Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for cancer research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
ABCs of Cancer, the: Separating the Facts from the Myths by
Publication Date: 2020-08-04
This exciting reader-friendly book addresses the general perspectives of cancer in diverse ways -- everyday lifestyle, nutrition, environmental factors as well as genetics. The author, an expert in Immuno-Oncology, makes conscious efforts to break down the complexities of cancer development through the use of scientific evidences and everyday activities. There are so many myths about cancer out there. This book employs scientific basis to separate the facts from the myths while making it comprehensible to all readers irrespective of their scientific background. Readers are also introduced to the modern trends in cancer therapeutics.
Gale Encyclopedia of Cancer by
Publication Date: 2020-12-04
"Provides a fully updated, comprehensive survey of over 650 cancers, cancer drugs, traditional and alternative treatments, diagnostic procedures, and side effects. Includes about 300 color images and illustrations, including a separate section of anatomical body system illustrations; a comprehensive subject index; a medical glossary; and an appendix of cancer centers, national support groups, government agencies and research groups"--
Oxford Handbook of Cancer Nursing by
Publication Date: 2019-08-07
This second edition of the Oxford Handbook of Cancer Nursing is an essential aid to the practising cancer nurse. It provides a quick reference to the key issues in cancer nursing, and a concise and systematic account of all of the main areas of cancer nursing practice. Filled with key tips and reflection points, each chapter supports professional development for the reader. The patient, their family, and the experience of cancer areat the heart of this handbook. For the new edition there is a greater focus on survivorship, drawing on recent developments in the area. The Oxford Handbook of Cancer Nursing promotes a multidisciplinaryapproach to cancer care, with references to current best evidence and the latest developments in treatment. Detailed guidance on complex aspects of care are outlined, integrating both psychosocial and physical care to better treat the whole patient. Written by experienced nurses, the book is laid out to enable quick access to precise, targeted information on the vast majority of potential clinical scenarios.
The Breakthrough: Immunotherapy and the Race to Cure Cancer by
Call Number: Winter Haven Circulation; RC271.I45 G73 2018
Publication Date: 2018-11-13
Follow along as this New York Times bestselling author details the astonishing scientific discovery of the code to unleashing the human immune system to fight in this "captivating and heartbreaking" book (The Wall Street Journal). For decades, scientists have puzzled over one of medicine's most confounding mysteries: Why doesn't our immune system recognize and fight cancer the way it does other diseases, like the common cold? As it turns out, the answer to that question can be traced to a series of tricks that cancer has developed to turn off normal immune responses -- tricks that scientists have only recently discovered and learned to defeat. The result is what many are calling cancer's "penicillin moment," a revolutionary discovery in our understanding of cancer and how to beat it. In The Breakthrough, New York Times bestselling author of The Good Nurse Charles Graeber guides readers through the revolutionary scientific research bringing immunotherapy out of the realm of the miraculous and into the forefront of twenty-first-century medical science. As advances in the fields of cancer research and the human immune system continue to fuel a therapeutic arms race among biotech and pharmaceutical research centers around the world, the next step -- harnessing the wealth of new information to create modern and more effective patient therapies -- is unfolding at an unprecedented pace, rapidly redefining our relationship with this all-too-human disease. Groundbreaking, riveting, and expertly told, The Breakthrough is the story of the game-changing scientific discoveries that unleash our natural ability to recognize and defeat cancer, as told through the experiences of the patients, physicians, and cancer immunotherapy researchers who are on the front lines. This is the incredible true story of the race to find a cure, a dispatch from the life-changing world of modern oncological science, and a brave new chapter in medical history.
Cancer Sourcebook: Basic Consumer Health Information About Major Forms and Stages of Cancer, Featuring Facts About Head and Neck Cancers, Lung Cancers, Gastrointestinal Cancers, Genitourinary Cancers, Lymphomas, Blood Cell Cancers, Endocrine Cancers, Skin by
Call Number: Lakeland Circulation RC263 .C294 2018; Winter Haven Circulation RC263 .C294 2018
Publication Date: 2018-04-27
Consumer health information about risks, prevention, and treatment of major forms of cancer. Includes index, glossary of related terms, other resources, and online access.
Centers of the Cancer Universe: A Half-Century of Progress Against Cancer by
Call Number: Winter Haven Circulation; RC267 .T768 2021
Publication Date: 2021-10-11
An important history of the development of cancer centers of excellence and the revolution in cancer treatment. In the 1960s a coalition of concerned citizens, scientists and politicians joined forces to convince the federal government to focus its efforts on conquering cancer. The National Cancer Act of 1971 resulted and was signed into law on December 23, 1971 by President Nixon. The national "War on Cancer," was declared with some leaders naively arguing that the disease would be conquered by the nation's bicentennial--a mere five years in the future. Over the next five decades scientific discoveries demonstrated the great complexity of what had formerly been thought of as a single disease - with the advent of the genetic characterization of cancers, it is now recognized that there are almost an infinite number of cancers as defined by their many genetic mutations. The National Cancer Act established the infrastructure for the designation of centers by the National Cancer Institute (NCI) and these centers have evolved into models of multidisciplinary, collaborative cancer research, treatment and prevention contributing to a reduction in cancer mortality and increase in quality of life and survival that has translated into more than 17 million cancer survivors in the United States in 2021. Centers of the Cancer Universe: A Half-Century of Progress Against Cancer tells the story of how cancer research was not front and center at most universities and research institutions before the National Cancer Act of 1971, and why many physicians were reluctant even to treat patients with cancer in the early 20th century. It follows the behind-the-scenes lobbying, resistance and negotiating that preceded signing the Act into law, and how the cancer centers of today came to fruition, and shaped how cancer research, clinical trials and treatment would be conducted.
Understanding Cancer: An Introduction to the Biology, Medicine, and Societal Implications of This Disease by
Call Number: Winter Haven Circulation RC262 .M35 2019
Publication Date: 2019-05-02
Understanding Cancer is a brand new undergraduate textbook for students without prior training in biology that integrates an introduction to cancer medicine with descriptions of the biological processes that go wrong to cause cancer's onset and progression. It also highlights the human side of cancer with stories of patients and loved ones touched by the disease, dealing with diagnosis, treatment, and the prospect of death as well as the broader societal aspects of cancer and its prevention. Key discoveries that have improved our understanding of cancer are presented in sidebars. In spite of this diversity, the book maintains precision and simplicity in describing what is and is not known about cancer, describing the strengths and limitations of current treatments
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowThe premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Gale Health & Wellness This link opens in a new windowThis comprehensive consumer health resource, provides accurate, authoritative information on a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative and complementary medical practices. Designed for researchers at all levels, its intuitive interface provides multiple pathways to information including alternative medicine.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.
NCI Dictionary of Cancer Terms