Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for elections/electoral college research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
Parties and Elections in America by
Publication Date: 2015-10-16
This classic text provides an in-depth examination and history of American political parties and their critical role in representative democracy at the local, state, and national levels. Focused on the continued evolution and significance of parties in the American political system, separate chapters are devoted to key topics such as the impact of social media in the electoral process, and recent developments in campaign finance. The seventh edition fully incorporates the results of the 2012 presidential election and the 2014 midterm elections, as well as the impact of the Tea Party within the Republican party and important demographic shifts in the American electorate.
Ballots, Bullets, and Bargains: American Foreign Policy and Presidential Elections by
Publication Date: 2015-08-04
Drawing on twenty-four years of experience in government, Michael H. Armacost explores how the contours of the U.S. presidential election system influence the content and conduct of American foreign policy. He examines how the nomination battle impels candidates to express deference to the foreign policy DNA of their party and may force an incumbent to make wholesale policy adjustments to fend off an intra-party challenge for the nomination. He describes the way reelection campaigns can prod a chief executive to fix long-neglected problems, kick intractable policy dilemmas down the road, settle for modest course corrections, or scapegoat others for policies gone awry. Armacost begins his book with the quest for the presidential nomination and then moves through the general election campaign, the ten-week transition period between Election Day and Inauguration Day, and the early months of a new administration. He notes that campaigns rarely illuminate the tough foreign policy choices that the leader of the nation must make, and he offers rare insight into the challenge of aligning the roles of an outgoing incumbent (who performs official duties despite ebbing power) and the incoming successor (who has no official role but possesses a fresh political mandate). He pays particular attention to the pressure for new presidents to act boldly abroad in the early months of his tenure, even before a national security team is in place, decision-making procedures are set, or policy priorities are firmly established. He concludes with an appraisal of the virtues and liabilities of the system, including suggestions for modestly adjusting some of its features while preserving its distinct character.
Let's Vote: the essentials of the American electoral process by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (JK1976 .S55 2013)
Publication Date: 2012-02-14
Debuting in its first edition, Let's Vote: The Essentials of the American Electoral Process, provides a timely account of the key features of the American electoral system. The text extends its coverage beyond parties-related topics to other election-centered issues, such as the role of the Internet in modern campaigning, the rise of new-style campaign consultants, the import of negative campaign advertising, and the rise of "new media."
Why Don't Americans Vote? causes and consequences by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation (JK1976 .W49 2016)
Publication Date: 2016-07-11
This timely book provides a thought-provoking discussion of issues that influence voter registration and turnout in contemporary America. * Provides readers with the historical context of registration and voting in the United States * Offers a broad overview of these issues today * Showcases the various ways federal and state governments have responded to low voter turnout * Helps readers make their own educated assessment of the concerns discussed
Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
America's News With unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
Nexis Uni Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business, and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context The premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.