Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for social security research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
Fixing Social Security by
Publication Date: 2022-04-12
R. Douglas Arnold explores the historical role that Social Security has played in American politics, why Congress has done nothing to fix its insolvency problem for three decades, and what legislators can do to save it. Arnold investigates why politicians designed the system as they did and how between 1935 and 1983 they allocated--and reallocated--costs and benefits among workers, employers, and beneficiaries. He also examines public support for the program, and why Democratic and Republican representatives, once political allies in expanding Social Security, have become so deeply polarized about fixing it. As Social Security edges closer to crisis, Fixing Social Security offers a comprehensive analysis of the political fault lines and a fresh look at what can be done--before it is too late.
Social security works for everyone! : protecting and expanding the insurance Americans love and count on by
Publication Date: 2021
Presents the case for expanding Social Security, explains why monthly benefits need to be increased; why Americans need national paid family leave, sick leave, and long term care protections; and how we can pay for it all. Don’t believe the nearly four-decade, billionaire-funded campaign to convince us that the program is destined to collapse. It isn’t. At a time when growing numbers of Americans are seeing beyond the false choice between financial security for working people and financial security for the federal government, this book eloquently makes the case that universal programs that benefit all Americans (even the rich) make our country stronger and our lives more secure.
Economic and Financial Aspects of Social Security by
Publication Date: 2021-12-24
First Published in 1960, Economic and Financial Aspects of Social Security presents an important intervention by Professor J. Henry Richardson, an experienced authority on social security. Specially valuable is the chapter which considers what proportion of national income can be afforded for social security and also that on the alternatives of financing by accumulating large funds or by 'pay-as-you-go' methods. The author directs particular attention to age and retirement and urges that both social security systems and industrial organization should be so devised as to give encouragement and facilities for older people to continue working as long as they are fit. He also discusses remedies for poverty arising from sickness and large families with low incomes. The value of social security as a factor in economic security and in the redistribution of income, safeguards against inflation, and the problem of saving today for consumption in the future are also examined.
Rescuing Retirement by
Call Number: Lakeland Circulation HG179 .G4734 2018
Publication Date: 2018-01-23
Everyone deserves to be able to retire with dignity, but this core feature of the social contract is in jeopardy. Companies have swerved away from pensions, and most of the workforce has woefully inadequate retirement savings. If we don't act to fix this broken system, rates of impoverishment for senior citizens threaten to skyrocket, and tens of millions of Americans reaching retirement age in the coming decades will be forced to delay retirement and will experience a dramatic drop in their standard of living.
Social Security for Dummies by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation HD7125 .P427 2021
Publication Date: 2020-10-27
Since 1937, workers across the United States have set aside a portion of their wages to fund Social Security, which for many of us, forms the basis of our retirement income. Despite its central importance in our lives, few of us understand how Social Security really works. That's where Social Security For Dummies comes in. Written in an easy-to-follow, clear language, it provides comprehensive information on how to negotiate the sometimes labyrinthine system and claim everything you qualify for.
Downhill from Here by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Lakeland Circulation HD7125 .N455 2019
Publication Date: 2019-01-29
A sharp examination of the looming financial catastrophe of retirement in America. As millions of Baby Boomers reach their golden years, the state of retirement in America is little short of a disaster. Nearly half the households with people aged 55 and older have no retirement savings at all. And the typical Social Security check covers less than 40% of pre-retirement wages--a number projected to drop to under 28% within two decades. Old-age poverty, a problem we thought was solved by the New Deal, is poised for a resurgence. Other countries are confronting similar demographic challenges, yet they have not abandoned their social contract with seniors.Downhill From Here makes it clear that America, too, can and must do better.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
America's News This link opens in a new window
With unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business, and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
The premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.