Skip to Main Content

PTA Program: Searching the Databases

This guide will describe library resources & services available to Physical Therapy students.

Page Directory

On This Page:

  • Logging in & accessing Library databases (Video Tutorial)
  • How to search with Nursing & Allied Health - Proquest (Library Database Video Tutorial) 
  • How to search with CINAHL Complete (Library Database Video Tutorial)

Database Research Tips Checklist

  • Full Text Search limiters should always be checked in your search options.
  • Peer Reviewed search limiters should be checked when your research assignment requires it.
  • Does your research have a Date restriction? Use the database's filtering capabilities to restrict to the time period you want (for example: 5 years)

Accessing Databases

Polk State Libraries provide you access to over 100 databases.  They can be viewed alphabetically, in an A-Z list, or they can be filtered by subject. Click here to access the library databases for Health Sciences programs! You login with your Passport account information.

 

Database Tutorials

Nursing & Allied Health Database - (ProQuest) - Access articles and graphics from more than 270 nursing-related publications, including Nursing, Nursing Management, RN, American Journal of Sports Medicine, Physical Therapy, and Patient Care Management.

 

 

 

 

 

CINAHL Complete Database - The worlds most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL®Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature.



Accessing Your Library Online

Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/compliance.