Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for electric/hybrid vehicles research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
Electric Vehicle Technology Explained by
Publication Date: 2012-06-27
Fully updated throughout, Electric Vehicle Technology, Second Edition, is a complete guide to the principles, design and applications of electric vehicle technology. Including all the latest advances, it presents clear and comprehensive coverage of the major aspects of electric vehicle development and offers an engineering-based evaluation of electric motor scooters, cars, buses and trains.
Electric and Hybrid Vehicles by
Publication Date: 2014-02-18
An advanced level introductory book covering fundamental aspects, design and dynamics of electric and hybrid electric vehicles There is significant demand for an understanding of the fundamentals, technologies, and design of electric and hybrid electric vehicles and their components from researchers, engineers, and graduate students. Although there is a good body of work in the literature, there is still a great need for electric and hybrid vehicle teaching materials.
Battery Manufacturing and Electric and Hybrid Vehicles by
Publication Date: 2011-10-01
The United States is one of several countries encouraging production and sales of fully electric and plug-in hybrid vehicles to reduce oil consumption, air pollution and greenhouse gas emissions. This book considers efforts to strengthen US capacity to manufacture batteries and battery components for hybrid and electric vehicles.
Hybrid and Electric Cars by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven & Lakeland Circulation (TL220 .H894 2014)
Publication Date: 2014-08-08
This title explores the impact of Hybrid and Electric Cars on the environment and society. Features differing points of view on hybrid and electric cars, including whether or not they will reduce America's dependence on petroleum, whether they actually benefit the environment, and whether the government should subsidize them.
Clean Car Wars by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation (HD9710.J34 T62174513 2008)
Publication Date: 2008-05-16
As American automakers lose market share, Honda and Toyota are soaring on the backs of their high-quality low-emissions vehicles. The increasing trend toward clean car technology means those companies that can build the best low-emission car will have the best chance of long-term success and survival. Clean Car Wars presents a revealing look at the Japanese auto industry and how its two biggest automakers are battling each other, and the world, for supremacy of this vital emerging market.
Electric and Hybrid Cars by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation (TL220 .A53 2010)
Publication Date: 2010-04-06
This illustrated history chronicles electric and hybrid cars from the late 19th century to today's fuel cell and plug-in automobiles. It describes the politics, technology, marketing strategies, and environmental issues that have impacted electric and hybrid cars' research and development. The important marketing shift from a woman's car to going green is discussed. Milestone projects and technologies such as early batteries, hydrogen and bio-mass fuel cells, the upsurge of hybrid vehicles, and the various regulations and market forces that have shaped the industry are also covered.
Car Wars by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (TL220.F53 2015)
Publication Date: 2015-09-22
Starting with the early days of the electric car, Fialka documents the MIT/Caltech race between prototypes in the summer of 1968 and takes readers up to visionaries like Elon Musk and the upstart young Tesla Motors. Today, the electric has captured the imagination and pocketbooks of American consumers. Organisations like the US Department of Energy and the state of California, along with companies from the old-guard of General Motors and Toyota have embraced the once-extinct technology. The electric car has steadily gained traction in the US and around the world. We are watching the start of a trillion dollar, worldwide race to see who will dominate one of the biggest commercial upheavals of the 21st century.
Academic OneFile The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects.
Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
America's News With unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
GreenFILE This comprehensive resource draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.
Environmental Studies (Gale in Context) A new online resource that offers authoritative content on the development of emerging green technologies and discusses issues on the environment, sustainability and more.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context The premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.