Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for cybercrime related research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
Cybercrime Investigations : A Comprehensive Resource for Everyone by
Publication Date: 2020-06-01
This book is a comprehensive resource for everyone who encounters and investigates cybercrime, no matter their title, including those working on behalf of law enforcement, private organizations, regulatory agencies, or individual victims. It provides helpful background material about cybercrime's technological and legal underpinnings, plus in-depth detail about the legal and practical aspects of conducting cybercrime investigations. Key features of this book include: Understanding cybercrime, computers, forensics, and cybersecurity Law for the cybercrime investigator, including cybercrime offenses; cyber evidence-gathering; criminal, private and regulatory law, and nation-state implications Cybercrime investigation from three key perspectives: law enforcement, private sector, and regulatory Financial investigation Identification (attribution) of cyber-conduct Apprehension Litigation in the criminal and civil arenas.
Introduction to Cybercrime by
Publication Date: 2016-02-22
As the exponential growth of the Internet has made the exchange and storage of information quick and inexpensive, the incidence of cyber-enabled criminal activity from copyright infringement to phishing to online pornography has also exploded. These crimes, both old and new, are posing challenges for law enforcement and legislators alike. What efforts if any could deter cybercrime in the highly networked and extremely fast-moving modern world?
Cybercrime and Digital Deviance by
Publication Date: 2019-09-10
Cybercrime and Digital Deviance is a work that combines insights from sociology, criminology, and computer science to explore cybercrimes such as hacking and romance scams, along with forms of cyberdeviance such as pornography addiction, trolling, and flaming. Other issues are explored including cybercrime investigations, organized cybercrime, the use of algorithms in policing, cybervictimization, and the theories used to explain cybercrime. Graham and Smith make a conceptual distinction between a terrestrial, physical environment and a single digital environment produced through networked computers. Conceptualizing the online space as a distinct environment for social interaction links this text with assumptions made in the fields of urban sociology or rural criminology. Students in sociology and criminology will have a familiar entry point for understanding what may appear to be a technologically complex course of study. The authors organize all forms of cybercrime and cyberdeviance by applying a typology developed by David Wall: cybertrespass, cyberdeception, cyberviolence, and cyberpornography. This typology is simple enough for students just beginning their inquiry into cybercrime. Because it is based on legal categories of trespassing, fraud, violent crimes against persons, and moral transgressions it provides a solid foundation for deeper study. Taken together, Graham and Smith's application of a digital environment and Wall's cybercrime typology makes this an ideal upper level text for students in sociology and criminal justice. It is also an ideal introductory text for students within the emerging disciplines of cybercrime and cybersecurity.
Call Number: Lakeland & Winter Haven Circulation HV6773 .C918 2016
Publication Date: 2016-01-19
Cybercrime is a very real threat in our Internet-connected society. This anthology provides your readers with a solid base of knowledge on cybercrime and provides resources that help to develop critical thinking skills. The essays in this volume offer a broad array of viewpoints. Students are encouraged to see the validity of divergent opinions, so that they may understand issues inclusively. A question-and-response format prompts readers to examine complex issues from multiple viewpoints. Readers will debate whether cybercrime poses a serious problem for U.S. security, whether cybercrime against individuals is a serious problem, and what should be done to protect internet users from cybercrime.
Dawn of the Code War by
Call Number: Winter Haven Circulation U167.5.C92 C37 2018
Publication Date: 2018-10-16
The inside story of how America's enemies launched a cyber war against us-and how we've learned to fight back With each passing year, the internet-linked attacks on America's interests have grown in both frequency and severity. Overmatched by our military, countries like North Korea, China, Iran, and Russia have found us vulnerable in cyberspace. The "Code War" is upon us. In this dramatic book, former Assistant Attorney General John P. Carlin takes readers to the front lines of a global but little-understood fight as the Justice Department and the FBI chases down hackers, online terrorist recruiters, and spies. Today, as our entire economy goes digital, from banking to manufacturing to transportation, the potential targets for our enemies multiply. This firsthand account is both a remarkable untold story and a warning of dangers yet to come.
Call Number: Lakeland & Winter Haven Circulation U167.5.C92 C935 2017
Publication Date: 2017-12-15
There is warfare, and there is cyberwarfare. In today's technologically-driven world, governments, and even terrorist groups and hacktivists, engage in cyberwarfare to attack or disrupt the operations of other nations and organizations. Recent revelations about cyberattacks that threatened individual and national security have caused ripples of concern and outrage, but tend to die down quickly. How safe are we, and do we take security for granted? This resource offers a diverse selection of viewpoints from the top voices in the field to enlighten readers about warfare in the Information Age.
Criminal Justice This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide variety of criminal justice topics, including corrections administration, law enforcement, social work, industrial security, drug rehabilitation, and criminal and family law.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive database includes full text and bibliographic records of leading journals in the criminal justice field. Covering a wide range of topics, it is an essential collection for students and scholars researching criminal justice and criminology.
America's News This link opens in a new window
With unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
The premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.