Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HUM 2020: Intro to Humanities, Prof. Morgan-King Arthur & Robin Hood: Databases

Professor Morgan's King Arthur V. Robin Hood Assignment

Database Access

You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. 

If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. 

You can also get help from Ask a Librarian

Databases

NOTE: Currently-enrolled students have paid for PSC databases through their tuition

(SPECIAL NOTE: When searching, type both men's names in quotation marks, i.e. "King Arthur" & "Robin Hood." To make your search more specific, click on "Advanced Search," then type in your person's name plus at least one additional term, such as "real," "literature," "literary," "history," "historical," "archaeology," "archaeological," and/or "biography." )

Encyclopaedia Britannica: Complete entries from Encyclopaedia Britannica.

After typing in your search, the encyclopedia entries will appear in the middle of the screen; in addition, on the left-hand side, you may also access magazines, ebooks, primary sources, and websites from EBSCO. Type in either "King Arthur" or "Robin Hood" as your search, then click on the first encyclopedia link in the middle of the screen. On the bottom of each page is a list of more Britannica articles about related topics - reference, history, philosophy, science/technology, people, etc.

NOTE: To make a Chicago-style citation, on the top right-hand corner of the entry, click the check-marked box icon, then in the Select Citation Style menu, choose Chicago Manual of Style.  

History Reference Center (EBSCO): Motherload of history-related information from reference books, encyclopedias, magazines, historical documents, multimedia, etc.

On the search screen, click on the Full Text box below the search fields. Then, to the right of it, go to the Timeline menu and select World History -- Middle Ages (501-1350 CE). 

NOTE: To make a Chicago-style citation, after choosing to print, e-mail, or save your article, go to the Citation Format menu, then choose Chicago/Turabian: Humanities. 

Humanities Full Text (EBSCO): Full-text journal & magazine articles.

First, click the Full Text box below the Clear and Start buttons on the right-hand side, then type in your specific topic.

NOTE: To make a Chicago-style citation, after choosing to print, e-mail, or save your article, go to the Citation Format menu, then choose Chicago/Turabian: Humanities. 

World History in Context (Gale): Complete entries from reference books, full-text periodicals, & primary sources.

On the top right-hand corner, choose World, then type in your search. Each entry includes an MLA citation at the bottom, which you have to convert to Chicago-style format.

NOTE: To make a Chicago-style citation, on the top right-hand corner of each entry, click the Citation Tools link, then in the Choose Citation Format menu, click on Chicago 16th Edition.

Subject Guide

Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.