
Read assignment guidelines
Choose a library database
Select search limits/limiters
Type in search terms
Search!
This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Academic Search Complete is another general database and an excellent starting point.
This link opens in a new windowOpposing Viewpoints has a 'Browse Issues' feature which will show you today's hottest topics. Includes full-text viewpoint articles, statistics, and articles from academic journals, newspapers, and other reference sources.
CQ Researcher also has a 'Browse Topics' function. You can also view the most popular subjects in the 'Hot Topics' column on the right side of the page. This database provides award-winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted, and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, and pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research.
America's News is a comprehensive database for finding current and past newspaper articles. The videos below go over how to conduct a basic search, how to conduct an advanced search, and how to use suggested topics.