Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for drug legalization research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
In the Weeds by
Publication Date: 2019-02-25
More and more states are legalizing marijuana in some form. Moreover, a majority of the U.S. population is in favor of the drug for recreational use. In the Weeds looks at how our society has become more permissive in the past 150 years--even though marijuana is still considered a Schedule I drug by the American government. Sociologists Clayton Mosher and Scott Akins take a deep dive into marijuana policy reform, looking at the incremental developments and the historical, legal, social, and political implications of these changes. They investigate the effects, medicinal applications, and possible harms of marijuana. In the Weeds also considers arguments that youth will be heavy users of legalized cannabis, and shows how "weed" is demonized by exaggerations of the drug's risks and claims of its lack of medicinal value. Mosher and Akins end their timely and insightful book by tracing the distinct paths to the legalization of recreational marijuana in the United States and other countries as well as discussing what the future of marijuana law holds.
Legal Marijuana by
Publication Date: 2018-11-26
The legalization of marijuana has spread rapidly throughout the United States, from just a handful of states ten years ago to now more than half, as well as the nation's capital. In Canada, it is legal to use and distribute nationally. Thousands of cities and towns are following suit. Legalization seems to be a win-win--people who use cannabis for health and recreation are served, business is brisk, and many governments welcome the much-needed boost in tax revenue. But not everyone thinks so. The rapid pace of legalization has spurred debate among citizens, cities, states and the federal government. This collection of essays explains the benefits and concerns, the policies and actions, and the future of this controversial issue.
Where There's Smoke by
Publication Date: 2018-01-31
Over the course of a year, in just one national forest in California, raids on illegal marijuana growing operations yielded 19,710 pounds of infrastructure, 138 ounces of restricted poisons, 4,595 pounds of fertilizer, 12 gallons of common pesticides, 5.6 miles of waterlines, and 102 propane bottles. Even as efforts to legalize marijuana accelerate, such "trespass grows" spread exponentially--as does their effect on the environment. The nature of this impact on the land and in the political arena is the pressing issue addressed in Where There's Smoke. This first-of-its-kind interdisciplinary anthology draws on the insights of scientists, researchers, and activists and ranges across the humanities, natural sciences, and social sciences to explore the troubling environmental consequences of illegal marijuana production on public, private, and tribal lands. Classified as a Schedule 1 drug, marijuana has been a central focus of the so-called War on Drugs--with the perverse result of shifting marijuana production from Mexico to the United States and with unanticipated consequences for the natural environment. Where There's Smoke assesses the broad spectrum of the policy's effect on land and water, flora and fauna, as well as the firsthand challenges faced by those tasked with responding to this tangled and often dangerous state of affairs. In its broad scope, varied perspective, and depth of detail, the book will prove essential to an understanding of the complex social and environmental ramifications of marijuana policy and politics in the United States.
NoNonsense Legalizing Drugs by
Publication Date: 2017-06-13
The question is no longer if we should end the war on drugs but how do we do it. This NoNonsense counts the human and financial cost of 50 years drug war - and proceeds to outline a better way, looking at where drug law reform is already working, how to overcome the obstacles to reform and what a post drug war world looks like.
Marijuana 360 by
Publication Date: 2019-05-08
In 1996, California became the first state to legalize medical marijuana. As of 2018, more than thirty states and the District of Columbia have passed laws legalizing the drug at some level, Ten of those states-including Vermont, Alaska, Oregon, Colorado, and Washington-have legalized marijuana for recreational use, and many other states are considering similar legislation. Marijuana 360: Differing Perspectives on Legalization examines marijuana legalization from the perspective of those directly involved in some aspect of the controversy, Nancy E. Marion and Joshua B. Hill bring together interviews with representatives from a variety of integral groups affected by marijuana legalization-medical professional, educators, parents, lawmakers, drug users, and others. Their study examines states that have legalized (or are considering legalizing) marijuana to get impressions of the impact the reform has made (or will make) in their area. Public support for reform is more widespread than ever before, but much debate remains over the issues. Marijuana 360 increases our understanding of the differing opinions professionals hold regarding this important topic. Book jacket.
The New Chardonnay by
Publication Date: 2020-08-11
"The inside scoop on how marijuana landed on Main Street . . . and why it's coming soon to a city near you."-Katie Couric From gleaming dispensaries stocked with elegantly wrapped edibles to the array of CBD lotions and oils for sale at your local drugstore to tastemaker Martha Stewart cooking up marijuana munchies on prime-time television, one thing is clear- Pot has fully shed its stoner image. In this deeply reported journey into the new world of legal cannabis, award-winningreporter Heather Cabot takes readers on the road with Snoop Dogg and his business partner Ted Chung as they roll out the star's own brand of bud; to California wine country, where chefs and vintners are ushering in a new age of elevated dining; on wild adventures with marijuana mogul Beth Stavola, for whom fending off shady characters is just another day at the office; and to rural Canada to meet the Willy Wonka of Weed. Drawing on exclusive interviews with some of the biggest names in the world of cannabis, Cabot's book explores the confluence of social, economic, and political forces that have brought marijuana into the mainstream. Among them, outrage over the racial injustice of U.S. drug laws, the booming self-care industry catering to stressed-out professionals and busy parents in search of better sleep and more sex, seniors clamoring for natural alternatives to opioids to manage their aches and pains, and tens of millions of investor dollars fueling a frenetic "green rush" mentality. The story of an astonishing rebranding,The New Chardonnayexplores how a plant that was once the subject of multimillion-dollar public service announcements came to spark new culinary trends; inspire new uses for health, beauty, and wellness; and generate hundreds of thousands of jobs and untold tax revenue-all while remaining federally illegal in America.
More on Legalizing Marijuana by
Publication Date: 2018-11-01
More states continue to legalize marijuana for both medical and recreational use. This trend toward legalized marijuana poses new problems and concerns for individuals and governments alike. More on Legalizing Marijuana presents research by ten experts that examines issues surrounding marijuana legalization and use. The first section of chapters examines the increased social acceptance of marijuana use and legalization, and the effect that has on communities. Another area of focus is what impact the acceptance of marijuana use has on voting patterns. The second group of chapters focuses on the political influences surrounding legalization. The impact of presidential rhetoric and speeches about marijuana is the topic of one study, whereas another focuses on interest group activity. Two articles take a more critical look at marijuana legalization and how it benefits certain groups over others. The third section of the book contains a set of chapters that review public policies regarding legalization and the unintended consequences of these new laws.
Criminal Justice This link opens in a new windowCovers a wide variety of criminal justice topics, including corrections administration, law enforcement, social work, industrial security, drug rehabilitation, and criminal and family law.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis comprehensive database includes full text and bibliographic records of leading journals in the criminal justice field. Covering a wide range of topics, it is an essential collection for students and scholars researching criminal justice and criminology.
America's News This link opens in a new windowWith unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowThe premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.