You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials.
If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652.
You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.
NOTE: Currently-enrolled students have paid for PSC databases through their tuition
eBook Collection (EBSCO): Full-text of reference ebooks.
In the first field, type in "Salem Witch Trials" or "Salem Witchcraft Trials;" more topics may be added in the other fields to narrow down your search, such as "hysteria," "mushrooms," and "Tituba." From the results list, choosing any eBook will split the screen into two frames. Right-hand frame will display the current page; Previous & Next buttons on the bottom will display the previous & next pages. On the left-hand frame, navigate using the Table of Contents (which usually includes an Index), or Search Within located at the top left-hand corner (to type in your own searches and generate a list of matching pages).
NOTE: To make a Chicago-style citation, click the Cite button on top of the article, then choose Chicago/Turabian: Humanities.
History Reference Center (EBSCO): Motherload of history-related information from reference books, encyclopedias, magazines, historical documents, multimedia, etc.
On the search screen, click on the Full Text box below the search fields. Then, to the right of it, go to the Timeline menu and select U.S. History -- European Colonization of the Americas (1492-1769).
NOTE: To make a Chicago-style citation, after choosing to print, e-mail, or save your article, go to the Citation Format menu, then choose Chicago/Turabian: Humanities.
U.S. History in Context (Gale): Complete entries from reference books, full-text periodicals, & primary sources.
On the top right-hand corner, choose U.S. on the menu next to the search field, then type in your search.
NOTE: To make a Chicago-style citation, on the top right-hand corner of each entry, click the Citation Tools link, then in the Choose Citation Format menu, click on Chicago 16th Edition.
Virtual Reference Library (Gale): Complete entries from reference books put online.
Search for your specific topics by Keyword, available in the pull-down menus beside the search fields.
NOTE: To make a Chicago-style citation, on the top right-hand corner of each entry, click the Citation Tools link, then in the Choose Citation Format menu, click on Chicago 16th Edition.
