Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for social security research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
Longevity Policy: Facing up to Longevity Issues Affecting Social Security, Pensions, and Older Workers by
Publication Date: 2011-08-01
This book focuses on public policy issues concerning Social Security, pensions, and older workers that arise because people are living longer. The question it addresses is: What should be the retirement policy responses to increased longevity? Not only has increased longevity occurred for all major demographic groups, but people are healthier at older ages. This book draws on international experience to recommend solutions for U.S. policy.
Social Security for Decision Makers by
Publication Date: 2014-07-17
In Social Security for Decision Makers - Charting Your Course to Retirement, Peter Murphy provides his readers with the necessary information to make optimal Social Security benefit decisions. Social Security is one of the biggest pieces of the retirement puzzle, making up 40% of the average retiree's income. Since it's such an important component of retirement, deciding when to start collecting Social Security is critically important. Uninformed choices as well as lack of spousal, ex-spousal, or survivor benefit coordination could end up costing you more than a hundred thousand dollars over a lifetime. With Murphy's help you can avoid these common mistakes and have a safe trip towards retirement. Whether you are married, divorced, single, or a survivor, Murphy's humorous, simple approach to Social Security will help you make better financial decisions for your future.
Social Security: How Can We Afford It? by
Publication Date: 2015-12-01
Projections in 2013 showed that the Social Security Trust Fund could run out of money in 2033. Growing federal deficits and a rising national debt have made many wonder whether Social Security will soon become too great a burden on the workers who have to pay for it... Many Americans are reexamining the principles on which Social Security is based and are thinking anew about the nature of individual responsibility. What does the government owe the elderly? Should saving for retirement be strictly an individual responsibility? Is it fair to require succeeding generations to shoulder the increasing burden of supporting retirees? The question we must face is this: how can we best provide for Americans' retirement? This 13-page issue guide presents three options for deliberation: Shore Up and Reaffirm Social Security Social Security benefits represent a promise made to Americans, symbolizing a shared commitment to one another that is a fundamental value of our country. The program has earned its near-universal support, and the promise should be kept by doing whatever it takes to keep these benefits as they are. End Reliance on Social Security for Retirement Government has been taking too much responsibility for the well-being of its older citizens, undermining the nation's traditional emphasis on self-reliance. We should phase-in a privatized system of retirement savings accounts, which could be regulated by the government, but controlled and managed by individuals. Reinvent Retirement and Social Security It is unrealistic to continue to support a plan that enables people to retire in their early-to-mid-60s when the average life span is now 78. The compact that Social Security represents should be adjusted to take that change into account.
Social Security Works! by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (HD7125 .A447 2015)
Publication Date: 2015-01-21
A growing chorus of prominent voices in Congress and elsewhere are calling for the expansion of our Social Security system; people who know that Social Security will not "go broke" and does not add a penny to the national debt. Social Security Works! will amplify these voices and offer a powerful antidote to the three-decade-long, billionaire-funded campaign to make us believe that this vital institution is destined to collapse. It isn't. We all have a stake in understanding the real story about Social Security. Critical to addressing the looming retirement crisis that will affect two-thirds of today's workers. Social Security is a powerful program that can help stop the collapse of the middle class, lessen the pressure squeezing families from all directions, and help end the upward redistribution of wealth that has resulted in perilous levels of inequality.
Social Security by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation (HD7125 .B553 2010)
Publication Date: 2010-11-01
Arguing that an equitable Social Security solution will be unattainable unless we bring stakeholders together around a common understanding of the facts and of the need to take action to address them, former White House adviser Charles Blahous presents some often misunderstood, basic factual background about Social Security. He discusses how it affects program participants and explains the true demographic, economic, and political factors that threaten its future efficacy.
One Nation under AARP by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (HQ1064.U5 L94 2011)
Publication Date: 2011-06-20
This book provides a fresh and even-handed account of the newly modernized AARP (formerly the American Association of Retired Persons). The 40-million member insurance giant and political lobby that continues to set the national agenda for Medicare and Social Security. Frederick R. Lynch addresses AARP's courtship of 78 million aging baby boomers and the possibility of harnessing what may be the largest ever senior voting bloc to defend threatened cutbacks to Social Security, Medicare, and under-funded pension systems. Based on years of research, interviews with key strategists, and analyses of hundreds documents, One Nation under AARP profiles a largely white generation, raised in the relatively tranquil 1950s and growing old in a twenty-first century nation buffeted by rapid economic, cultural, and demographic change. Lynch argues that an ideologically divided boomer generation must decide whether to resist entitlement reductions through its own political mobilization or, by default, to empower AARP as it tries to shed its "greedy geezer" stereotype with an increasingly post-boomer agenda for multi-generational equity.
Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
America's News With unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
Nexis Uni Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business, and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context The premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. Your borrower ID is your student ID number (no dashes). Your pin/password is the last four digits of your student ID number.