Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for concussions in sports related research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
Sports-Related Concussions in Youth: Improving the Science, Changing the Culture by
Publication Date: 2014-03-04
In the past decade, few subjects at the intersection of medicine and sports have generated as much public interest as sports-related concussions - especially among youth. Despite growing awareness of sports-related concussions and campaigns to educate athletes, coaches, physicians, and parents of young athletes about concussion recognition and management, confusion and controversy persist in many areas. Sports-Related Concussions in Youth: Improving the Science, Changing the Culture reviews the science of sports-related concussions in youth from elementary school through young adulthood, as well as in military personnel and their dependents.
Management of Severe Traumatic Brain Injury by
Publication Date: 2012-06-28
In order to reduce the number of deaths from severe head injuries, systematic management is essential. This book is a practical, comprehensive guide to the treatment of patients (both adults and children) with such injuries, from the time of initial contact through to the rehabilitation center. Sections are devoted to prehospital treatment, admission and diagnostics, acute management, and neurointensive care and rehabilitation.
The IOC Manual of Emergency Sports Medicine by
Publication Date: 2015-04-01
The Manual focuses on the fieldside diagnosis and treatment of severe injuries and illnesses that can present at a sports event. It concentrates on basic diagnostic skills and treatment modalities as the sports physician has often limited diagnostic and treatment facilities available. Each chapter concentrates on an illness or anatomical injury and offers a structured diagnostic and therapeutic approach in this difficult pre-hospital environment. The chapters explain what problems are to be expected with specific conditions as well as which treatment plan should be implemented and how to evaluate and reassess those plans.
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation (RC394.C7 M374 2017)
Publication Date: 2016-12-12
This book provides a broad introduction to the important topic of concussive brain injury that considers historical, medical, research-based, and legal and ethical perspectives. * Examines the topic of concussions from historical and legal/ethical perspectives as well as medical perspectives and provides insights into current issues and controversies * Includes excerpts from primary source documents that provide additional information and bolster students' critical thinking skills *
League of Denial: The NFL, Concussions, and the Battle for Truth by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (RC1220.F6 F35 2013)
Publication Date: 2013-10-08
Both ESPN investigative reporters, the authors reveal how the NFL, over a period of nearly two decades, sought to cover up and deny mounting evidence of the connection between football and brain damage. This narrative moves between the NFL trenches, America's research labs and the boardrooms where the NFL went to war against science; it examines how the league used its power and resources to attack independent scientists and elevate its own flawed research.
Coping with Concussion and Mild Traumatic Brain Injury by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation (RC387.5 .S75 2013)
Publication Date: 2013-11-05
A comprehensive guide for improving memory, focus, and quality of life in the aftermath of a concussion. Often presenting itself after a head trauma, concussion— or mild traumatic brain injury (mTBI)— can cause chronic migraines, depression, memory, and sleep problems that can last for years, referred to as post concussion syndrome (PCS). Neuropsychologist and concussion survivor Dr. Diane Roberts Stoler is the authority on all aspects of the recovery process. Coping with Concussion and Mild Traumatic Brain Injury is a lifeline for patients, parents, and other caregivers.
Health Reference Center Academic Contains up-to-date information on a complete range of health care topics. This database includes full-text periodicals, reference books, and pamphlets, as well as hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context The premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Health and Wellness Resource Center This comprehensive consumer health resource, provides accurate, authoritative information on a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative and complementary medical practices. Designed for researchers at all levels, its intuitive interface provides multiple pathways to information including alternative medicine.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. Your borrower ID is your student ID number (no dashes). Your pin/password is the last four digits of your student ID number.