Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for heart disease research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
Caring for the Heart: Mayo Clinic and the Rise of Specialization by
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
This groundbreaking book weaves together three important themes. It describes major developments in the diagnosis and treatment of heart disease in the twentieth century, explains how the Mayo Clinic evolved from a family practice in Minnesota into one of the world's leading medical centers, and reveals how the invention of new technologies and procedures promoted specialization among physicians and surgeons.Caring for the Heart is written for general readers as well as health care professionals, historians, and policy analysts. Unlike traditional institutional or disease-focused histories, this book places individuals and events in national and international contexts that emphasize the interplay of medical, scientific, technological, social, political, and economic forces that have resulted in contemporary heart care. Patient stories and media perspectives are included throughout to help general readers understand the medical and technological developments that are described.The book is a synthetic study, but it is written so that readers may pick and choose the chapters of most interest to them. Another feature of the book is that readers may follow the stories without looking at the notes. Those who are interested in delving deeper into the main topics will find a wealth of carefully chosen references that offer greater detail and additional perspectives. The descriptions and interpretations that fill the book benefit from the fact that the author has been a practicing cardiologist and medical historian for almost four decades.This is mainly a twentieth-century story, but it begins earlier--before there were physicians who were identified as cardiologists and at a time when medical specialization was just emerging in America. The final chapter, which addresses present-day concerns about health care costs, counterbalances earlier ones that might be read as celebrations of new technologies.
The Encyclopedia of the Heart and Heart Disease by
Publication Date: 2010-11-01
Each year, more than half a million people die from heart disease. Not only is it the leading cause of death in the United States, it is also a major cause of disability. The American Heart Association estimates that more than 80 million people in the United States suffer from some form of cardiovascular disease, such as angina, heart attack, high blood pressure, or stroke. The Encyclopedia of the Heart and Heart Disease, Second Edition examines the function of the heart and the cardiovascular system and the major diseases and disorders that impact their health. This revised book discusses how to recognize the signs and symptoms of heart disease and how heart disease is diagnosed and treated. The causes and factors that contribute to heart disease are explained as well as preventive measures and steps to live a heart-healthy lifestyle.
Heart Disease by
Publication Date: 2012-06-01
Written by a past president of the Boston Chapter of the American Heart Association, "Heart Disease" is a comprehensive account of the leading cause of death in the West. Sequential chapters describe the structure and function of the heart, the various disease states, and the treatments for each major disease. In addition, the book examines the vast array of diagnostic tests and the most advanced treatments available, from basic drugs for prevention such as aspirin to transplants and artificial hearts.
Congenital Heart Disease by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation (RC687 .C667 2015 )
Publication Date: 2015-06-02
This new book reviews the latest advances in the embryology, genetics, diagnosis, imaging, and therapy of congenital heart disease. This publication arrives at a very exciting time when new genetic, imaging, and therapeutic developments are changing the field. It is relevant to pediatricians, internal medicine specialists, medical geneticists, both pediatric and adult cardiologists, embryologists, imaging physicians, and cardiac surgeons. The reader is taken on a journey that begins with a historical overview of congenital cardiovascular anomalies and ends with developments in stem cell and tissue engineering. In between are chapters on cardiac embryogenesis; epidemiology; genetic syndromes associated with cardiovascular anomalies; single gene disorders; cardiac imaging; surgical and interventional therapies; and ethical considerations.
CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2019 by
Call Number: Lakeland Reference REF RC71 .C87 2019
Publication Date: 2018-09-07
Written by clinicians renowned in their respective fields, CMDT offers the most current insight into epidemiology, symptoms, signs, and treatment for more than 1,000 diseases and disorders. For each topic, you'll find concise, evidence-based answers to questions about hospital and ambulatory medicine. This streamlined clinical companion is the fastest and easiest way to keep abreast of the latest diagnostic advances, prevention strategies, and cost-effective treatments.
Heart Disease by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation (RC672 .D47 2013 )
Publication Date: 2013-01-24
Written by a past president of the Boston Chapter of the American Heart Association, Heart Disease is a comprehensive account of the leading cause of death in the West. Sequential chapters describe the structure and function of the heart, the various disease states, and the treatments for each major disease. In addition, the book examines the vast array of diagnostic tests and the most advanced treatments available, from basic drugs for prevention such as aspirin to transplants and artificial hearts.
A Woman's Guide to Living with Heart Disease by
Call Number: Lakeland Circulation RC682 .T53 2017
Publication Date: 2017-11-28
The daily challenges of living--and coping--with a chronic and progressive invisible illness. Heart disease is the leading cause of death for women worldwide. Yet most people are still unaware that heart disease is not just a man's problem. Carolyn Thomas, a heart attack survivor herself, is on a mission to educate women about their heart health. Based on her popular Heart Sisters blog, which has attracted more than 10 million views from readers in 190 countries, A Woman's Guide to Living with Heart Disease combines personal experience and medical knowledge to help women learn how to understand and manage a catastrophic diagnosis. In A Woman's Guide to Living with Heart Disease, Thomas explains * how to recognize the early signs of a heart attack * why women often delay seeking treatment--and how to overcome that impulse * the link between pregnancy complications and future heart disease * why so many women with heart disease are misdiagnosed--and how to help yourself get an accurate diagnosis * the importance of cardiac rehabilitation in lowering mortality risk * what to expect during your recovery from a heart attack * how the surreal process of coping with heart disease may affect your daily life * methods for treating heart disease-related depression without drugs Equal parts memoir about a misdiagnosed heart attack, guide to the predictable stages of heart disease--from grief to resilience--and patient-friendly translation of important science-based findings on women's unique heart issues, this book is an essential read. Whether you're a freshly diagnosed patient, a woman who's been living with heart disease for years, or a practitioner who cares about women's health, A Woman's Guide to Living with Heart Disease will help you feel less alone and advocate for better health care.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Gale Health & Wellness This link opens in a new windowThis comprehensive consumer health resource, provides accurate, authoritative information on a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative and complementary medical practices. Designed for researchers at all levels, its intuitive interface provides multiple pathways to information including alternative medicine.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowThe premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.