LibGuides: Home Automation: Home

eBooks/Books

eBooks
Books

Arduino Home Automation Projects: automate your home using the powerful Arduino platform by Marco Schwartz
ISBN: 9781783986071
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
This book is divided into projects that are explained in a step-by-step format, with practical instructions that are easy to follow. If you want to build your own home automation systems wirelessly using the Arduino platform, this is the book for you. You will need to have some basic experience in Arduino and general programming languages, such as C and C++ to understand the projects in this book. Topics include: building wireless XBee motion detectors, controlling lights from your phone or tablet, measuring the temperature using bluetooth, monitoring your energy consumption in the cloud, hacking a commercial home automation device, and building your own home automation system.
Beaglebone Home Automation by Juha Lumme
ISBN: 9781783285747
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
An easy-to-follow guide full of hands-on examples to help transform your house into a standalone home automation solution.If you are looking for ways to create a highly capable home automation system that is easily extendable and highly configurable, then this book is for you. Basic knowledge of electronics and programming in Python and/or Java languages will be helpful, but not mandatory.
Household Service Robotics by Yangsheng Xu; Huihuan Qian; Xinyu Wu
ISBN: 0128009438
Publication Date: 2014-12-05
Household Service Robotics is a collection of the latest technological advances in household service robotics in five main areas: robot systems, manipulation, navigation, object recognition, and human-robot interaction. The book enables readers to understand development s and apply them to their own working areas, including: Robotic technologies for assisted living and elderly care Domestic cleaning automation Household surveillance Guiding systems for public spaces Service robotics is a highly multidisciplinary field, requiring a holistic approach. This handbook provides insights to the disciplines involved in the field as well as advanced methods and techniques that enable the scale-up of theory to actual systems. It includes coverage of functionalities such as vision systems, location control, and HCI, which are important in domestic settings. Provides a single source collection of the latest development in domestic robotic systems and control Covers vision systems, location control, and HCI, important in domestic settings Focuses on algorithms for object recognition, manipulation, human-robot interaction, and navigation for household robotics
Raspberry Pi Home Automation with Arduino by Andrew K. Dennis
ISBN: 9781849695879
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Raspberry Pi Home Automation with Arduino is an easy-to-follow yet comprehensive guide for automating your home using the revolutionary ARM GNU/Linux board.Even if you have no prior experience with the Raspberry Pi or home automation you can pick up this book and develop these amazing projects. Full of detailed step-by-step instructions, diagrams, and images this essential guide allows you to revolutionize the way you interact with your home. If you don't know where to start, then this is the perfect book for you.

Annual Editions: Technologies, Social Media, and Society by Elizabeth Friedman; Daniel Mittleman
ISBN: 9781259873430
Publication Date: 2017-01-13
The Annual Editions series is designed to provide convenient inexpensive access to a wide range of current articles from some of the most respected magazines, newspapers and journals published today. Annual Editions are updated on a regular basis through a continuous monitoring of over 300 periodical sources. The articles selected are authored by prominent scholars, researchers, and commentators writing for a general audience. Each Annual Editions volume has a number of features designed to make them especially valuable for classroom use; including a brief overview for each unit, as well as Learning Outcomes, Critical Thinking questions, and Internet References to accompany each article.
Creative Projects with Raspberry Pi by Kirsten Kearney; Will Freeman
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (QA76.8.R15K43 2017)
ISBN: 9781419725005
Publication Date: 2017-09-05
The Raspberry Pi is a little circuit-board computer that was designed to be simple and cheap enough for anyone to use to learn basic programming. With the Pi, both kids and adults can learn basic coding skills and build robots, smart objects, and other intriguing and useful things, from motion-activated cameras to talking toys to weather stations to dog-food dispensers. Creative Projects with Raspberry Pi is a practical and inspiring introduction to making things with Raspberry Pi. It presents 35 projects, carefully selected to give readers an overview of the different kinds of things that the Pi can be made to do. It offers clear instructions, web links that give access to necessary computer code, and photographs and diagrams of each device.
A Small World by Davin Heckman
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (TK7881.25 .H43 2008)
ISBN: 9780822341581
Publication Date: 2008-03-13
Conceived in the 1960s, Walt Disney's original plans for his Experimental Prototype Community of Tomorrow (EPCOT) outlined a utopian laboratory for domestic technology, where families would live, work, and play in an integrated environment. Like many of his contemporaries, Disney imagined homes that would attend to their inhabitants' every need, and he regarded the home as a site of unending technological progress. This fixation on "space-age" technology, with its promise of domestic bliss, marked an important mid-twentieth-century shift in understandings of the American home. In A Small World, Davin Heckman considers how domestic technologies that free people to enjoy leisure time in the home have come to be understood as necessary parts of everyday life. Heckman's narrative stretches from the early-twentieth-century introduction into the home of electric appliances and industrial time-management techniques, through the postwar advent of television and the space-age "house of tomorrow," to the contemporary automated, networked "smart home." He considers all these developments in relation to lifestyle and consumer narratives.

Recommended Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
- This link opens in a new window
America's News (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window With unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
Expanded Academic ASAP (Gale) This link opens in a new window Resources for research across academic disciplines, offering in-depth coverage of virtually any concentration from advertising, psychology and history to microbiology, the humanities and womens studies.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window The premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
- This link opens in a new window

Login Required

You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.

Home Automation: Home

Welcome

eBooks/Books

Recommended Databases

Login Required

Ask a Librarian