Databases - LIT 1000 - Pilón-Sandra Cisneros: Professor Fitzgerald

Suggested keywords

Here are some suggested keywords when searching the databases: Mexican, Mexican American, culture, language, literature, music, Cisneros, Latin America, Chicano/Chicana.

Suggested Databases

Check out these databases to find information on Mexican and Mexican American culture, art, language, music, and literature.

General databases:

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
- This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects.
Oxford Music Online (Oxford University Press) This link opens in a new window Oxford Music Online is an integrated music resource on the web, including the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window Virtual Reference Library. Gale eBooks offers reference sources including encyclopedias, series and more. Numerous subject areas include the arts, business, education, history, law, literature, multicultural studies, the sciences and world religion.

Literature databases:

Literary Reference Center Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window This resource includes plot summaries, synopses and work overviews; articles of literary criticism; author biographies; full text of literary journals; book reviews; classic & contemporary poems; classic & contemporary short stories; full text of classic novels; author interviews; and images of key literary figures.
Gale Literature This link opens in a new window Artemis Literary Sources integrates full-text literary content with metadata and subject indexing. You can research authors and their works, literary movements and genres. Search across your library's Literature databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism and analysis, reviews, biographical information and overviews.
Lit Finder (Gale) This link opens in a new window LitFinder covers all time periods and contains a wealth of primary literature content. Includes full-text poems, poem citations and excerpts, full-text short stories and novels, full-text essays, full-text speeches and full-text plays. It also includes biographies, work summaries, photographs and a glossary.
Bloom's Literature (Infobase) This link opens in a new window Bloom’s Literature provides overviews, synopses, analyses, and literary criticism of thousands of works.
- This link opens in a new window

Logging into the databases

To access the Library's databases, start at the Library's homepage (www.polk.edu/library-tlcc/).

From there, click on the link for Articles/Databases. If you're not already logged in, you will need to login using your Passport login information.

The list of all PSC databases will appear--arranged alphabetically.

LIT 1000 - Pilón-Sandra Cisneros: Professor Fitzgerald: Databases

Suggested keywords

Suggested Databases

Logging into the databases