Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for ADHD research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
Meeting Special Needs by
Publication Date: 2012-09-21
When working with children with ADHD, it can be difficult to know where to start. This book aims to be a practical guide to help you in your daily work with a child affected by the disorder. The book includes: signs and symptoms, information on statementing, strategies and techniques and rewards and boundaries.
Learning Disabilities Sourcebook by
Publication Date: 2012-06-26
Provides basic consumer health information about various learning disabilities, with facts about diagnosis, instructional approaches, legal and financial issues, and with coping tips. Includes index, glossary of related terms, and other resources.
The ADHD Explosion by
Publication Date: 2014-03-03
Attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) is one of the most controversial and misunderstood medical conditions today. With skyrocketing rates of diagnosis and medication treatment, it has generated a firestorm of controversy. Stephen Hinshaw, a distinguished psychologist, and Richard Scheffler, an eminent health economist, uniquely blend clinical wisdom, current science, medical and school policy, and global trends to debunk myths and set the record straight in The ADHD Explosion. They describe the origins of ADHD and its huge costs to society; the science behind its causes as well as medication and behavioral treatment; and the variation in diagnosis and treatment across the U.S. Dealing directly with stimulants as "smart pills," they describe the epidemic of medicalization, arguing that accurate diagnosis and well-monitored care could ease the staggering economic burden linked to ADHD. In innovative ways, they unravel the many poignant issues facing children, teachers, clinicians, and family members who contend with ADHD each day. The recommendations they make can improve the quality of life for those touched by ADHD and potentially improve the productivity and safety of all society.
The ADHD Explosion by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (RJ506.H9 H57 2014)
Publication Date: 2014-03-03
Can we trust the stories we read and hear about ADHD, even in major media outlets? What is driving the current ADHD explosion - is it parents, doctors, schools, culture, the healthcare system, or Big Pharma? Stephen Hinshaw, a distinguished psychologist, and Richard Scheffler, an eminent health economist, uniquely blend clinical wisdom, current science, medical and school policy, and global trends to debunk myths and set the record straight in The ADHD Explosion. They describe the origins of ADHD and its huge costs to society; the science behind its causes as well as medication and behavioral treatment; and the variation in diagnosis and treatment across the U.S. In innovative ways, they unravel the many poignant issues facing children, teachers, clinicians, and family members who contend with ADHD each day.
All about ADHD by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (RJ506.H9 P524 2017)
Publication Date: 2017-04-04
All About ADHD is a comprehensive guide to ADHD's symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment in children and adults, including information such as: The basic symptoms of ADHD and their effects on school, work, home, and personal relationships; The differences in ADHD between boys and girls; Counseling, school interventions, behavior management, and social skills training Written in easy-to-understand language and with a positive, treatment-focused approach, All About ADHD is a must-have resource for parents, teachers, physicians, and mental health professionals.
Debunking ADHD by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation (RJ506.H9 C675 2014)
Publication Date: 2014-04-04
The time has come for Debunking ADHD and exposing how this invented disorder created to drug children does not exist. Despite unanimous agreement that no test exists to identify ADHD, 6.4 million American children are labeled ADHD. To make matters worse, approximately two-thirds of those children diagnosed ADHD are prescribed drugs with many dangerous side effects, which include developing more serious mental disorders and death. After six decades of marketing stimulants and scaring parents into thinking something is seriously wrong with their highly creative, energetic, and communicative children, ADHD drug manufacturers still claim they have no idea what ADHD drugs actually do to children's brains. They make such claims when research shows ADHD drugs cause permanent brain damage in lab animals. This book provides you evidence to say no to ADHD and gives 10 Reasons to Stop Drugging Kids for Acting Like Kids.
Health Reference Center Academic Contains up-to-date information on a complete range of health care topics. This database includes full-text periodicals, reference books, and pamphlets, as well as hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context The premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Health and Wellness Resource Center This comprehensive consumer health resource, provides accurate, authoritative information on a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative and complementary medical practices. Designed for researchers at all levels, its intuitive interface provides multiple pathways to information including alternative medicine.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. Your borrower ID is your student ID number (no dashes). Your pin/password is the last four digits of your student ID number.