Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for cocaine research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
Dealing with Privilege : Cannabis, Cocaine, and the Economic Foundations of Suburban Drug Culture by
Publication Date: 2019
Dealing with Privilege: Cannabis, Cocaine, and the Economic Foundations of Suburban Drug Culture focuses on the careers of nine successfully retired drug dealers, offering a contrast to sociological, criminological, and other depictions of drug dealing as a realm of the desperate, dangerous, and poor. David Crawford tells the great untold story of drug dealing in America, where white, middle-class dealers are unlikely to suffer the enforcement of drug laws. Contrary to media portrayals, Crawford argues that suburban drug sales are not oriented around money making but friendship and fun. Using economic anthropology, classic sociology, and neuroscience to analyze the life trajectories of these dealers, Crawford touches on issues of crime, race, culture, aging, gender, privilege, illegal drugs, and the limits of conventional economics as a framework to understand economic behavior.
Cocaine : From Coca Fields to the Streets by
Publication Date: 2021
The contributors to Cocaine analyze the contemporary production, transit, and consumption of cocaine throughout the Americas and the illicit economy's entanglement with local communities. Based on in-depth interviews and archival research, these essays examine how government agents, acting both within and outside the law, and criminal actors seek to manage the flow of illicit drugs to both maintain order and earn profits. Whether discussing the moral economy of coca cultivation in Bolivia, criminal organizations and drug traffickers in Mexico, or the routes cocaine takes as it travels into and through Guatemala, the contributors demonstrate how entire ways of life are built around cocaine commodification. They consider how the authority of state actors is coupled with the self-regulating practices of drug producers, traffickers, and dealers, complicating notions of governance and of the relationships between economic and moral economies. The collection also outlines a more progressive drug policy that acknowledges the important role drugs play in the lives of those at the urban and rural margins. Contributors. Enrique Desmond Arias, Lilian Bobea, Philippe Bourgois, Anthony W. Fontes, Robert Gay, Paul Gootenberg, Romain Le Cour Grandmaison, Thomas Grisaffi, Laurie Kain Hart, Annette Idler, George Karandinos, Fernando Montero, Dennis Rodgers, Taniele Rui, Cyrus Veeser, Autumn Zellers-León
A War on People by
Publication Date: 2018-11-20
If we see that our contemporary condition is one of war and widely diffused complexity, how do we understand our most basic ethical motivations? What might be the aims of our political activity? A War on People takes up these questions and offers a glimpse of a possible alternative future in this ethnographically and theoretically rich examination of the activity of some unlikely political actors: users of heroin and crack cocaine, both active and former. The result is a groundbreaking book on how anti-drug war political activity offers transformative processes that are termed worldbuilding and enacts nonnormative, open, and relationally inclusive alternatives to such key concepts as community, freedom, and care. Read the author's article about the opiod crisis on Open Democracy.
Drug Abuse Sourcebook by
Call Number: Lakeland Circulation HV5801 .D724 2019; Winter Haven Circulation HV5801 .D724 2019
Publication Date: 2019-02-22
Provides information about abuse of illegal drugs and misuse of prescription and over-the-counter medications. Describes specific drugs, their health impacts, addiction potential, and harms to individuals, families and communities. Drug treatment and recovery options and information on drug testing and drug-use prevention.
Substance Abuse by
Call Number: Winter Haven Circulation HV4998 .N488 2017
Publication Date: 2017-04-24
This go-to resource on substance abuse supplies the broad background knowledge and historical information needed to understand this important sociological issue and provides readers with a range of additional sources for continuing their study of the topic. From the pharmaceuticals advertised on television for various specific medical conditions; to alcohol, which is consumed regularly as a societal norm; to illicit drugs such as cocaine, heroin, and methamphetamine; to marijuana, which is becoming legal in an increasing number of U.S. states, drugs are all around us and are ingrained in our culture. The difficult reality is that any drug is a substance that can be abused. Substance Abuse: A Reference Handbook provides a detailed discussion of the history of substance abuse, covers the classification of drugs, explains how drugs work in the body, includes a general survey of both legal and illegal drugs, and describes the methods of substance abuse prevention and treatment. Readers receive a comprehensive introduction to the broad topic of substance abuse and a variety of additional resources with which to conduct extensive research. In addition to describing the nature of licit and illicit drugs, the beneficial and harmful effects drugs can have on the human body, and factors that may lead to abuse and/or substance abuse, this book covers subtopics such as drug testing in a variety of settings including the workplace and sports, drug control mechanisms, and the debates relating to the legalization of drugs such as medical and recreational marijuana. The book also offers primary source resources that enable readers to directly examine the text of documents, such as significant laws and court cases dealing with aspects of substance abuse, alcohol prohibition amendments, the Controlled Substances Act of 1970, a series of memoranda from the U.S. Department of Justice regarding the prosecution of marijuana cases, and state doctor shopping laws. Offers a broad introduction to the physiological, anatomical, and psychological changes associated with substance use and a variety of perspectives from subject experts with special knowledge of and/or experience with substance abuse problems Provides an easily accessible list of nearly 100 books, articles, reports, and electronic sources with additional information on the topic of substance abuse Addresses sociological aspects of drug use and the current debate over the legalization of certain drugs, such as medical and recreational marijuana Includes a collection of relevant data and documents, an extensive annotated bibliography, a chronology, and a glossary
Drugs That Changed the World by
Call Number: Lakeland Circulation RM300 .S53 2017
Publication Date: 2016-11-10
Drugs are used in the diagnosis, alleviation, treatment, prevention or cure of disease. This is a book about drugs, how they came to be, and how they exert their 'magic'. Today we have drugs to protect against infectious diseases, to alleviate aches and pains, to allow new organs to replace the old, and for brain functions to be modified. Yet, for the most part the manner by which drugs are developed and by whom remains a mystery. Drugs are more than just a pill or liquid and some have markedly altered history. The author has selected a few drugs - highlights representing milestones affecting our well-being and influencers of social change. The stories told are dramatic and include spectacular successes and dismal failures. And the people about whom these stories are told are both saints and sinners - selfless and conniving - bold and mercurial and shy and retiring loner. The drugs themselves mirror the diversity of their origin stories and the author assembles all sides of these fascinating stories.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowThe premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
America's News This link opens in a new windowWith unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowThe premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
Gale: eBooks This link opens in a new windowVirtual Reference Library. Gale eBooks offers reference sources including encyclopedias, series and more. Numerous subject areas include the arts, business, education, history, law, literature, multicultural studies, the sciences and world religion.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.