Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
There are quite a few different ways to properly cite resources in your paper. The citation style usually depends on the academic discipline involved. For example:
- MLA style (Modern Language Association) is typically used in English, Literature, and the Humanities
- APA style (American Psychological Association) often is used by Education, Psychology, and Business
- Chicago style (University of Chicago) is generally used by History and some of the Fine Arts
Check with your professor to make sure you use the style required for that class!
The best sources to learn more about these citations styles are the respective publication manuals. There are several resources available in the Library to assist you with learning more about citation:
The Nuts and Bolts of College Writing by Updated for the needs of today's studentsand with handy citation style guides adapted from The Chicago Manual of Style , Seventeenth Edition, the MLA Handbook , Eighth Edition, and the Publication Manual of the APA , Seventh Editionthe third edition of The Nuts and Bolt of College Writing offers essential guidance for college writers at all levels. Praise for previous editions: "This wonderful little book has helped improve the level of writing in all the courses I teach. No one should graduate from college without having used it." Gonzalo Munevar, Lawrence Technological University "With concision and wit, Harvey shows college students how to write papers that are clear, cogent, and also stylish." James Miller, editor, Dædalus "Simply the best guide to clear and effective writing since Strunk and White. Indispensable for studentsand for their teachers." Terry Nardin, University of Wisconsin--Milwaukee
Publication Date: 2020-08-19
McGraw-Hill's Concise Guide to Writing Research Papers by "McGraw-Hill's Concise Guide to Writing Research Papers" gives you the tools to: Organize a helpful outline before you write. Find solid evidence at the library and on the Internet to back up your thesis. Write effective sentences to support your topic. Replace common phrases with attention-drawing wording to properly articulate your ideas. Use smooth transitions between paragraphs to keep your paper flowing. Craft eloquent summaries and conclusions. Avoid accidental incidences of plagiarism. Run a thorough check over your research paper before you hand it in.
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
The Complete Guide to Referencing and Avoiding Plagiarism by This excellent new edition of The Complete Guide to Referencing and Avoiding Plagiarism continues to demystify the referencing process and provide essential guidance to make sure you are not committing plagiarism. It provides clear guidelines on why and when to reference as well as how to correctly cite from a huge range of sources. The Complete Guide to Referencing and Avoiding Plagiarism is essential reading for all students and professionals who need to use referencing in academic writing to reflect their own ideas, constructively apply the work of others, and to avoid plagiarism.
Publication Date: 2010-02-01
Links for Citing Sources
APA 7th edition Style and Grammar Guidelines
Contains information on paper format, grammar, in text citations, references, punctuation, and more.
APA Style--Basics of Seventh Edition
This tutorial is designed for writers new to APA Style. Learn the basics of seventh edition APA Style, including paper elements, format, and organization; academic writing style; grammar and usage; bias-free language; mechanics of style; tables and figures; in-text citations, paraphrasing, and quotations; and reference list format and order.
Excelsior Online Writing Lab
Here you’ll find extensive support for APA, MLA, and Chicago documentation styles. This section features instructional videos that show you how to set up your papers in APA, MLA, and Chicago formats, interactive checklists, and visual support for both in-text documenting and referencing at the end of your paper.
Chicago Manual of Style Online
The Chicago Manual of Style Online is the venerable, time-tested guide to style, usage, and grammar in an accessible online format.
MLA Citation Examples-8th edition
Works cited list examples based on MLA Handbook, 8th Edition, 2016. Compiled by the University of Maryland, University College.
MLA Citation Templates
From EasyBib, use these templates to help cite your sources in MLA format.
MLA Style Center-Writing Resources from MLA
Tips on formatting a research paper, works cited help, and practice templates.
Purdue OWL: Research and Citation Resources
The go-to resource for everything related to research, MLA, APA, and Chicago Style.
Free Citation Creation Tools on the Web
With all citation generators, double-check the citation against the official style manual, your instructor's resources, or library resources.
BibGuru is the best bibliography and citation generator.
With BibGuru, you can quickly add all the sources for your paper and make citations in APA, MLA, Harvard, Chicago, and thousands of other citation styles.
ZoteroBib is a free service that helps you build a bibliography instantly from any computer or device, without creating an account or installing any software.
MLA, APA, and Chicago citation generator
BibMe is a free automatic bibliography generator that supports MLA, APA, Chicago, and Turabian formatting.
The Automatic Bibliography & Citation Maker