Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for Everglades research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
Publication Date: 2011-06-01
Little in North America is wilder than the Florida Everglades--a landscape of frightening reptiles, exotic plants in profusion, swarms of mosquitoes, and unforgiving heat. And yet, even from the early days of taming the wilderness with clearing and drainage, the Everglades has been considered fragile, unique, and in need of restorative interventions. Drawing on a decade of fieldwork with hunters in the Everglades, Laura A. Ogden explores the lives and labors of people, animals, and plants in this most delicate and tenacious ecosystem. Today, the many visions of the Everglades--protectionist, ecological, commercial, historical--have become a tangled web of contradictory practices and politics for conservation and for development. Yet within this entanglement, the place of people remains highly ambivalent. It is the role of people in the Everglades that interests Ogden, as she seeks to reclaim the landscape's long history as a place of human activity and, in doing so, discover what it means to be human through changing relations with other animals and plant life. Ogden tells this story through the lives of poor rural whites, gladesmen, epitomized in tales of the Everglades' most famous outlaws, the Ashley Gang. With such legends and lore on one side, and outsized efforts at drainage and development on the other, Swamplife strikes a rare balance, offering a unique insight into the hidden life of the Everglades--and into how an appreciation of oppositional culture and social class operates in our understanding of wilderness in the United States.
Everglades Wildflowers by
Publication Date: 2015-01-06
The Everglades region is a mosaic of interconnected ecosystems where a slight elevation change can lead you from dry, rocky pinelands and shady hardwood hammocks to flooded grassy prairies and deep, mysterious swamps. Fascinating wildflowers abound in every habitat. This full-color, expanded second edition contains beautiful photos, easy-to-understand descriptions, and interesting facts about 362 wildflowers that inhabit this picturesque region.
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation -- F317.E9S76 2014
Publication Date: 2014-10-14
From Lake Okeechobee to Florida Bay, from inside the bone-crushing jaws of an alligator to the storms that race across the blackwater backcountry, award-winning conservation photographer Mac Stone takes us on a visual journey through the Everglades. More than 200 striking photographs showcase the natural beauty of this unique wetland, capturing the amazing depths of its landscapes, the diversity of its wildlife, and the resilience of the largest subtropical wilderness in the United States. Aerial views highlight the vast expanse of the River of Grass. Underwater images capture the endless wonders of the Everglades, including sharks darting through mangrove roots. Intimate close-ups showcase awe-inspiring flora and fauna such as the ghost orchid, the Florida panther, the endangered Everglades snail kite, roseate spoonbills, and, of course, the majestic American alligator. As a biologist for the National Audubon Society, Stone traveled to the most remote areas of the Everglades to collect these images. With his camera, he explored Everglades National Park, Corkscrew Swamp, Fisheating Creek, and dozens of sites that few are permitted to visit. His stunning photographs capture the innumerable facets of this ecological marvel while speaking to the importance of wilderness conservation and the need to protect these amazingly wild wetlands. In a special foreword, Michael Grunwald introduces readers to a short history of the Everglades, from the immense amount of developing and restructuring it has endured to a discussion of the dangers inherent to destroying such an important ecosystem. Grunwald breaks down just how crucial Everglades restoration is, not only for Florida but as a litmus test for other watersheds around the world.
An Ecotourist's Guide to the Everglades and the Florida Keys by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation -- F317.E9S54 2016
Publication Date: 2016-04-12
Packed with adventure and a local's expert advice, this guide is essential reading for a fun-filled trip through the world's most famous wetland, the Everglades, and the spectacular marine environment of the 130-mile island chain formed by the Florida Keys. From the Ten Thousand Islands to Big Cypress, the Everglades, and the Florida Keys, Silk stops through alluring locales, such as a mysterious Coral Castle in the Redland/Homestead area, and the exceptional waterside campgrounds of Biscayne National Park. Silk's tour of the region even features an eerie Cold War-era missile base deep in Everglades National Park. Awe-inspiring boardwalks, paddles through mangroves, dives to imperiled reefs, a ride on the famous African Queen boat from the eponymous Bogart and Hepburn movie, and a sampling of the scenic and quirky attraction of Key West complete Silk's journey. Along the way, the reader will learn about local history and culture and discover some of the eclectic, locally owned restaurants, watering holes, and attractions that possess the charming Old Florida character.
A Paddler's Guide to Everglades National Park by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation -- GV776.F62E937 2015
Publication Date: 2015-04-14
Whether forging uncharted territory or slipping along marked canoe trails, Molloy guides readers through more than 400 miles of creeks, bays, marshes, and the Gulf of Mexico. This indispensable reference has been comprehensively updated, and now includes GPS coordinates and twelve new paddle routes.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowThe premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
America's News This link opens in a new windowWith unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowThis comprehensive resource draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.
Environmental Studies (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new windowA new online resource that offers authoritative content on the development of emerging green technologies and discusses issues on the environment, sustainability and more.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowThe premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.