Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Developmental Reading Resource Guide: Databases

A list of library & TLCC resources that support the Developmental Reading curriculum

Viewing Databases

Polk State Libraries provide you access to over 100 databases.  They can be viewed alphabetically, in an A-Z list, or they can be viewed grouped by subject.

Databases A-Z (Alphabetical view)

Databases by Subject (Grouped by content of the database)

Access databases via the library home page:

http://www.Polk.edu/library/

 

Recommended Databases for REA 0017

Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.


Opposing Viewpoints (Gale) - online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the new solution features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Recommended Databases for Writing Help

Films on Demand offers streaming video English collection including: 49 titles on writing & composition, 20 titles on grammar & much more.


Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.