Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SYG 2000 - Intro to Sociology, Prof. Brown: Using Databases

Greetings Eagles! This guide is designed to accompany your research process. Read & Watch the content on each tab to get relevant instruction for your research assignments.

Recommended Databases

Greetings Students! The three databases I recommend for researching topics in the field of Sociology are Academic Search Complete, Gale: Diversity, & Gale: Gender Studies. Below, you will learn how to access the library database collection, & get some tips for searching.

Accessing Databases

Polk State Libraries provide you access to over 100 databases.  They can be viewed alphabetically, in an A-Z list, or they can be filtered by subject. Click here to access the library databases! You login with your Passport account information.

AZ database list


 

Academic Search Complete Tutorial

Academic Search Complete is great for topics ranging in areas physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and, other subjects.


 Visit Polk State Libraries on youtube!

>

Searching with Gale: Diversity & Gale: Gender Studies

Gale: Diversity StudiesAccess a range of periodical content to explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.

Gale: Gender StudiesDiscover balanced coverage of topics related to gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.


Visit Polk State Libraries on youtube!

 

 

Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.