Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Logging into the databases
To access the Library's databases, start at the Library's homepage (www.polk.edu/library-tlcc/).
From there, click on the link for Articles/Databases. If you're not already logged in, you will need to login using your Passport credentials.
The list of all PSC databases will appear--arranged alphabetically.
The following databases would be helpful with your research for this course.
Click the links to be taken directly to the database. You may have to log in if you are not already.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
The worlds most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals. CINAHL Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature.
Gale in Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Offers global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events and topics in the news related to these issues. Not a pro and con database, Global Issues in Context ties together a variety of sources to present a rich analysis of issues social, political, military, economic, environmental, science related, health related, cultural and headlines in world hot spots. It provides information seekers with a framework to better understand 21st-century issues and events while highlighting global connections and the interdependence of all nations.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive resource draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.
Environmental Studies (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
A new online resource that offers authoritative content on the development of emerging green technologies and discusses issues on the environment, sustainability and more.
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care system, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine. Search abstracts from over 4,000 current biomedical journals. Coverage dating back to 1965.
APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
This esteemed collection from the foremost publisher in psychology provides access to the full spectrum of research in the field - from cutting-edge research, to the historical underpinnings of the behavioral and social sciences. It also includes all American Psychological Association published scholarly journals, many from Volume 1, Issue 1.
Science in Context This link opens in a new window