Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
The Postmodern Short Story by
Publication Date: 2003-12-30
This book examines postmodern forms and characteristic themes by analyzing a group of short stories that make use of postmodern narrative strategies, including nonfictional fiction, gender profiling, and death as an image. The volume begins with a discussion of the blurred lines between fiction and nonfiction in the short story and imaginative personal essay. It then looks at the role of women in works by such authors as Sandra Cisneros, Leslie Marmon Silko, Joyce Carol Oates, and Lorrie Moore. This is followed by a section of chapters on postmodern masculinity and short fiction. The next section focuses on death as an image and theme in works by Richard Ford, Richard Brautigan, and James Joyce.
A Companion to Modernist Poetry by
Publication Date: 2014-06-23
Offering a comprehensive and up-to-date survey of the field, A Companion to Modernist Poetry provides readers with detailed discussions of individual poets, schools and movements within modernist poetry, and the cultural and historical context of the modernist period. Provides an in-depth and accessible summary of the latest trends in the study of modernist poetry Balances discussion of individual poets, schools , and movements with in-depth literary and historical context Brings recent scholarship to bear on the subject of modernist poetry while also providing guidance on poets who are historically important Edited by highly respected and notable critics in the field who have a broad knowledge of current debates and of rising and senior scholars in the field
Masterpieces of 20th-Century American Drama by
Publication Date: 2005-09-30
American playwrights have made enormous contributions to world drama during the last century, and their works are widely read and performed. This reference conveniently introduces 10 of the most important modern American plays read by students. An introductory essay concisely overviews modern American drama, and each of the chapters that follow examines a particular play. Among the plays discussed are Thornton Wilder's "Our Town," Arthur Miller's "Death of a Salesman," Lorraine Hansberry's "A Raisin in the Sun," and August Wilson's "The Piano Lesson." Each chapter includes a biography, a plot summary, an analysis of the play's themes, characters, and dramatic art, and a review of its historical background and reception. Chapters list works for further reading, and the volume closes with a selected, general bibliography.
The Cambridge Companion to American Poets by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation (PS303 .C287 2015)
Publication Date: 2015-10-14
The Cambridge Companion to American Poets brings together thirty-one essays on some fifty-four American poets, spanning nearly 400 years, from Anne Bradstreet to contemporary performance poetry. This book also examines such movements in American poetry as modernism, the Harlem (or New Negro) Renaissance, 'confessional' poetry, the Black Mountain School, the New York School, the Beats, and L=A=N=G=U=A=G=E poetry. Its reputable host of contributors approach American poetry from perspectives as diverse as the poetry itself. The result is a Companion concise enough to be read with pleasure yet expansive enough to do justice to the many traditions American poets have modified, inaugurated, and made their own.
How Plays Work by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation (PN1721 .M45 2007)
Publication Date: 2007-08-23
Martin Meisel's engaging account of how we read play plays on the page shows that the path to the fullest imaginative response is an understanding of how plays work. What is entailed is something like learning a language - vocabulary, grammar, syntax - but learning alsohow the language operates in those concrete situations where it is deployed.Meisel begins with a look at matters often taken for granted in coding and convention, and then - under 'Beginnings' - at what is entailed in establishing and entering the invented world of the play. Each succeeding chapter is a gesture at enlarging the scope: 'Seeing and Hearing', 'The Uses ofPlace', 'The Role of the Audience', 'The Shape of the Action', and 'The Action of Words'. The final chapters, 'Reading Meanings' and 'Primal Attractions', explore ways in which both the drive for significant understanding and the appetite for wonder can and do find satisfaction and delight. Cultivated in tone and jargon-free, How Plays Work is illuminated by dozens of judiciously chosen examples from western drama - from classical Greek dramatists to contemporary playwrights, both canonical and relatively obscure. It will appeal as much to the serious student of the theatre as to theplaygoer who likes to read a play before seeing it performed.
Mark Twain: a study of the short fiction by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation (PS1338 .Q57 1997)
Publication Date: 1997-07-11
"Tom Quirk's study provides a comprehensive analysis of the comic genius and narrative originality that makes Mark Twain's short fiction a cornerstone of the American literary tradition. Quirk's presentation of Twain's career as a writer of short fiction is complemented with selections of Twain's essays rounds out this balanced and informative work." "Quirk's aim in Mark Twain: A Study of the Short Fiction is to provide a "descriptive account of Twain's imaginative energies and his literary development as they are revealed in his short fiction." His selections of Twain's writing provide excellent examples of the literary energy that Quirk so vividly describes."
The databases below can help you critique poems, short stories, and plays.
Gale: Literature Artemis Literary Sources integrates full-text literary content with metadata and subject indexing. You can research authors and their works, literary movements and genres. Search across your library's Literature databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism and analysis, reviews, biographical information and overviews.
Literary Reference Center Plus This resource includes plot summaries, synopses and work overviews; articles of literary criticism; author biographies; full text of literary journals; book reviews; classic & contemporary poems; classic & contemporary short stories; full text of classic novels; author interviews; and images of key literary figures.
Lit Finder LitFinder covers all time periods and contains a wealth of primary literature content. Includes full-text poems, poem citations and excerpts, full-text short stories and novels, full-text essays, full-text speeches and full-text plays. It also includes biographies, work summaries, photographs and a glossary.
Gale: eBooks Virtual Reference Library. Gale eBooks offers reference sources including encyclopedias, series and more. Numerous subject areas include the arts, business, education, history, law, literature, multicultural studies, the sciences and world religion.
Salem Literature Online access to Salem Press' literature reference titles including: Critical Insights, Critical Surveys, Cyclopedias of Literary Characters and Places, Introduction to Literary Context, and Magill's Literary Annuals.
Columbia Granger's World of Poetry This premier poetry on-line resource contains 250,000 full text poems and 450,000 citations, as well as poetry commentary, poets' biographies, and literary glossary terms.
The above library databases contain plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, articles of literary criticism, author biographies,; full text of literary journals,; book reviews, classic & contemporary poems, classic & contemporary short stories, full text of classic novels, author interviews, and images of key literary figures.