Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for caregiving research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
Living with Momma: A Good Person's Guide to Caring for Aging Parents, Adult Children, and Ourselves by
Publication Date: 2019-01-01
Comfort for caregivers who need care themselves. Millions of Americans are caring for aging parents and grown children at the same time, and they often find themselves wondering, How is it possible to care for our families and ourselves at the same time? In Living with Momma, pastor Elizabeth B. Adams draws on her own life experiences to show caregivers who are serious about establishing rewarding relationships with adult family members how they can enjoy their challenging living arrangements. She also offers a practical tool: three questions for caregivers to ask for immediate change--to help them find a safe space of hope and faith, and protect themselves from caregiver fatigue.
Prognosis HOPE: A Care Givers and Care Seekers Guide to Empowered Care by
Publication Date: 2019-10-01
In a world where human disconnection is so prevalent, Prognosis HOPE restores humanity to healthcare and brings hope back to both caregivers and care-seekers. Patients don't always get the care they deserve and it's time for both caregivers and care-seekers to stand up and demand that change. Before becoming a registered nurse, Angie Felts was hit by a drunk driver. She sustained a traumatic brain injury that put her life on hold for nearly twenty years and provides a unique perspective on the dehumanization present in healthcare today. In a candid, yet entertaining way, Angie shares her personal story, along with the stories of her mentors, colleagues, and patients, to demonstrate her method for human connection: Prognosis HOPE. A four-step method that is simple and easy to implement, Prognosis HOPE puts patients back in the driver's seat and enables medical professionals to return to their true callings as healers by celebrating human connection instead of getting bogged down by a diagnosis or complicated care plan. Angie empowers readers to see that they can change their own lives and leads both caregivers and care-seekers back to humanity through joining forces and sharing in the human experience.
Take Care: How to Be a Great Employer for Working Carers by
Publication Date: 2017-07-10
There could be as many as 300 million caregivers in the global workforce providing care for loved ones - elderly parents, a life-partner with a health condition, or a disabled child/sibling or close friend who needs support. As populations age around the world and welfare support declines, the number of people voluntarily caring for another will grow. However, despite the demands and pressures that caregivers are under, many organisations offer little practical support to employees - support that, if provided correctly, will benefit both employee and employer. Take Care is a practical guide that enables employers to better understand and support employees with caring responsibilities. It presents this as part of good management practice that strengthens organizational resilience and sustainability, and also argues that this is now an integral element of being a responsible employer and organisation. The book includes practical examples from more than fifty employers around the world, from small businesses to global enterprises, as well as public sector and NGO examples. It also features the personal stories of individuals in the workplace who have successfully championed change.
Taking Care of Our Own: When Family Caregivers Do Medical Work by
Publication Date: 2020-10-15
Mixing personal history, interviewee voices, and academic theory from the fields of care work, the sociology of work, medical sociology, and nursing, Taking Care of Our Own introduces us to the hidden world of family caregivers. Using a multidimensional approach, Sherry N. Mong seeks to understand and analyze the types of skilled work that family caregivers do, the processes through which they learn and negotiate new skills, and the meanings that both caregivers and nurses attach to their care work. Taking Care of Our Own is based on sixty-two in-depth interviews with family caregivers, home and community health care nurses, and other expert observers to provide a lens through which in-home care processes are analyzed, while also exploring how caregivers learn necessary procedures. Further, Mong examines the emotional labor of caregiving, as well as the identities of caregivers and nurses who are key players in the labor process, and gives attention to the ways in which the labor is transferred from medical professionals to family caregivers.
Working with Family Carers by
Publication Date: 2018-06-06
Care-giving transcends race, gender and age and most people will be a care giver or receiver (often both) at some point in their lives. This book explores the extent of caregiving in the UK and discusses its impact on individuals, groups and communities, as well as health and social care professionals. It covers ways of identifying carers and providing information and advice and, given the likelihood of practitioners themselves providing care, a discussion regarding maintaining resilience and the extent to which personal experiences guide and inform practitioners response to work with carers is included. Exercises allow the reader to explore ways practitioners can engage with and support carers. The recent legislative changes brought about by the Care Act 2014 is discussed, as well as relevant policies. Caregiving has the potential to transcend disciplines, so this text will appeal to students of a variety of undergraduate and postgraduate programmes, and across the professional arena including social work, nursing, occupational and physiotherapy. The author is donating her royalties on this book to Carers UK and Carers Trust.
The 36-Hour Day: A Family Guide to Caring for People Who Have Alzheimer Disease, Other Dementias ... And Memory Loss by
Call Number: Winter Haven Circulation; RC523 .M33 2017
Publication Date: 2017-04-18
After 35 years, still the indispensable guide for countless families and professionals caring for someone with dementia. Through five editions, The 36-Hour Day has been an essential resource for families who love and care for people with Alzheimer disease. Whether a person has Alzheimer disease or another form of dementia, he or she will face a host of problems. The 36-Hour Day will help family members and caregivers address these challenges and simultaneously cope with their own emotions and needs. Featuring useful takeaway messages and informed by recent research into the causes of and the search for therapies to prevent or cure dementia, this edition includes new information on * devices to make life simpler and safer for people who have dementia * strategies for delaying behavioral and neuropsychiatric symptoms * changes in Medicare and other health care insurance laws * palliative care, hospice care, durable power of attorney, and guardianship * dementia due to traumatic brain injury * choosing a residential care facility * support groups for caregivers, friends, and family members The central idea underlying the book--that much can be done to improve the lives of people with dementia and of those caring for them--remains the same. The 36-Hour Day is the definitive dementia care guide.
Aging with Care: Your Guide to Hiring and Managing Caregivers at Home by
Publication Date: 2017-11-10
Finding the right fit to match aging adults with the best caregiver to assist them in their home can be fraught with challenge. In today's pressurized world, the process involves overstressed family members and a shortage of great caregivers. So many adult children are seeking a helping hand and a friendly, experienced voice to guide them through this emotionally charged rite of passage. Aging with Care: Your Guide to Hiring and Managing Caregivers in the Home, takes a personal, professional, and sometimes humorous approach to the challenges, benefits, pitfalls and problems of hiring in-home caregivers. Here, two geriatric care experts explore the essential credentials and experience a home caregiver should have, pitfalls to avoid, hiring options and managing costs, and the decisions that go into finding the right fit for your loved one to be able to age in place. Sharing stories and insights from interviews with caregivers and elders, as well as industry experts, they walk you through the ins and outs, and provide you with the tools necessary to making the best care choices you can for the ones you love.
Already Toast: Caregiving and Burnout in America by
Call Number: Winter Haven Circulation; HV40.8.U6 W38 2021
Publication Date: 2021-03-16
The story of one woman's struggle to care for her seriously ill husband-and a revealing look at the role unpaid family caregivers play in a society that fails to provide them with structural support. The story of one woman's struggle to care for her seriously ill husband-and a revealing look at the role unpaid family caregivers play in a society that fails to provide them with structural support. Already Toast shows how all-consuming caregiving can be, how difficult it is to find support, and how the social and literary narratives that have long locked women into providing emotional labor also keep them in unpaid caregiving roles. When Kate Washington and her husband, Brad, learned that he had cancer, they were a young couple- professionals with ascending careers, parents to two small children. Brad's diagnosis stripped those identities away- he became a patient and she his caregiver. Brad's cancer quickly turned aggressive, necessitating a stem-cell transplant that triggered a massive infection, robbing him of his eyesight and nearly of his life. Kate acted as his full-time aide to keep him alive, coordinating his treatments, making doctors' appointments, calling insurance companies, filling dozens of prescriptions, cleaning commodes, administering IV drugs. She became so burned out that, when she took an online quiz on caregiver self-care, her result cheerily declared- "You're already toast!" Through it all, she felt profoundly alone, but, as she later learned, she was in fact one of millions- an invisible army of family caregivers working every day in America, their unpaid labor keeping our troubled healthcare system afloat. Because our culture both romanticizes and erases the realities of care work, few caregivers have shared their stories publicly. As the baby-boom generation ages, the number of family caregivers will continue to grow. Readable, relatable, timely, and often raw, Already Toast-with its clear call for paying and supporting family caregivers-is a crucial intervention in that conversation, bringing together personal experience with deep research to give voice to those tasked with the overlooked, vital work of caring for the seriously ill.
The Caregiver's Encyclopedia: A Compassionate Guide to Caring for Older Adults by
Call Number: Winter Haven Circulation; RC954 .G55 2020
Publication Date: 2020-02-11
Caregivers hold the key to the health, well-being, and happiness of their aging relatives, partners, or friends. The Caregiver's Encyclopedia provides you with all of the information you need to take the best care of your loved one?from making major medical decisions to making sure you don't burn out. Written by Muriel R. Gillick, MD, a geriatrician with more than 30 years' experience caring for older people, this book highlights the importance of understanding your friend's or family member's overall health. With compassion and expertise, this book will help you "think like a doctor." The content ?helps you navigate the health-care system ?shares important information about treating basic geriatric syndromes, including delirium, dementia, and falls ?teaches you about preventive care options ?enables you to manage medical decisions related to both acute and chronic conditions ?discusses what Medicare covers?and what it doesn't ? guides you through different approaches to care ?weighs the risks and benefits of hospital vs. home, nursing home, or hospice care ?provides a detailed list of medical supplies that you might want to keep on hand ?offers you additional resources and emotional support Throughout, Gillick provides helpful information and concrete concepts that caregivers can put into practice today. Authoritative, comprehensive, holistic, and highly illustrated, The Caregiver's Encyclopedia will help you figure out how to be the best caregiver you can be.
Demystifying Hospice: Inside the Stories of Patients and Caregivers by
Call Number: Winter Haven Circulation; WB 310 C583 2018
Publication Date: 2018-10-31
Hospice care is available to patients and families dealing with terminal illness. People often do not avail themselves of hospice care because they don't understand what it entails. Many wait until their last few days to request this extraordinary comfort care instead of using the full six months available to them through Medicare and other insurance options. Demystifying Hospice describes through stories good news about end-of-life issues. Written from the perspective of a licensed social worker with experience in public and private hospitals, hospice, and the American Cancer Society, these first-hand accounts of patients, family members, hospice workers and others will lift spirits, touch hearts, and illustrate the advantages of hospice care. These are real-life examples of personalized comfort care, offered by an interdisciplinary team, where ever the patient lives. Each story addresses some aspect of helping families through the caregiving and grieving process, which are part-and-parcel of a serious illness, and offers comfort and understanding to readers who may be going through similar experiences. This book describes hope, healing, and support through difficult times.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowThe premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowThe worlds most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals. CINAHL Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature.
Gale Health & Wellness This link opens in a new windowThis comprehensive consumer health resource, provides accurate, authoritative information on a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative and complementary medical practices. Designed for researchers at all levels, its intuitive interface provides multiple pathways to information including alternative medicine.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new windowThis rich collection of consumer health information provides access to full-text consumer health magazines, reference books, and searchable full text for current health pamphlets. A wide variety of subjects are covered, including information on specific diseases as well as overall health topics. Subjects include fitness, nutrition, diabetes, aging, women's health, children's health and more.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.