Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for hate crimes related research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
Hate Groups: A Reference Handbook by
Publication Date: 2021-08-02
Hate Groups: A Reference Handbook covers the topic of hate groups from the earliest pages of human history to the present day. Chapters One and Two provide a historical background of the topic and a review of current problems, controversies, and solutions. The remainder of the book consists of chapters that aid readers in continuing their research on the topic, such as an extended annotated bibliography, a chronology, a glossary, lists of noteworthy individuals and organizations in the field, and important data and documents. The variety of resources provided, such as further reading, perspective essays about hate groups, a historical timeline, and useful terms in the field, differentiates this book from others of its kind. It is intended for readers of high school through the community college level, along with adult readers who may be interested in the topic.
Indoctrination to Hate: Recruitment Techniques of Hate Groups and How to Stop Them by
Publication Date: 2022-02-15
This book details the solicitation and indoctrination of members into extremist hate groups. Using theoretical, empirical, and field studies, experts explain the psychological processes of bias formation, hate identity, and the stages of extremism, and detail first-person accounts of hate group membership and critical incidents of hate violence. Contributors draw significantly upon the current wave of reactionary political and racial intolerance witnessed in the United States and Europe in addressing specific groups and forms of hate extremism as found across different cultural and geographic regions. A statistically based analysis of how hate and ideology each contribute to political extremism accompanies the text and provides a long-term perspective of hate-based lifestyles. The book also offers a neuroscientific explanation of hate ideology as a psychological problem presenting a unique perspective, and a discussion of the interplay of governments and stakeholders in the untangling of the legal issues of hate crimes and of domestic and international terrorism. This text will be useful for students, researchers, and professionals in the social and behavioral sciences, law enforcement, criminal justice, and political science.
White Nationalists: Who Are They and What Do They Believe? by
Publication Date: 2019-07-30
In August of 2017, a group of torch-bearing white nationalists marched in Charlottesville, Virginia as part of the "Unite the Right" rally. Confronted by hundreds of counter-protesters, the gathering soon turned violent, resulting in the death of a young woman. The Charlottesville riots vaulted the presence of white nationalists to national attention. However, the white nationalist movement has been a growing force in American culture for decades. The articles in this book speak to the origins, beliefs, and growing cultural impact of white nationalists on politics, civic life, and media. Features such as media literacy terms and questions deepen readers' understanding of the reporting styles and devices used to cover the topic.
Hateland: A Long, Hard Look at America's Extremist Heart by
Publication Date: 2019-06-18
A former Department of Homeland Security analyst takes a long view on the domestic terrorism threat from radicalized individuals and hate groups of various ideologies. America is a land in which extremism no longer belongs to the country's shadowy fringes, but comfortably exists in the national mainstream. That is the alarming conclusion by intelligence analyst Daryl Johnson, an expert on domestic extremism with more than twenty-five years of experience tracking radicalized groups for the US government. In this book, Johnson dissects the rapidly expanding forms of American hatred and radicalization, including white nationalists, antigovernment militias, antifascists (Antifa), militant black nationalists, and extremist Islamic groups. The author develops a concise model that explains how extremists on both the far right and the far left use the same techniques to recruit and to radicalize individuals, turning them into violent offenders. He also examines the political forces that fuel this threat and have kept the US government from properly identifying and developing countermeasures to deal with it, including a disproportional emphasis on Islamic terrorism. Johnson concludes by recounting individual stories of deradicalization, each of which was the result of personal reevaluations of formerly held extremist convictions. He recommends more resources at the state and federal levels for combatting radical movements and urges greater communication and coordination between law enforcement agencies. This in-depth analysis of a growing menace that has taken America hostage throws a stark light on the darkest segments of American society and provides practical means for dealing with their violent threats.
Alt-Right: From 4chan to the White House by
Call Number: Lakeland Circulation; JC573.2.U6 W45 2018
Publication Date: 2018-04-20
This book is a vital guide to understanding the Alt-Right - the white nationalist, anti-feminist, far-right movement that rose to prominence during Donald Trump's successful election campaign in the United States. It looks at the support for this reactionary network, arguing that while Trump is in office and the far-right grows across Europe, we need to gain a deeper understanding of the movement's philosophy, history and role in politics today.While the movement appears to have burst out of nowhere, Mike Wendling has been tracking the Alt-Right for years. He reveals the role of technological utopians, reactionary philosophers, the notorious 4chan and 8chan bulletin boards, and a range of bloggers, vloggers and tweeters, along with the extreme ideas which underpin the movement's thought.Including exclusive interviews with members of the movement and evidence linking extremists with terror attacks and hate crimes, it is clear that despite its high-profile support, the movement's lack of a coherent base and its contradictory tendencies have already started to lead to its downfall.
The Alt-Right: What Everyone Needs to Know by
Call Number: Lakeland Circulation; E184.A1 H39 2019
Publication Date: 2018-12-05
In recent years, the so-called Alt-Right, a white nationalist movement, has grown at an alarming rate. Taking advantage of high levels of racial polarization, the Alt-Right seeks to normalize explicit white identity politics. Growing from a marginalized and disorganized group of Internet trolls and propagandists, the Alt-Right became one of the major news stories of the 2016 presidential election, and exploded into public consciousness after its march through Charlottesville in summer 2017. Discussions of the Alt-Right are now a regular part of political discourse in the United States and beyond. In The Alt-Right: What Everyone Needs to Know®, George Hawley, one of the world's leading experts on the conservative movement and right-wing radicalism, provides a clear explanation of the ideas, tactics, history, and prominent figures of one of the most disturbing movements in America today. Although it presents itself as a new phenomenon, the Alt-Right is just the latest iteration of a longstanding radical right-wing political tradition. Throughout, Hawley discusses the other primary ideological influences on the Alt-Right: libertarianism, paleoconservatism, neo-reaction, and the Men's Rights Movement. The Alt-Right represents a genuine challenge to pluralistic liberal democracy, but its size and influence are often exaggerated. Whether intentionally or not, President Donald Trump energized the Alt-Right in 2016, yet conflating Trump's variety of right-wing politics with the Alt-Right causes many observers to both overestimate the Alt-Right's size and downplay its radicalism. Hawley provides a tour of the contemporary radical right, and explains how it differs from more mainstream varieties of conservatism. Dispassionate and accessible, this is an essential overview for anyone seeking to understand to this disruptive and dangerous political movement.
Hate Groups by
Call Number: Winter Haven and Lakeland Circulation; HV6773.52 .H368 2022
Publication Date: 2021-07-30
Hate groups undeniably have a negative connotation, but through examining the issues related to hate groups it becomes clear that the topic is much more complicated than it may initially appear. This volume examines how hate groups are defined, who gets to label certain groups as hate groups, the legal standing of these groups, and what can be done to stop them. Answers to these questions among various others are presented through a wide range of perspectives, helping readers better understand this commonly oversimplified and controversial issue.
The Second Coming of the KKK: He KU Klux Klan of the 1920S and the American Political Tradition by
Call Number: Lakeland Circulation; HS2330.K63 G63 2017
Publication Date: 2017-10-24
Extraordinary national acclaim accompanied the publication of award-winning historian Linda Gordon's disturbing and markedly timely history of the reassembled Ku Klux Klan of the 1920s. Dramatically challenging our preconceptions of the hooded Klansmen responsible for establishing a Jim Crow racial hierarchy in the 1870s South, this "second Klan" spread in states principally above the Mason-Dixon line by courting xenophobic fears surrounding the flood of immigrant "hordes" landing on American shores. "Part cautionary tale, part expose" (Washington Post), The Second Coming of the KKK "illuminates the surprising scope of the movement" (The New Yorker); the Klan attracted four-to-six-million members through secret rituals, manufactured news stories, and mass "Klonvocations" prior to its collapse in 1926?but not before its potent ideology of intolerance became part and parcel of the American tradition. A "must-read" (Salon) for anyone looking to understand the current moment, The Second Coming of the KKK offers "chilling comparisons to the present day" (New York Review of Books). 8 pages of illustrations
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
America's News This link opens in a new window
With unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
Criminal Justice This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide variety of criminal justice topics, including corrections administration, law enforcement, social work, industrial security, drug rehabilitation, and criminal and family law.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive database includes full text and bibliographic records of leading journals in the criminal justice field. Covering a wide range of topics, it is an essential collection for students and scholars researching criminal justice and criminology.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
The premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.