LibGuides: Communication: Nursing and Healthcare: Home

Searching Tips

Searching Tips

Remember to the read any guidelines for your assignment before searching and finding sources. Make sure any articles used match the criteria set by your professor.

Consider the following:

Does your source need to be current?
Do articles need to be from a peer-reviewed journal?
Do you have to have certain types of sources (e.g. ebooks or articles)?
Is there minimum or maximum number of sources you need to use?

All these questions can usually be answered by reading your assignment guidelines. If there are specifications (e.g. the articles need to be from peer-reviewed journals) it is a good idea to select those limits when searching.

Starting Search Words

communication AND healthcare

communication AND nursing

"interprofessional relations"

communication barriers

communication in the workplace

"patient care team" AND communication

"interdisciplinary communication"

patient-provider communication

"discharge communication"

To find more results, try combining these terms with OR, for example:

"interprofessional relations" OR "interdisciplinary communication"

To compare the nuances between search words, try searching just one word/phrase and then another. For example, search "discharge communication." Then, search "patient-provider communication." How are the results different?

Experiment with removing the quotes and/or hypens, as well as different combinations of terms and phrases.

Lastly, think about what aspect of the topic is of interest to you. Are you interested in communication between provider and patient? If so, you might want to start with these terms: patient-provider communication OR "discharge communication

Or, are you interested in communicating between healthcare providers? In that case, you might want to search for "interprofessional relations" OR "interdisciplinary communication"

If you are not sure and are just interested in the topic, then a broad search is a good idea to browse the results and see what you find interesting: communication AND healthcare

Vital Signs Widget

Critical Conversations in Healthcare by Cheri Clancy; Sigma Theta Tau International Staff (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9781945157905
Publication Date: 2018-10-01
Critical Conversations in Healthcare, Second Edition, provides scripts and scenarios to facilitate better, more effective communication in healthcare settings. Chapters feature do's and don'ts, reflective questions, and practical tools to help you improve your on-the-job interactions. Whether you are a new nurse at the bedside or the CEO of a major healthcare facility, this fully revised second edition will show you how to: New: Communicate mindfully, New: Interpret body language, New: Develop a growth mind-set, Work with frustrated families, angry physicians, and uncooperative colleagues, Deal with gossip, harassment, and other tough topics, Successfully address workloads, management styles, and other tricky subjects, Improve the patient experience, Overcome conversation traps Book jacket.
New Horizons in Patient Safety: Safe Communication by Annegret Hannawa; Anne Wendt; Lisa Day
ISBN: 9783110453041
Publication Date: 2017-12-18
This case studies book is an indispensable resource for educators, students, and practitioners of nursing. It is innovative in its application of lessons from the communication sciences to common challenges in the delivery of safe patient care. The authors apply basic tenets of human communication to the context of nursing to provide a foundation for practices that can advance the safety and quality of care. The cases, which describe "close calls" and adverse events, are organized along the continuum of healthcare delivery, providing quick access to solutions in commonly encountered care situations. Each case is accompanied by a discussion of how skillful communication can be key to preventing and recovering from errors and adverse events. Thought-provoking discussion questions and references for further reading make this book a valuable reference for nursing educators, students, and practitioners across the world.
Handbook for Culturally Competent Care by Larry D. Purnell; Florida International University; Eric A. Fenkl
ISBN: 9783030219451
Publication Date: 2019-07-12
This concise, easy-to-read book tackles the potentially awkward subject of culture in a direct, non-intimidating style. It prepares all health professionals in any clinical setting to conduct thorough assessments of individual from culturally specific population groups, making it especially valuable in today's team-oriented healthcare environment. The book is suitable for healthcare workers in all fields, particularly nurses who interact with the patients 24 hours a day, every day of the week. Based on the Purnell Model for Cultural Competence, it explores 26 different cultures and the issues that healthcare professionals need to be sensitive to. For each group, the book includes an overview of heritage, communication styles, family roles and organization, workforce issues, biocultural ecology, high-risk health behaviors, nutrition, pregnancy and child bearing, death rituals, spirituality, healthcare practices, and the views of healthcare providers.
Introduction to Communication in Nursing by Jennifer L. Lapum, Oona St-Amant, Michelle Hughes, Joy Garmaise
Publication Date: 2020
"This open access textbook is intended to guide best practices in communication in the context of the nursing profession. The resource addresses communication theory, therapeutic communication and interviewing, and interprofessional communication as it relates to nursing. This resource is designed for students in undergraduate nursing programs. The project is supported and funded by the Ryerson University Faculty of Community Services Publication Grant."
Effective Communication in Nursing by Sibiya, Maureen Nokuthula
ISBN: 9781789237757
Publication Date: 2018
Nurses are critical in the delivery of essential health services and are core in strengthening the health system. They bring people-centred care closer to the communities where they are needed most, thereby helping improve health outcomes and the overall cost-effectiveness of services. Nurses usually act as first responders to complex humanitarian crises and disasters; protectors and advocates for the community and communicators and co-ordinators within teams. Communication is a core component of sound relationships, collaboration and co-operation, which in turn are essential aspects of professional practice. The quality of communication in interactions between nurses and patients has a major influence on patient outcomes. Increases in nursing communication can lessen medical errors and make a difference in positive patient outcomes. This chapter explores how effective communication and interpersonal skills can enhance professional nursing practice and nursing relationships with various stakeholders. It explains principles of communication, communication process, purpose of communication, types of communication, barriers to effective communication, models of communication and strategies of improving communication and guidelines for successful therapeutic interactions.

Communication Skills for Your Nursing Degree by Jane Bottomley; Steven Pryjmachuk
ISBN: 9781912096657
Publication Date: 2019-01-08
Communication Skills for your Nursing Degree will help you to: improve your oral and written communication skills in a range of academic and healthcare settings improve your public speaking, including academic presentations improve your practical writing and speaking skills If you are embarking on a university nursing or midwifery degree, the books in this series will help you acquire and develop the knowledge, skills and strategies you need to achieve your goals. Tasks and activities are designed to foster aspects of learning which are valued in higher education, including learner autonomy and critical thinking, and to guide you towards reflective practice in your study and work life.
Communication in Nursing and Healthcare: A Guide for Compassionate Practice by Gault, Iris; Shapcott, Jean; Luthi, Armin; Reid, Graeme
ISBN: 9781473987340
Publication Date: 2017
"Communication is an essential skill for nurses, midwives and allied health professionals when delivering care to patients and their families. With its unique and practical approach, this new textbook will support students throughout the three years of their degree programme and on into practice, focussing on how to develop person-centredness and compassionate and collaborative care."--Publisher's website.
Communication in Nursing by Julia Balzer Riley
ISBN: 9780323354103
Publication Date: 2016-01-29
Immerse yourself in the topic of communication in the workplace with an interesting conversation about the communication demands of today's nursing practice! Communication in Nursing, 8th Edition adopts a uniquely practical and personal approach, providing extensive examples, exercises, and techniques that help you understand important concepts and apply communication skills in a variety of clinical settings. With its conversational tone, this relatable text takes you beyond theory to show you how to use communication as a tool to limit stress in your nursing practice. A new Active Learning feature that promotes goal-directed reading, and additional QSEN exercises highlight the importance of assertive communication in promoting quality, safe care for clients - all in an easy-to-read magazine layout. QSEN preface and exercises stress how communication impacts safety and quality of care. Moments of Connection boxes highlight beneficial outcomes of successful communication and provide concrete examples of how communication techniques work. "Reflections on..." boxes provide thoughtful summary exercises at the end of each chapter that give you a specific task to help you integrate chapter material into the broader scope of nursing practice. Wit & Wisdom boxes present selected verses and quotations relevant to chapter topics, adding interest and humor. These boxes keep your attention by providing moments of relief from serious topics and "a-ha" moments when theory becomes linked to practice. Exercises throughout each chapter help you master chapter techniques and strengthen your communication skills.

Recommended Databases

CINAHL Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window The worlds most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals. CINAHL Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature.
- This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care system, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine. Search abstracts from over 4,000 current biomedical journals. Coverage dating back to 1965.
Nursing & Allied Health Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window A mix of scholarly literature, clinical training videos, reference materials, and evidence-based resources, including dissertations and systematic reviews
OVID Nursing Database (OVID) This link opens in a new window This proprietary bibliographic data set indexes hundreds of journals and periodicals from all over the world.
- This link opens in a new window

Login Required

You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.

Communication: Nursing and Healthcare: Home

Welcome