Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for ethics related research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
Business Ethics by
Publication Date: 2014-02-10
Addresses a broad range of the most current, intriguing, often complex issues and cases in corporate morality. Provides impartial, point-counterpoint presentations of different perspectives on the most important and highly contended issues of business ethics. Case studies are included to reinforce student learning. Now contains mini-cases based on actual MBA student dilemmas
Business Ethics by
Publication Date: 2013-08-26
The second edition of Business Ethics introduces readers to key ethical issues that arise within the world of business, providing a strong theoretical foundation as well as real world applications. This new edition includes new sections on the financial services industry, globalization, and global economic justice. Newly commissioned essays address information technology, global economic justice and globalization, stakeholder theory, the corporation as an individual, and other topics. Cases have been updated to reflect current problems and issues Provides students with guidance and tools to write their own case study essays.
Business and Corporate Integrity: Sustaining Organizational Compliance, Ethics, and Trust by
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Offering insights from world-class scholars and a range of subject matter experts, this accessible, two-volume work defines the nature of corporate integrity and business ethics in the current climate of scandals and an increasingly skeptical public, allowing readers to fully understand the importance of the subject. In addition, it uniquely provides practical methods, tactics, and tools to effectively address issues of integrity in the organizational environment. This book identifies the key mindset and values that should guide decision making for business people every day.
Business Ethics: An Ethical Decision-Making Approach by
Publication Date: 2017-02-14
Business Ethics: An Ethical Decision-Making Approach presents a practical decision-making framework to aid in the identification, understanding, and resolution of complex ethical dilemmas in the workplace. Focuses exclusively on three basic aspects of ethical decision making and behavior--how it actually takes place, how it should take place, and how it can be improved. Uses real-life examples of moral temptations and personal ethical dilemmas faced by employees and managers.
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (BJ1025 .E825 2010)
Publication Date: 2010-07-16
Ch.1 Why should people behave ethically? Ch.2 What motivates people to behave ethically? Ch.3 Are modern biomedical practices ethical? Ch.4 Are ethics in business practices beneficial?
The Oxford Handbook of Business Ethics by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (HF5387 .O95 2012)
Publication Date: 2012-04-01
Business ethics raises many important philosophical issues. A first set of issues concerns the methodology of business ethics. What is the role of ethical theory in business ethics? To what extent, if at all, can thinking in business ethics be enhanced by philosophy, so as to provide realmoral guidance? Another set of issues involves questions regarding markets, capitalism, and economic justice. The Oxford Handbook of Business Ethics is a comprehensive treatment of the field of business ethics as seen from a philosophical approach. This book is intended to provide an overview of the state of the field of philosophical business ethics.
Behaving Badly : the new morality in politics, sex, and business by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation (BJ320 .C65 2017)
Publication Date: 2017-04-04
What is the relevance of morality today? Eden Collinsworth enlists the famous, the infamous, and the heretofore unheard-of to unravel how we make moral choices in an increasingly complex--and ethically flexible--age. To call these unsettling times is an understatement: our political leaders are less and less respectab≤ in the realm of business, cheating, lying, and stealing are hazily defined; and in daily life, rapidly changing technology offers permission to act in ways inconceivable without it.
Understanding Business Ethics by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (HF5387 .S675 2014)
Publication Date: 2013-02-20
Packed with real-world examples and cases, this new edition of Understanding Business Ethics prepares students for the ethical dilemmas they may face in their chosen careers by providing broad, comprehensive coverage of business ethics from a global perspective. The book's 26 cases profile a variety of industries, countries, and ethical issues, including online privacy, music piracy, Ponzi schemes, fraud, product recall, insider trading, and dangerous working conditions, such as four cases that emphasize the positive aspects of business ethics.
Business Insights: Essentials Resource that brings together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies, and periodicals. Find detailed company and industry news and information.
Business Source Complete Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the ultimate collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the most-cited authors in the database. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Complete is the overwhelmingly superior database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Hoovers Premium Hoover's Pro offers in-depth financial comparisons and analysis as well as the ability to input specific search criteria to generate a customized, highly-targeted list of companies or people. Deepen existing customer relationships, not to mention target and forge new ones.
Regional Business News Provides ultimate coverage for full-text business publications, on a regional level, for the United States and Canada. Key resources include newspapers, radio and television news transcripts, trade publications, magazines and newswires with full-text content spanning more than 22 years.
Entrepreneurship (Gale Business) This comprehensive database covers all major areas of starting, operating and maintaining a business from financing, management, marketing, human resources, franchising, accounting, taxes and more.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. Your borrower ID is your student ID number (no dashes). Your pin/password is the last four digits of your student ID number.