Polk State College: Copyright: Faculty & Copyright

The following guidance is available from The Library of Congress concerning copyright: Understanding Copyright

• Classroom teachers can use copyrighted materials in the classroom if you’re at a nonprofit educational institution and are performing or displaying the item—showing it on a whiteboard, for example. This exemption doesn’t apply if you’re making copies of the item or distributing it. If your use meets these conditions, you may perform or display the work without violating copyright, as long as you are using a lawful copy. Section 110 of the Copyright Act for details.

• Distance-learning teachers can use copyrighted materials in your classes if you meet certain conditions. Section 110(2) of the Copyright Act, also known as the “TEACH Act,” provides copyright exemptions for certain distance learning and digital education programs. For more information, see the Copyright Clearance Center, “The TEACH Act,” external link or this TEACH-Act Checklist external link from Truman State University.

• Is it ok to use up to 5% of someone else's work? Under certain circumstances, "fair use" allows you to use parts of someone else's work. There's no magic formula, though. Scholarly criticism, teaching, and news reporting may be valid reasons for reproducing a copyrighted work. A number of other factors also need to be considered. (See Fair Use). When in doubt, it's always a good idea to ask the copyright owner for permission first.
• If it's on the Internet can I use it? Copyright protects text and pictures on websites just like books, CDs, DVDs, and works in other media are protected. You might not see a copyright notice on a website, but that doesn't mean you're free to copy what you see or hear.

The library system offers many streaming video options to support faculty curriculum. If you'd like to explore these resources, the following steps are recommended.

Please begin by browsing for the video you have in mind, or by simply browsing. Click here to view the current offerings in our database collection.
Videos located through the database collection can be embedded or linked in your Canvas course.

The following library database(s) allow you to show its films in class because they all have Public Performance Rights included (PPR):

Academic Video Online (Alexander Street Press)

Digital Theatre Plus

Films on Demand (Infobase)

Theatre in Video (Alexander Street Press)

When the options above have been exhausted, the following library database(s) license films, but may require that your department cover the licensing fee.

Kanopy (Contact your campus library for more information)

Swank (Contact your campus library for more information)

If your needs can't be met by the aforementioned video database options, please complete a streaming media video request.

Please keep in mind, the library has a limited budget for requests, & we may have to ask your department to contribute.