Skip to main content

HUM 2020: Intro to Humanities, Prof. Morgan-King Arthur & Robin Hood: Home

Professor Morgan's King Arthur V. Robin Hood Assignment

Using Reference Books

1) Reference books CANNOT be checked out by students. They may be used only within the library.

2) Reference books are located in the center of the library, behind the Reference Desk.

3) Pages can be photocopied: 10 cents for a black-and-white page OR 50 cents for a color page.

Polk State College offers printing, copying, and scanning services in the libraries and TLCCs at the Lakeland and Winter Haven campuses and the JD Alexander Center and Center for Public Safety. The self-serve printers accept credit/debit cards and BankMobile cards. They will not accept cash.

There are five ways to print to a self-serve print station:

  • Print via email – email files to print@printme.com and receive a printing code and barcode to use at any print station.
  • Print via cloud-based server – access OneDrive or Google Drive from any print station.
  • Print via USB – access files off a USB from any print station.
  • Print via PrintMe app – download the PrintMe app from Google Play or the App Store and send prints from your mobile device.
  • Print via Polk State computers – send prints from most Polk State computers.

 

Login: PSC eBooks

1) Click on the eBook link.

2) Make sure the top menu is set to Polk State College.

3) Borrower ID is your Student ID number. 

4) PIN is the last four numbers of your Student ID number.

(NOTE: If your number does not work, try again. If you get the same result, go to the Circulation Desk by the front door of the library, or call (863) 297-1000 and ask for the Lakeland campus library.)

Using PSC DVDs & Login: PSC Online Videos

PSC DVDs

The DVDs CANNOT be checked out by students. They may be watched only within the library. The DVDs are kept at the Circulation Desk by the front door, and must be checked out with a photo ID, such as a PSC student ID or Driver's license.

They may be watched either on the computers or the DVD machines. Headphones are kept at the Reference Desk, in the center of the library.

 PSC Online Videos

Click on video link. Make sure the top menu is set to Polk State College. Borrower ID is your Student ID number. PIN is the last four numbers of your Student ID number. (NOTE: If you cannot get in, go to the Circulation Desk by the front door of the library, call (863) 297-1000 and ask for the Lakeland campus library, or contact us through Ask-A-Librarian.)

Login: PSC Databases

1) Go to www.polk.edu.

2) Go to the top & click "Library/TLCC."

3) In the middle, click "Articles/Databases."

4) Make sure the top menu is set to Polk State College.

5) Borrower ID is your Student ID number. 

6) PIN is the last four numbers of your Student ID number.

(NOTE: If your number does not work, try again. If you get the same result, go to the Circulation Desk by the front door of the library, or call (863) 297-1000 and ask for the Lakeland campus library.)

7) Go down the list, which is alphabetical, and click on the name of your database.

PSC Internet Access

Students at PSC have already paid for Internet access through their tuition. As long as they are students or work for the college, they have Internet access through the library, TLCC, & computer labs.

The library has wireless Internet, accessible through PSC personal computers and PSC laptops.

Students are allowed to bring their own laptops into the library. They may access wireless Internet through PSC or USF. However PSC only has a limited number of ports available. If PSC wireless is not available, sign into the USF wireless as a guest.

Reference Books

(SPECIAL NOTE: Look up "Arthur" for King Arthur & "Robin Hood" for Robin Hood. Most of these books are arranged alphabetically, i.e. "Arthur" under the "A" entries up front)

Bulfinch's Mythology. REF BL 310 .B82 1978 (NOTE: Look up both men either in the Table of Contents or Index)  

Dictionary of Celtic Mythology. RED BL 900 .M445 1998 c.1 (Arthur only)

The Encyclopedia of Celtic Mythology and Folklore. REF BL 900 .M66 2008

The Facts on File Encyclopedia of World Mythology and Legend: Volume 1. REF BL 303 .M45 2004 v.1 (Arthur only)

The Facts on File Encyclopedia of World Mythology and Legend: Volume 2. REF BL 303 .M45 2004 v.2 (Robin Hood only)

The Greenwood Encylopedia of World Folklore and Folklife: Europe: Volume 3. REF GR 35 .G75 2006 v.3 (NOTE: Look up both men in the Index)

Macmillan Profiles: Myths and Legends. REF GR 74 .M97 2000 c.1

Medieval Folklore. REF GR 35 .M43 2002 

The Oxford Companion to World Mythology. REF BL 312 .L44 2005 ("King Arthur" only)

Standard Dictionary of Folklore: Volume 1. REF GR 35 .F8 1949 v1  (Arthur only)

Standard Dictionary of Folklore: Volume 2. REF GR 35 .F8 1949 v2  (Robin Hood only)

eBooks

DVD/Online Videos: King Arthur

DVDs (NOTE: These are kept at the Circulation Desk in the front of the Library)

Camelot. LKAVLIB PN6071.A84 A53 2005 DVD672

In Search of History: The Knights of Camelot. LKAVLIB PN685 .K56 2004 DVD677

Quest for King Arthur. LKAVLIB DA152.5.A7 Q4 2004 DVD676

Online Videos

Databases

NOTE: Currently-enrolled students have paid for PSC databases through their tuition

(SPECIAL NOTE: When searching, type both men's names in quotation marks, i.e. "King Arthur" & "Robin Hood." To make your search more specific, click on "Advanced Search," then type in your person's name plus at least one additional term, such as "real," "literature," "literary," "history," "historical," "archaeology," "archaeological," and/or "biography." )

Encyclopaedia Britannica: Complete entries from Encyclopaedia Britannica.

After typing in your search, the encyclopedia entries will appear in the middle of the screen; in addition, on the left-hand side, you may also access magazines, ebooks, primary sources, and websites from EBSCO. Type in either "King Arthur" or "Robin Hood" as your search, then click on the first encyclopedia link in the middle of the screen. On the bottom of each page is a list of more Britannica articles about related topics - reference, history, philosophy, science/technology, people, etc.

NOTE: To make a Chicago-style citation, on the top right-hand corner of the entry, click the check-marked box icon, then in the Select Citation Style menu, choose Chicago Manual of Style.  

History Reference Center (EBSCO): Motherload of history-related information from reference books, encyclopedias, magazines, historical documents, multimedia, etc.

On the search screen, click on the Full Text box below the search fields. Then, to the right of it, go to the Timeline menu and select World History -- Middle Ages (501-1350 CE). 

NOTE: To make a Chicago-style citation, after choosing to print, e-mail, or save your article, go to the Citation Format menu, then choose Chicago/Turabian: Humanities. 

Humanities Full Text (EBSCO): Full-text journal & magazine articles.

First, click the Full Text box below the Clear and Start buttons on the right-hand side, then type in your specific topic.

NOTE: To make a Chicago-style citation, after choosing to print, e-mail, or save your article, go to the Citation Format menu, then choose Chicago/Turabian: Humanities. 

World History in Context (Gale): Complete entries from reference books, full-text periodicals, & primary sources.

On the top right-hand corner, choose World, then type in your search. Each entry includes an MLA citation at the bottom, which you have to convert to Chicago-style format.

NOTE: To make a Chicago-style citation, on the top right-hand corner of each entry, click the Citation Tools link, then in the Choose Citation Format menu, click on Chicago 16th Edition.

Websites: King Arthur

Websites: Robin Hood

Subject Guide

Ask-a-Librarian

Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.