You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials.
If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652.
You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.
Students at PSC have already paid for Internet access through their tuition. As long as they are students or work for the college, they have Internet access through the library, TLCC, & computer labs.
The library has wireless Internet, accessible through PSC personal computers and PSC laptops.
Students are allowed to bring their own laptops into the library. They may access wireless Internet through PSC's network.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO): PSC's best magazine/journal article database.
On the search screen, first click on the Full Text box below the search fields, then type in your topics; add at least one other term after "Atomic Bomb" for specific results, such as "Japan," "Hiroshima," "Nagasaki," and/or "radiation."
NOTE: To make a Chicago-style citation, click the Cite button on top of the article, then choose Chicago/Turabian: Humanities.
Films On Demand (Infobase Publishing): Watch streaming videos and video segments on different perspectives concerning the atomic bomb attacks.
NOTE: To make a Chicago-style citation, click the Citation button below the video or video segment, then click on Chicago Manual of Style.
Global Issues in Context (Gale): Offers entries from reference books plus magazine/newspaper articles. All results are already in full text. When typing in a search, add at least one other term after "Atomic Bomb" for specific results, such as "Japan," "Hiroshima," "Nagasaki," and/or "radiation."
NOTE: To make a Chicago-style citation, on the top right-hand corner of each entry, click the Citation Tools link, then in the Choose Citation Format menu, click on Chicago 16th Edition.
MasterFILE Complete (EBSCO): Periodicals, primary sources, & entries from reference books.
On the search screen, first click on the Full Text box below the search fields, then type in your topics; add at least one other term after "Atomic Bomb" for specific results, such as "Japan," "Hiroshima," "Nagasaki," and/or "radiation."
NOTE: To make a Chicago-style citation, click the Cite button on top of the article, then choose Chicago/Turabian: Humanities.
Military and Government Collection (EBSCO): Focuses on military/government periodicals.
On the search screen, first click on the Full Text box below the search fields, then type in your topics; add at least one other term after "Atomic Bomb" for specific results, such as "Japan," "Hiroshima," "Nagasaki," and/or "radiation."
NOTE: To make a Chicago-style citation, click the Cite button on top of the article, then choose Chicago/Turabian: Humanities.
New York Times - Historical (ProQuest): Reprints newspaper articles from 1923 to present, including 1945 ones written immediately after the atomic bombings.
Always click on the Full Text box below the search field before typing in your search; add at least one other term after "Atomic Bomb" for specific results, such as "Japan," "Hiroshima," "Nagasaki," and/or "radiation."
NOTE: To make a Chicago-style citation, click the "Cite" link on the top right-hand corner, then in the Citation Style menu, choose Chicago 16th Edition (Notes and Bibliography).
