Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for eating disorders research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
Eating Disorders by
Publication Date: 2022-05-10
A comprehensive guide on how to diagnose, treat, and care for those with eating disorders. Eating disorders, which include such conditions as anorexia, bulimia, binge eating, and pica, represent a challenge to both patients and health care providers alike. For more than 20 years, health care providers have turned to the expert advice found in Eating Disorders to keep up to date with the latest research in the field and to help them provide the best care available for their patients. In this new, thoroughly revised and expanded edition of their best-selling work, Drs. Philip S. Mehler and Arnold E. Andersen provide a user-friendly and comprehensive guide to treating and managing eating disorders for primary care physicians, mental health professionals, worried family members and friends, and nonmedical professionals (such as teachers and coaches). Mehler and Andersen * identify common medical complications faced by people who have eating disorders * answer questions about how to treat both physical and behavioral aspects of eating disorders * discuss serious complications, including cardiac arrhythmia, electrolyte abnormalities, and gastrointestinal problems * incorporate all-new information on avoidant restrictive food intake disorder (ARFID), binge eating disorder, and the role of social media in promoting disordered eating * offer targeted advice for working with specialists * include four new chapters on eating disorders in children and adolescents; atypical anorexia; eating disorders in transgender individuals; and family therapy * feature engaging clinical vignettes * answer a list of common questions practitioners may have in each chapter The most comprehensive work on the market and the only book that covers eating disorders in transgender individuals, Eating Disorders is a compassionate, evidence-based, and essential guide. Contributors: Arnold E. Andersen, Ovidio Bermudez, Jeana Cost, Meghan Foley, Dennis Gibson, Neville Golden, Sacha Gorell, Jeffrey Hollis, Mori J. Krantz, Daniel Le Grange, Russell Marx, Jennifer McBride, Philip S. Mehler, Leah Puckett, Katherine Sachs, Michael Spaulding-Barclay, Anna Tanner, Nathalia Trees, Jessica Tse, Kenneth Weiner, Patricia Westmoreland
Eating Disorders: Understanding Causes, Controversies, and Treatment [2 Volumes] by
Publication Date: 2018-05-10
While many people may reflexively imagine an anorexic or bulimia teenage girl upon being asked to think about eating disorders, eating disorders are a form of mental illness that can take many forms and affect individuals of all genders, ages, and ethnic backgrounds. In fact, an estimated eight million people in the United States struggle with an eating disorder, making eating disorders one of the most prevalent forms of mental illness in America. This two-volume encyclopedia comprehensively examines eating disorders as the forms they can take; their causes and potential complications; and how they can best be treated and prevented. It also examines the influence had by cultural factors such as the fashion industry, television and movies, and social media. More than just a simple A-to-Z reference, Eating Disorders: Understanding Causes, Controversies, and Treatment also includes valuable features such as Q&A interviews with those affected by and working to combat eating disorders, case studies, scholarly essays that voice opinions in key debates, and a directory of resources for individuals seeking help.
Publication Date: 2019-11-19
When Rebecca Lester was eleven years old--and again when she was eighteen--she almost died from anorexia nervosa. Now both a tenured professor in anthropology and a licensed social worker, she turns her ethnographic and clinical gaze to the world of eating disorders--their history, diagnosis, lived realities, treatment, and place in the American cultural imagination. Famished, the culmination of over two decades of anthropological and clinical work, as well as a lifetime of lived experience, presents a profound rethinking of eating disorders and how to treat them. Through a mix of rich cultural analysis, detailed therapeutic accounts, and raw autobiographical reflections, Famished helps make sense of why people develop eating disorders, what the process of recovery is like, and why treatments so often fail. It's also an unsparing condemnation of the tension between profit and care in American healthcare, demonstrating how a system set up to treat a disease may, in fact, perpetuate it. Fierce and vulnerable, critical and hopeful, Famished will forever change the way you understand eating disorders and the people who suffer with them.
Eating Disorders in America by
Publication Date: 2019-03-07
An indispensable resource for readers interested in eating disorders, this book summarizes their history in human civilization, assesses the current status of eating disorders in American society, and describes efforts for establishing effective prevention and treatment programs. Although eating disorders have existed for centuries, considerable controversy remains as to the basic cause or causes of these disorders and their genetic, biological, and/or psychological factors. Eating Disorders in America: A Reference Handbook investigates these disorders, priming readers on the causes, symptoms, controversies, and treatments available. The two opening chapters of the book provide general background and a historical review of the existence of eating disorders in society. The remaining chapters provide resources the reader can use for further research, such as an extensive annotated bibliography, a glossary, and a chronology. This book differs from others on the topic in that it provides both an expository section that provides information as well as a set of resources for further research. The book also contains a "perspectives" chapter in which writers describe and discuss their personal views on the subject of eating disorders. Together with the author's expertise, these views add to the value of this book as a resource for eating disorder research. Provides an introduction to the history of eating disorders in society, a topic less well known and discussed than others in the social sciences Offers comprehensive discussion of the whole range of eating disorders, rather than the two most commonly covered (bulimia and anorexia), along with a review of the risk factors, causes, prevention, and treatment of each Outlines the ongoing debate concerning the possible causes of eating disorders and how they guide prevention and treatment Includes a chapter on individual perspectives about specific cases of, experiences with, and attitudes toward eating disorders in today's world
Eating Disorders by
Publication Date: 2020-07-01
Eating disorders are potentially life-threatening psychiatric illnesses commonly accompanied by serious medical problems. They typically appear during adolescence or early adulthood, a time when young people are heading to college or interviewing for a first job. Many people recover fully fromeating disorders, but others become chronically ill, and symptoms can continue into middle age and beyond.Written by leading authorities in eating disorders research and treatment, Eating Disorders: What Everyone Needs to KnowRG answers common questions about eating disorders, including anorexia nervosa, bulimia nervosa, and binge eating disorder, as well as a newly described condition,avoidant/restrictive food intake disorder (ARFID). Practical yet authoritative, the book defines the eating disorders, explains what we know about them based on the latest science, and describes how treatment works. Importantly, the book dispels common myths about eating disorders, such as thenotion that they occur only amongst the affluent, that they affect only girls and women, or that they simply result from environmental factors such as the fashion industry and society's obsession with thinness. In reality, as the book explains, there is substantial evidence that eating disorders arebrain-based illnesses that do not discriminate, and that they have been around for a very long time. Eating Disorders: What Everyone Needs to KnowRG is essential reading for those seeking authoritative and current information about these often misunderstood illnesses.
Food for Thought by
Publication Date: 2016-12-31
Food for Thought offers fresh psychoanalytic insights into treating clients with eating disorders. In lively and jargon-free language, Nina Savelle-Rocklin breaks down the psychoanalytic approach to give practitioners and general readers alike a deeper understanding of the theory and effective treatment of eating disorders. Those living with eating disorders often use food to express their inner feelings, and Savelle-Rocklin illustrates the importance of the therapeutic relationship in uncovering the nature of these internal emotions, and formulating them into words. Through an intensive and mutual process, clients can begin to understand the language of the eating disorder, identify and work through its underlying conflicts, ultimately eliminating symptoms, relieving distress, and transforming the way they relate to themselves and others. Thoughtful and highly engaging, Food for Thought provides invaluable methods for practitioners treating patients with eating disorders to achieve lasting change and true healing.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowThe premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Gale Health & Wellness This link opens in a new windowThis comprehensive consumer health resource, provides accurate, authoritative information on a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative and complementary medical practices. Designed for researchers at all levels, its intuitive interface provides multiple pathways to information including alternative medicine.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.