Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for genetic screening research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
To Test or Not to Test by
Publication Date: 2008-09-29
Tests are a standard part of modern medicine. We willingly screen our blood, urine, vision, and hearing, and submit to a host of other exams with names so complicated that we can only refer to them by their initials: PET, ECG, CT, and MRI. Genetic tests of our risks for disease are the latest trend in medicine, touted as an approach to informed and targeted treatment. They offer hope for some, but also raise medical, ethical, and psychological concerns for many including when genetic information is worth having. To Test or Not to Test arms readers with questions that should be considered before they pursue genetic screening.
The Gale encyclopedia of genetic disorders by
Publication Date: 2016
Provides clear, complete information on genetic disorders, including conditions, tests, procedures, treatments and therapies, in articles that are both comprehensive and easy to understand in language accessible to laypersons.
Prenatal Tests and Ultrasound by
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
You've discovered that you or someone you care about is pregnant. After that initial rush of excitement, you start to have a lot of questions. Is the baby healthy? Is he or she growing well? From the moment a woman suspects that she is pregnant, the testing begins, and so do the questions. Can she trust the home pregnancy test kits? When is it time to go to the doctor or midwife? After coming to terms with the fact that pregnancy has occurred, the next step is oftento worry about whether everything is progressing normally.With this book, expectant parents will find a clear timeline and explanation of all the tests they can expect to receive at each stage of pregnancy, as well as how and why they are performed, and the risks involved. This book clarifies the pros and cons of each type of test, enabling parents to choose the testing options with which they are most comfortable. It does this in a positive, factual way so as not to exacerbate fears or implant worries in parents' minds of all the worst-casescenarios. Prenatal Tests and Ultrasound: The Facts is an invaluable source of information for expectant parents and their friends and families, and will also be of interest to professionals in general practice, obstetrics and gynaecology, and midwifery.
Heredity and Hope by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (RB155.65 .C69 2008 )
Publication Date: 2008-05-20
The secrets locked in our genes are being revealed, and we find ourselves both enthused and frightened about what that portends. We look forward to curing disease and alleviating suffering"for our children as well as for ourselves"but we also worry about delving too deeply into the double helix. Abuses perpetrated by eugenicists"from involuntary sterilization to murder"continue to taint our feelings about genetic screening. Yet, as Ruth Schwartz Cowan reveals, modern genetic screening has been practiced since 1960, benefiting millions of women and children all over the world. She persuasively argues that new forms of screening"prenatal, newborn, and carrier testing"are both morally right and politically acceptable. Medical genetics, built on the desire of parents and physicians to reduce suffering and increase personal freedom, not on the desire to improve the human race is in fact an entirely different enterprise from eugenics.
The Age of Genomes by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (RB155 .L56 2016 )
Publication Date: 2016-05-17
A leading geneticist explores what promises to be one of the most transformative advances in health and medicine in history Almost every week, another exciting headline appears about new advances in the field of genetics. Genetic testing is experiencing the kind of exponential growth once seen with the birth of the Internet, while the plummeting cost of DNA sequencing makes it increasingly accessible for individuals and families. Steven Lipkin and Jon Luoma posit that today's genomics is like the last century's nuclear physics: a powerful tool for good if used correctly, but potentially dangerous nonetheless. DNA testing is likely the most exciting advance in a long time for treating serious disease, but sequencing errors, complex biology, and problems properly interpreting genetic data can also cause life-threatening misdiagnoses of patients with debilitating and fatal genetic diseases.
Waiting for Cancer to Come: women's experiences with genetic testing and medical decision making for breast and ovarian cancer by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation (RC280.B8 H47 2014)
Publication Date: 2014-07-28
Waiting for Cancer to Come tells the stories of women who are struggling with their high risk for cancer. Based on interviews and surveys of dozens of women, this book pieces together the diverse yet interlocking experiences of women who have tested positive for the BRCA 1/2 gene mutations, which indicate a higher risk of developing breast and ovarian cancer. Sharlene Hesse-Biber brings these narratives to light and follows women’s journeys from deciding to get screened for BRCA, to learning the test has come back positive, to dealing with their risk. Many women already know the challenges of a family history riddled with cancer and now find themselves with the devastating knowledge of their own genetic risk. Using the voices of the women themselves to describe the under-explored BRCA experience, Waiting for Cancer to Come looks at the varied emotional, social, economic, and psychological factors at play in women’s decisions about testing and cancer prevention.
Health Reference Center Academic Contains up-to-date information on a complete range of health care topics. This database includes full-text periodicals, reference books, and pamphlets, as well as hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context The premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Health and Wellness Resource Center This comprehensive consumer health resource, provides accurate, authoritative information on a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative and complementary medical practices. Designed for researchers at all levels, its intuitive interface provides multiple pathways to information including alternative medicine.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.