Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for gender discrimination research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
Man-Made : Why So Few Women Are in Positions of Power by
Publication Date: 2015-03-28
Looks at women in business, government and not-for-profit organizations to explore the reasons behind - and the solutions to - the gross underrepresentation of women in leadership positions. Along the way, the authors look at the value of work for women and vice versa; how women are seen and how they are expected to behave; the impact of prejudice and discrimination; how some women have succeeded against the odds.
The Lost Leaders: How Corporate America Loses Women Leaders by
Publication Date: 2013-09-12
The Lost Leaders presents the personal stories of women who achieved success in corporate leadership, but have chosen to abandon their careers, providing a fascinating glimpse of the culture that exists in the contemporary corporation.
Unnatural Selection: Choosing Boys over Girls, and the Consequences of a World Full of Men by
Publication Date: 2011-06-07
Lianyungang, a booming port city, has China's most extreme gender ratio for children under four: 163 boys for every 100 girls. These numbers don't seem terribly grim, but in ten years, the skewed sex ratio will pose a colossal challenge. By the time those children reach adulthood, their generation will have twenty-four million more men than women. Gender imbalance reaches far beyond Asia, affecting Georgia, Eastern Europe, and cities in the U.S. where there are significant immigrant populations. The world, therefore, is becoming increasingly male, and this mismatch is likely to create profound social upheaval. Historically, eras in which there have been an excess of men have produced periods of violent conflict and instability. Mara Hvistendahl has written a stunning, impeccably-researched book that does not flinch from examining not only the consequences of the misbegotten policies of sex selection but Western complicity with them.
Breaking Through Bias by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (HD30.3 .K695 2016)
Publication Date: 2016-05-17
Women start their careers on parity with men but generally end them far earlier, having achieved less status, lower compensation, and less satisfaction than men. Breaking Through Bias explains that it is the stereotypes about women, men, work, leadership, and family that hold women back, and it presents an integrated set of communication techniques that women can use to avoid the discriminatory consequences of these stereotypes. Women need to be attuned to the negative gender stereotypes that surround them; they need to anticipate the biases these stereotypes foster, and they need to manage the impressions they make to avoid or overcome these biases. Breaking Through Bias presents unique, practical, and effective advice about how women can at last break through gender bias in the workplace and win at the career advancement game.
The Gender Agenda : a first-hand account of how girls and boys are treated differently by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (HQ1237 .B35 2017)
Publication Date: 2017-07-21
From language and clothes, to toys and the media, society inflicts unwritten rules on each gender from birth. Aiming to make people aware of the way gender is constructed and constantly reinforced, this diary chronicles the differences two parents noticed while raising their son and daughter. Adapted from tweets and blogs the couple kept throughout parenthood, this collection shows how culture, family and even the authors themselves are part of the 'gender police' that can influence a child's identity, and offers ideas for how we can work together to challenge the gender stereotypes that are ingrained in our society.
Taking Sides: Clashing Views in Gender by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation (HQ1075 .T39 2018)
Publication Date: 2017-03-22
Unit 1. Gender and education. Do boys and girls learn differently? -- Should there be single-sex classrooms or schools? -- Unit 2. He said, she said, they said: gender equity and equality. Is the wage gap between women and men due to sexism -- Has gender equality come a long way? -- Should transgender athletes be allowed to compete in professional sports? -- Should male and female athletes be paid equally -- Has the women's movement of the 1970s failed? -- Unit 3. Parental presence, parental choices. Are fathers necessary for children's well-being? -- Should parents be able to choose their baby's sex? -- Should partners of deceased men be allowed to use their sperm without their consent -- Should men have a say in whether their partner has an abortion? -- Are children who are raised by a lesbian or gay couple worse off than those raised by different-sex parents? -- Unit 4. Gender in the world around us. Should public restrooms be gender-neutral? -- Can women have it all? -- Do reality TV shows portray responsible messages about teen pregnancy? -- Does pornography prevent rape? -- Can a woman with conservative political views be a feminist?
Academic OneFile The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects.
America's News With unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
Expanded Academic ASAP Resources for research across academic disciplines, offering in-depth coverage of
virtually any concentration from advertising, psychology and history to microbiology, the humanities and womens studies.
Gale in Context: Global Issues Offers global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events and topics in the news related to these issues. Not a pro and con database, Global Issues in Context ties together a variety of sources to present a rich analysis of issues social, political, military, economic, environmental, science related, health related, cultural and headlines in world hot spots. It provides information seekers with a framework to better understand 21st-century issues and events while highlighting global connections and the interdependence of all nations.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context The premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.