Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for cancer research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
Cancer Sourcebook by
Publication Date: 2015-08-05
Basic consumer health information about major forms and stages of cancer, along with facts about cancer treatments, cancer risks and prevention.
Cancer and Health Policy by
Publication Date: 2015-05-01
Despite many significant scientific advances over the past two decades, cancer remains a major health concern. While improvements have occurred in cancer outcomes for some segments of the U.S. population, much work still is needed to eliminate the unequal burden of cancer, particularly among individuals with lower socioeconomic status, underscoring the need for sound cancer policies. Cancer and Health Policy: Advancements and Opportunities highlights the role and impact of health policy and legislation on cancer care, cancer outcomes, and the future of cancer control in the United States.
On the Cancer Frontier by
Publication Date: 2014-03-11
In 1950, a diagnosis of cancer was all but a death sentence. Mortality rates only got worse, and as late as 1986, an article in the New England Journal of Medicine lamented: "We are losing the war against cancer." Cancer is one of humankind's oldest and most persistent enemies, but we are now entering a new, and more positive, phase in this long campaign. While cancer has not been cured, and a cure may elude us for a long time yet, but there has been a revolution in our understanding of its nature.
So It's Cancer by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (RC263 .S67 2015 )
Publication Date: 2015-09-15
Cancer. It's the diagnosis no one wants to hear. With A Cancer Companion, esteemed oncologist Ranjana Srivastava is here to help, bringing both experience and honesty to guide cancer patients and their families through this labyrinth of questions and treatments. With candor and compassion, Srivastava provides an approachable and authoritative reference. She begins with the big questions, like what cancer actually is, and she moves on to offer very practical advice on how to find an oncologist, what to expect during and after treatments, and how to manage pain, diet, and exercise. She discusses in detail the different therapies for cancers and why some cancers are inoperable, and she skillfully addresses the emotional toll of the disease.
Salem Health: Cancer (Revised Edition) by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Reference (REFERENCE RC265 .C336 2016 )
Publication Date: 2016-06-01
Salem Health: Cancer, 2nd Edition alphabetically arranges over 900 essays on all aspects of cancer for all nonspecialist interest groups - from those who have been diagnosed to caregivers, family members, students, and readers with a general interest in health. The essays in this 4-volume set address diseases, conditions, symptoms, cancer-related syndromes, chemotherapy and other drugs and drug classes, cancer centers, genetics, the biology of cancer, medical specialties, tests, procedures, complimentary and alternative therapies, lifestyles, healthy and preventive strategies, and the many social and personal issues surrounding cancer, from cancer's impact on minority populations to personal finances, insurance, personal relationships, and emotional coping.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context The premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Health and Wellness Resource Center This comprehensive consumer health resource, provides accurate, authoritative information on a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative and complementary medical practices. Designed for researchers at all levels, its intuitive interface provides multiple pathways to information including alternative medicine.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.