Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for homeland security research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
Foundations of Homeland Security by
Publication Date: 2017-01-10
The Complete Guide to Understanding the Structure of Homeland Security Law New topics featuring leading authors cover topics on Security Threats of Separatism, Secession and Rightwing Extremism; Aviation Industry's 'Crew Resource Management' Principles'; and Ethics, Legal, and Social Issues in Homeland Security Legal, and Social Issues in Homeland Security. In addition, the chapter devoted to the Trans-Pacific Partnership is a description of economic statecraft, what we really gain from the TPP, and what we stand to lose. The Power of Pop Culture in the Hands of ISIS describes how ISIS communicates and how pop culture is used expertly as a recruiting tool Text organized by subject with the portions of all the laws related to that particular subject in one chapter, making it easier to reference a specific statute by topic Allows the reader to recognize that homeland security involves many specialties and to view homeland security expansively and in the long-term Includes many references as a resource for professionals in various fields including: military, government, first responders, lawyers, and students
Homeland Security: An Introduction to Principles and Practice by
Publication Date: 2016-12-08
Since formed in 2002, DHS has been at the forefront of determining and furthering some of the most hotly debated security issues facing the U.S. and global community in the 21st century. Nearly 200 university programs with undergrad and graduate majors have cropped up in the last dozen-plus years with limited resources available to teach from. Homeland Security, Third Edition will continue to serve as the core textbook covering the fundamental history, formation, oversight, and reach of DHS currently. The book is fully updated with new laws, regulations and strategies across intelligence, transportation sectors, emergency management, border security, public utilities and public health.
Introduction to Homeland Security: Policy, Organization, and Administration by
Publication Date: 2019-10-07
After the terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001, and with the establishment of the Department of Homeland Security, the academic field of Homeland Security has grown exponentially. Until now, no text existed that addressed the need for a definitive textbook on this rapidly expanding field. Suitable for undergraduate students entering the field of Homeland Security, and for Criminal Justice students studying their role in a post-9/11 world, Introduction to Homeland Security: Policy, Organization, and Administration, Second Edition is a comprehensive but accessible text designed for students seeking a thorough overview of the policies, administrations, and organizations that fall under Homeland Security.The only text of its kind available on the market, Introduction to Homeland Security, Second Edition offers grounding in the basic issues of homeland security, the history and context of the field, and what the future of the field might hold. Students will come away with a solid understanding of the central issues surrounding Homeland Security, including policy concepts and political and legal responses to Homeland Security. Authored by leading experts in the field, Introduction to Homeland Security: Policy, Organization, and Administration, Second Edition is the essential text on understanding Homeland Security in America today.
Understanding the Department of Homeland Security by
Publication Date: 2015-12-14
Understanding the Department of Homeland Security discusses why the Department of Homeland Security (DHS)--the largest and the newest department of government--was established and then takes a detailed look at the role of the 22 different federal departments and agencies that were incorporated into it. DHS has more than 240,000 employees in jobs that range from aviation and border security to emergency response, from cybersecurity analyst to chemical facility inspector. Its duties are wide-ranging, but the goal is clear--keeping America safe. Features: -An analytical look at the Department of Homeland Security and all its component agencies. -A list of all the major homeland security incidents over the last 100 years. About the Series: The Cabinet Series looks at the major departments in the Federal Government explaining why they were created and the responsibilities of each agency and how they conduct their daily business at home and abroad. It helps to explain what federal agencies do and how they affect the lives of citizens.
How Safe Are We? Homeland Security Since 9/11 by
Call Number: Lakeland Circulation HV6432.4 .N36 2019
Publication Date: 2019-03-26
Former Secretary of the Department of Homeland Security Janet Napolitano offers an insightful analysis of American security at home and a prescription for the future. Created in the wake of the greatest tragedy to occur on U.S. soil, the Department of Homeland Security was handed a sweeping mandate: make America safer. It would encompass intelligence and law enforcement agencies, oversee natural disasters, commercial aviation, border security and ICE, cybersecurity, and terrorism, among others. From 2009-2013, Janet Napolitano ran DHS and oversaw 22 federal agencies with 230,000 employees. In How Safe Are We?, Napolitano pulls no punches, reckoning with the critics who call it Frankenstein's Monster of government run amok, and taking a hard look at the challenges we'll be facing in the future. But ultimately, she argues that the huge, multifaceted department is vital to our nation's security. An agency that's part terrorism prevention, part intelligence agency, part law enforcement, public safety, disaster recovery make for an odd combination the protocol-driven, tradition-bound Washington D.C. culture. But, she says, it has made us more safe, secure, and resilient. Napolitano not only answers the titular question, but grapples with how these security efforts have changed our country and society. Where are the failures that leave us vulnerable and what has our 1 trillion dollar investment yielded over the last 15 years? And why haven't we had another massive terrorist attack in the U.S. since September 11th, 2001? In our current political climate, where Donald Trump has politicized nearly every aspect of the department, Napolitano's clarifying, bold vision is needed now more than ever.
Is America Safe? Terrorism, Homeland Security, and Emergency Preparedness by
Call Number: Lakeland Circulation HV6432 .J67 2019
Publication Date: 2018-12-31
As potential targets such as military facilities, symbols of democracy, government buildings, and infrastructure are 'hardened' against possible terrorist attacks, terrorists will shift to softer targets: churches, schools, malls, mass entertainment centers, high-rise apartments, transportation centers, and energy facilities. Their goal will be to disrupt or destroy our economy, impose fear and uncertainty, break our national will, and deflect our attention and support from the Middle East. We could wait for it to happen, or we can prepare now. This new book empowers Americans by providing them with the knowledge and skills needed to understand terrorist strategies, which, in turn, allow each of us to contribute to disrupting the terrorists' intended goals through observing and reporting suspicious activity, reducing target vulnerabilities, and minimizing casualties through education and preparation. The authors define terrorism and its origins and describe present-day organizations: where they operate, what their philosophies entail, and what their motivation and objectives are. They review different terrorist tactics and their desired effects, providing readers with guidelines and checklists for surviving them. Knowing how to prepare for, and how to survive an attack is a step toward marginalizing intended casualty rates, psychological impacts, and propaganda values. At the same time, the lifesaving skills presented in this book may also be used in naturally occurring catastrophic events such as hurricanes, tornadoes, floods, or earthquakes.
National Security by
Call Number: Winter Haven Circulation UA23.A1 N399 2017
Publication Date: 2017-05-12
The Information Plus Reference Series provides statistical data on 32 of todays most controversial and most studied social issues. Each Information Plus title is a compilation of current and historical statistics -- with analysis -- on aspects of one contemporary social issue, such as abortion, capital punishment, and genetic engineering. Each title is divided into chapters that are devoted to a particular topic. The text provides a clear and comprehensive summary of up-to-date research on the topic and is interspersed with the statistical tables, charts, and graphs. Each table is directly referred to and carefully explained in the text. Designed as ready-reference tools, Information Plus titles save researchers and students from the cumbersome task of locating statistics from various sources. Information Plus data are compiled from reports generated by branches of the U.S. government, information collected by major independent polling organizations and authoritative associations, and from professional journals, newspapers, pamphlets, and other reliable sources. With the text presented in an even-handed and unbiased manner, Information Plus is an excellent resource for researchers who want to understand social issues and controversies and draw their own conclusions about them. Each thoroughly indexed volume provides complete source citations for the statisti
Willful Neglect: The Dangerous Illusion of Homeland Security by
Call Number: Winter Haven Circulation UA23 .F28 2010
Publication Date: 2010-03-02
Former CIA case officer and author of Operation Hotel California and the forthcoming Beyond Repair, Charles S. Faddis takes a look at the state of homeland security and attempts to answer the question, "Are we really any safer than we were on 9/11?" While not a security expert, Faddis knows more than most about the subject and he does understand terrorism. He has also run numerous offensive operations in his 20 years with the Agency, so it's easy for him to stand in the shoes of a terrorist and appraise targets. To date, he has taken a look at military installations, passenger rail, freight rail, chemical plants, LNG facilities, and water treatment plants. He's just started to look at dams, and next up will be nuclear power plants. He went into this project very skeptical of what he would find. Several months later, he is terrified. The picture is not pretty.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
America's News This link opens in a new windowWith unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
Criminal Justice This link opens in a new windowCovers a wide variety of criminal justice topics, including corrections administration, law enforcement, social work, industrial security, drug rehabilitation, and criminal and family law.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis comprehensive database includes full text and bibliographic records of leading journals in the criminal justice field. Covering a wide range of topics, it is an essential collection for students and scholars researching criminal justice and criminology.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowThe premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.