Skip to main content

AMH 1010 - History of the United States 1607-1877: Home

Professor Morgan's Salem Witch Trials assignment -- online & paper resources

Using Reference Books

1) Reference books CANNOT be checked out by students. They may be used only within the library.

2) Reference books are located in the center of the library, behind the Reference Desk.

3) Pages can be photocopied: 10 cents for a black-and-white page OR 50 cents for a color page.

Polk State College offers printing, copying, and scanning services in the libraries and TLCCs at the Lakeland and Winter Haven campuses and the JD Alexander Center and Center for Public Safety. The self-serve printers accept credit/debit cards and BankMobile cards. They will not accept cash.

There are five ways to print to a self-serve print station:

  • Print via email – email files to print@printme.com and receive a printing code and barcode to use at any print station.
  • Print via cloud-based server – access OneDrive or Google Drive from any print station.
  • Print via USB – access files off a USB from any print station.
  • Print via PrintMe app – download the PrintMe app from Google Play or the App Store and send prints from your mobile device.
  • Print via Polk State computers – send prints from most Polk State computers.

Logging Into Databases

1) Go to www.polk.edu.

2) Go to the top & click "Library/TLCC."

3) In the center, click "Articles/Databases."

4) Set top menu to Polk State College.

5) Borrower ID is your Student ID number.

6) PIN is the last four numbers of your Student ID number.

(NOTE: If you cannot login, go to the Circulation Desk by the front door of the library, call (863) 297-1000 and ask for the Lakeland campus library, or contact us through Ask-A-Librarian.)

7) Go down the list, which is alphabetical by database, and click on the name of your database.

PSC Internet Access

Students at PSC have already paid for Internet access through their tuition. As long as they are students or work for the college, they have Internet access through the library, TLCC, & computer labs.

The library has wireless Internet, accessible through PSC personal computers and PSC laptops.

Students are allowed to bring their own laptops into the library. They may access wireless Internet through PSC or USF. However PSC only has a limited number of ports available. If PSC wireless is not available, sign into the USF wireless as a guest.

Reference Books

The Encyclopedia of Witches, Witchcraft, and Wicca: Third Edition: REF BF1566 .G85 2008 

Witchcraft Today: An Encyclopedia of Wiccan and Neopagan Traditions: REF BF1571 .L49 1999 c.1

Encyclopedia of American Folklore: REF GR105 .W38 2007

Criminal Justice: Volume 3REF KF9214.5 .C75 2006 v.3 

Databases

NOTE: Currently-enrolled students have paid for PSC databases through their tuition

eBook Collection (EBSCO): Full-text of reference ebooks.

In the first field, type in "Salem Witch Trials" or "Salem Witchcraft Trials;" more topics may be added in the other fields to narrow down your search, such as "hysteria," "mushrooms," and "Tituba." From the results list, choosing any eBook will split the screen into two frames. Right-hand frame will display the current page; Previous & Next buttons on the bottom will display the previous & next pages. On the left-hand frame, navigate using the Table of Contents (which usually includes an Index), or Search Within located at the top left-hand corner (to type in your own searches and generate a list of matching pages).

NOTE: To make a Chicago-style citation, click the Cite button on top of the article, then choose Chicago/Turabian: Humanities. 

Encyclopaedia Britannica: Complete entries from Encyclopaedia Britannica.

After typing in your search, the encyclopedia entries will appear in the middle of the screen; in addition, on the left-hand side, you may also access magazines, ebooks, primary sources, and websites from EBSCO. Type in either Salem Witch Trials or Witchcraft or Witch-hunts as your search, then click on the first encyclopedia link in the middle of the screen. On the bottom of each page is a list of more Britannica articles about related topics -- reference, history, philosophy, science/technology, people, etc.

NOTE: To make a Chicago-style citation, on the top right-hand corner of the entry, click the check-marked box icon, then in the Select Citation Style menu, choose Chicago Manual of Style.  

History Reference Center (EBSCO): Motherload of history-related information from reference books, encyclopedias, magazines, historical documents, multimedia, etc.

On the search screen, click on the Full Text box below the search fields. Then, to the right of it, go to the Timeline menu and select U.S. History -- European Colonization of the Americas (1492-1769).

NOTE: To make a Chicago-style citation, after choosing to print, e-mail, or save your article, go to the Citation Format menu, then choose Chicago/Turabian: Humanities. 

U.S. History in Context (Gale): Complete entries from reference books, full-text periodicals, & primary sources.

On the top right-hand corner, choose U.S. on the menu next to the search field, then type in your search.

NOTE: To make a Chicago-style citation, on the top right-hand corner of each entry, click the Citation Tools link, then in the Choose Citation Format menu, click on Chicago 16th Edition.

Virtual Reference Library (Gale): Complete entries from reference books put online.

Search for your specific topics by Keyword, available in the pull-down menus beside the search fields.

NOTE: To make a Chicago-style citation, on the top right-hand corner of each entry, click the Citation Tools link, then in the Choose Citation Format menu, click on Chicago 16th Edition.

Websites

Subject Guide

Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.