Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for doping in sports research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
Law, Ethics, and Integrity in the Sports Industry by
Publication Date: 2018-08-17
Sports play a significant role in society, as they are a multilevel field of interest. Nonetheless, a major problem that has been undermining the field is the rise of issues surrounding integrity. Indeed, major scandals of corruption have been disclosed, and they have challenged the effectiveness of sports institutions. As a result, it is vital to explore how to navigate the complex landscape of legal and ethical issues. Law, Ethics, and Integrity in the Sports Industry is an essential reference source that discusses the legitimacy and integrity of sports institutions by focusing on the social, economic, and political influence of sports. Featuring research on topics such as global sports governance, legal and ethical implications, and the validity of e-sports, this book is ideally designed for scholars interested in institutional aspects of sports and ethics, academicians, researchers, advanced-level students, and officials with a broad interest in sports seeking coverage on the institutional aspects of sports and ethics.
Testing for Athlete Citizenship by
Publication Date: 2015-04-17
Incidents of doping in sports are common in news headlines, despite regulatory efforts. How did doping become a crisis? What does a doping violation actually entail? Who gets punished for breaking the rules of fair play? In Testing for Athlete Citizenship, Kathryn E. Henne, a former competitive athlete and an expert in the law and science of anti-doping regulations, examines the development of rules aimed at controlling performance enhancement in international sports.
Steroids and Doping in Sports by
Call Number: Winter Haven Circulation RC1230 .N48 2018
Publication Date: 2018-04-04
This book provides a comprehensive introduction to one of the most controversial issues in modern society--steroid abuse among athletes--as well as to the ongoing debate over the use and misuse of illegal substances in amateur and professional sporting events. Now in its second edition, this book provides readers, with updated critical and objective information about steroids and doping in sports. The first two chapters deal with the history and background of steroids and doping in sports in addition to current problems, controversies, and possible solutions. Additionally, they provide readers with the background to understand the nature of the problems involving steroid use and doping in sports in the United States and worldwide. New to this edition is the Perspectives chapter. Composed of diverse voices, this chapter allows readers to gain insight from scholars, athletes, journalists, and others who have a stake in the issues. Remaining chapters provide a variety of research tools, such as primary documents and biographical profiles, for readers to use in continuing their research. Other resources include a chronology, a glossary, and an extensive annotated bibliography. Helps readers towards an understanding of the nature of anabolic steroids and their effects on the human body, both beneficial and harmful Comprises an extensive array of tools that permits students to continue their own research on the topic Includes a glossary of terms that will aid readers in better understanding the technical language used in discussions of steroids and doping in sports Introduces readers to the complex issue of testing for illegal drugs in both amateur and professional sports, and to methods of testing and problems involved with mediating the validity and reliability of tests Introduces students to important individuals and organizations involved in steroid abuse and doping in sports, both historically and currently
Fitness Doping by
Call Number: Lakeland Circulation RC1230 .A53 2020
Publication Date: 2019-07-04
This book compiles several years of multi-faceted qualitative research on fitness doping to provide a fresh insight into how the growing phenomenon intersects with issues of gender, body and health in contemporary society. Drawing on biographical interviews, as well as online and offline ethnography, Andreasson and Johansson analyse how, in the context of the global development of gym and fitness culture, particular doping trajectories are formulated, and users come into contact with doping. They also explore users' internalisation of particular values, practices and communications and analyse how this influences understandings of the self, health, gender and the body, as well as tying this into wider beliefs regarding individual freedom and the law. This insight into doping goes beyond elite and organised sports, and will be of interest to students and scholars across the sociology of sport, leisure studies, and gender and body politics.
Athletes, Ethics, and Morality by
Call Number: Winter Haven & Lakeland Circulation GV706.3 .A97 2019
Publication Date: 2018-12-15
Athletes have a unique power in our world today. Their astronomical salaries, enviable lifestyles, and celebrity have tremendous influence over young people. This is reflected in advertising dollars as well as merchandise and ticket sales. For every athlete who uses their platform for charitable, political, and social good, there are many whose unethical or even criminal behavior sends the wrong message. What is the responsibility of athletes to their fans, to their teams, and to their leagues? How much responsibility do we hold for holding them in such high esteem? The viewpoints in this volume explore this complicated issue.
Good Sport by
Call Number: Winter Haven Circulation RC1230 .M87 2018
Publication Date: 2018-01-02
Why are fiberglass vaulting poles and hinged skates accepted in sport - while performance-enhancing drugs are forbidden? Are the rules that forbid them arbitrary? Should we level the playing field by allowing all competitors to use drugs that allow them to run faster or longer, leap higher, orlift more? In this provocative exploration of what draws us to sport as participants and spectators, Thomas Murray argues that the values and meanings embedded within our games provide the guidance we need to make difficult decisions about fairness and performance-enhancing technologies.Good Sport reveals what we really care about in sport and how the reckless use of biomedical enhancements undermines those values. Implicit in sports history, rules, and practices are values that provide a sturdy foundation for an ethics of sport that celebrates natural talents and dedication. Yousee these values when the Paralympics creates multiple level playing fields among athletes with different kinds of impairments. They appear again in sports struggles to be fair to all when an extraordinary woman athlete emerges who appears to possess a mans hormone profile and muscles. They arethreatened when the effort to assure athletes a fair chance to win without doping is subverted by cheating or by corruption, as in the case of Russias state-supported doping operation.Performance-enhancing drugs distort the connection between natural talents, the dedication to perfect those talents, and success in sport. Explaining the fundamental role of values and meanings, Good Sport reveals not just what we champion in the athletic arena but also, more broadly, what we valuein human achievement.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
America's News This link opens in a new window
With unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
The premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
Gale: eBooks This link opens in a new window
Virtual Reference Library. Gale eBooks offers reference sources including encyclopedias, series and more. Numerous subject areas include the arts, business, education, history, law, literature, multicultural studies, the sciences and world religion.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.