Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for gender and health research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
Women's Health Concerns Sourcebook by
Publication Date: 2013-08-19
Statistics indicate that, on average, women live about five years longer than men, but, because they live longer, women are at greater risk for age-related conditions like Alzheimer disease. They also experience gender-related health care needs and are more likely than men to have certain other disorders. Women's Health Concerns Sourcebook, 4th Edition, explains female anatomy; reports on women's health and wellness issues; and discusses breast health, sexual and reproductive issues, conditions that disproportionately affect women, and the leading causes of death and disability in women, including heart disease, stroke, and diabetes.
Concepts in Male Health by
Publication Date: 2011-12-07
Concepts in Male Health: Perspectives Across the Lifespan offers a practical approach to understanding the health of males of all races, ethnicities, socioeconomic status, cultures, ages, and orientations. Each chapter of this book comprehensively reviews an important dimension of male health and examines the contributing historical, epidemiological, psychosocial, cultural-ethical, legal, political, and economic influences. The diverse range of topics allows for complete coverage ranging from body structures and sexuality to aggression and occupational health.
Women's Health Psychology by
Publication Date: 2013-01-11
Women's Health Psychology is the first comprehensive collection ever published to consider the developmental, reproductive, and sociocultural contexts of health decision-making and behavior for women. Covers multiple topics including: history of women's healthcare, employment and women's health, and the effects of intimate partner violence, smoking, alcohol, eating disorders, and sleep, premenstrual dysphoric disorder, the stress of infertility, psychiatric symptoms and pregnancy, and menopause, women's responses to disability, experiencing cancer, the psychology of Irritable Bowel Syndrome, and rheumatic, heart, and Alzheimer's diseases.
Integrative Women's Health by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (RA778 .W773 2010 )
Publication Date: 2010-02-26
As the largest group of healthcare consumers, women demand a broader, more integrative approach to their care, and this title meets that demand. While other books aimed at general audiences are commonplace, this is the first in-depth, wide-reaching reference on integrative women's health,written for both health-care professionals and general audiences. Not only does this title help providers address women's reproductive health, but it also explores conditions that manifest themselves differently in women than in men, such as, cardiovascular disease, arthritis, HIV, depression, andcancer. The book presents the best evidence - in a clinically relevant manner - for the safe and effective use of herbs, vitamins, diet, and mind-body strategies not usually taught in mainstream medicine, as well as conventional medical treatments.
Women's Global Health by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation (RA564.85 .W628 2014 )
Publication Date: 2015-08-25
For many women around the globe, health has become the central intersection of the personal and the political; women's bodies are the arena for policy debates about population, poverty, reproduction, and morality.Women's Global Health: Norms and State Policies is a comprehensive assessment of health for women around the globe that will inform debates underway in a wide range of disciplines. These fields include public health, most obviously, but also sociology, anthropology and other disciplines. This book will advance the interdisciplinary fields of ethics, women s studies, and international studies. This book also examines the current and historical responsibilities of the state in addressing women s health issues, and how these responsibilities can they be measured and improved upon. Finally, the book looks at how to best approach the underlying ethical issues in practical and useful ways for women around the globe."
Gender Medicine by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (RB212 .G54 2016)
Publication Date: 2016-07-26
Over millions of years, male and female bodies developed crucial physiological differences to improve the chances for human survival and they go well beyond the obvious sexual and reproductive variances. Men and women differ in terms of digestion, which affects the way medications are absorbed, sensitivity to pain is dependent on gender, even the symptoms of a heart attack manifest differently in a man than in a woman. And yet the medical establishment largely treats male and female patients as though their needs are identical. In fact, medical research is still done predominately on men, and the results are then applied to the treatment of women. This is clearly problematic and calls for a paradigm change.
Academic OneFile The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects.
America's News With unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
Expanded Academic ASAP Resources for research across academic disciplines, offering in-depth coverage of
virtually any concentration from advertising, psychology and history to microbiology, the humanities and womens studies.
Gale in Context: Global Issues Offers global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events and topics in the news related to these issues. Not a pro and con database, Global Issues in Context ties together a variety of sources to present a rich analysis of issues social, political, military, economic, environmental, science related, health related, cultural and headlines in world hot spots. It provides information seekers with a framework to better understand 21st-century issues and events while highlighting global connections and the interdependence of all nations.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context The premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.