Home - EDF 2085 - Diversity for Educators - LibGuides at Polk State College

Login Required

You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials.

If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652.

You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.

Catalog and Database Search

Ask a Librarian

Education Databases

The following Library databases contain journals and scholarly articles focused on all aspects of education, from early childhood to higher education. These databases may look slightly different but generally have the same features.

Education Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window The world's largest and most complete collection of full-text education journals, this database provides scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals, and policy makers. It covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education as well as all educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
Educators Reference Complete (Gale) This link opens in a new window This comprehensive resource covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college and includes virtually every educational specialty, such as bilingual studies, health, technology and testing. The resource also includes information on issues related to administration, funding and policy in education.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window An authoritative database of indexed and full-text educational literature and resources. Essential for education researchers of all kinds, it features journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.
Teacher Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Contains journal information for K-12 teachers and librarians. Topics covered include best practices, curriculum development, literacy standards, pedagogical research, instructional media, language arts, science & mathematics, school administration, and more.

Finding an Education Article

Below is an example of searching in the Education Source database. Since this is already an education database, you don't have to use that word in your search.

Notice that the boxes are checked for Full-Text and articles. That way, the search results will only include complete articles. Checking the box for Peer-Reviewed will ensure that you only see peer-reviewed, professional journals.

Look at the sample results below. (Your search will reveal similar results.)

It indicates the author and title of the article. Select the Full Text or the PDF icon to view the entire article.

The image below shows the Tools menu which can be found on the right side of the page when viewing an article.

You may print or email the article. You can also download the PDF. The Cite feature will generate a citation for you.

database tools

Sample citation: Harrison, J., Krull, E., & LeRiche, L. (2021). Discipline in a multicultural classroom: A case study. Education Research & Perspectives, 48(1), 81–89.

EDF 2085 - Diversity for Educators: Home

Login Required

Catalog and Database Search

Ask a Librarian

Education Databases

Finding an Education Article

Questions? Use Ask a Librarian