Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for genocide research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
Hidden Genocides by
Publication Date: 2013-12-18
Why are some genocides prominently remembered while others are ignored, hidden, or denied? Consider the Turkish campaign denying the Armenian genocide, followed by the Armenian movement to recognize the violence. Similar movements are building to acknowledge other genocides that have long remained out of sight in the media, such as those against the Circassians, Greeks, Assyrians, the indigenous peoples in the Americas and Australia, and the violence that was the precursor to and the aftermath of the Holocaust. The contributors to this collection look at these cases and others from a variety of perspectives. These essays cover the extent to which our biases, our ways of knowing, our patterns of definition, our assumptions about truth, and our processes of remembering and forgetting as well as the characteristics of generational transmission, the structures of power and state ideology, and diaspora have played a role in hiding some events and not others. Noteworthy among the collection's coverage is whether the trade in African slaves was a form of genocide and a discussion not only of Hutus brutalizing Tutsi victims in Rwanda, but of the execution of moderate Hutus as well.
Genocide: A Comprehensive Introduction by
Publication Date: 2006-07-25
An invaluable introduction to the subject of genocide, explainingnbsp;its history from pre-modern times to the present day, with a wide variety of case studies. Recent events in the former Yugoslavia, Rwanda, East Timor and Iraq have demonstrated with appalling clarity that the threat of genocide is still a major issue within world politics. The book examines the differing interpretations of genocide from psychology, sociology, anthropology and political science and analyzes the influence of race, ethnicity, nationalism and gender on genocides. In the final section, the author examines how we punish those responsible for waging genocide and how the international community can prevent further bloodshed.
Genocide: A Reference Handbook by
Publication Date: 2010-11-18
This book presents the background and history of genocide, the key issues associated with this worldwide crime, and the problems inherent in preventing its occurrence. * Provides a chronological timeline of genocide from 1900 to present day * Includes related content such as brief biographies of major 20th century leaders accused of genocide, bilateral immunity agreements involving the United States from 2003 to 2009, and a directory of organizations that have worked to prevent or end genocide * Addresses key issues such as the motivations for genocide; the perpetrators, victims, and bystanders; and the eight stages of genocide * Contains an annotative bibliography of print and nonprint resources
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (HV6322.7 .G447 2014)
Publication Date: 2014-01-23
This Reader lays the foundation for improved explanation and understanding of genocide. Meierhenrich provides an introduction to the myriad dimensions of this darkest of human phenomena, and to the various ways of making sense of it - from autobiographical remembering to journalistic reporting to theoretical reasoning. This volume assembles some 150 readings, selected for their ability to shed light on one of nine distinct themes in the study of genocide. The readings look at genocides all over the world in different periods of history, and attempt to understand different definitions ofgenocide. From the Irish Potato Famine to the decimation of Australian indigenous peoples to the Holocaust, Meierhenrich provides a variety of illuminating perspectives on how people commit, experience, and remember genocide.
Blood and Soil by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (HV6322.7 .K54 2007)
Publication Date: 2007-09-25
This book examines outbreaks of mass violence from the classical era to the present, focusing on worldwide colonial exterminations and twentieth-century case studies including the Armenian genocide, the Nazi Holocaust, Stalin's mass murders, and the Cambodian and Rwandan genocides. Kiernan identifies connections, patterns, and features that in nearly every case gave early warning of the catastrophe to come: racism or religious prejudice, territorial expansionism, and cults of antiquity and agrarianism. The ideologies that have motivated perpetrators of mass killings in the past persist in our new century, says Kiernan. He urges that we heed the rich historical evidence with its telltale signs for predicting and preventing future genocides.
East West Street by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation (KZ7180 .S25 2016)
Publication Date: 2016-05-24
A moving personal detective story, an uncovering of secret pasts, and a book that explores the creation and development of world-changing legal concepts that came about as a result of the unprecedented atrocities of Hitler''s Third Reich. East West Street looks at the personal and intellectual evolution of the two men who simultaneously originated the ideas of "genocide" and "crimes against humanity," both of whom, not knowing the other, studied at the same university with the same professors, in a city little known today that was a major cultural center of Europe, "the little Paris of Ukraine," a city variously called Lemberg. A book that changes the way we look at the world, at our understanding of history and how civilization has tried to cope with mass murder.
Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
America's News With unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
Nexis Uni Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business, and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context The premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.