Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for home schooling research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
African Americans and Homeschooling by
Publication Date: 2014-08-27
Despite greater access to formal education, both disadvantaged and middle-class black students continue to struggle academically, causing a growing number of black parents to turn to homeschooling. This book is an in-depth exploration of the motivations behind black parents' decision to educate their children at home and the strategies they've developed to overcome potential obstacles. Citing current issues such as culture, religion and safety, the book challenges the commonly expressed view that black parents and their children have divested from formal education by embracing homeschooling as a constructive strategy to provide black children with a valuable educational experience.
Home Schooling: The History and Philosophy of a Controversial Practice by
Publication Date: 2019
In 'Homeschooling', James G. Dwyer and Shawn F. Peters examine homeschooling's history, its methods, and the fundamental questions at the root of the heated debate over whether and how the state should oversee and regulate it. The authors trace the evolution of homeschooling and the law relating to it from before America's founding to the present day. In the process they analyze the many arguments made for and against it, and set them in the context of larger questions about school and education. They then tackle the question of regulation, and they do so within a rigorous moral framework, one that is constructed from a clear-eyed assessment of what rights and duties children, parents, and the state each possess.
Homeschooling in America by
Publication Date: 2012
This book is the definitive study on homeschooling in the United States, delving into a movement that impacts more students nationwide than the entire charter school movement. In 2010, more than 2 million students were homeschooled. This book explores: The history of homeschooling in America. How this movement has grown in credibility and enrollment exponentially The current state of homeschooling, including questions over who gets homeschooled, why, and what is the success--academically and in life--of students who are homeschooled The impact of homeschooling on the student and on American society In the most extensive survey and analysis of research on homeschooling, spanning the birth of the movement in the 1970s to today, Homeschooling in America shines a light on one of the most important yet least understood social movements of the last forty years and what it means for education today.
The Wiley Handbook of Home Education by
Publication Date: 2016-12-12
The Wiley Handbook of Home Education is a comprehensive collection of the latest scholarship in all aspects of home education in the United States and abroad. Presents the latest findings on academic achievement of home-schooled children, issues of socialization, and legal argumentation about home-schooling and government regulation A truly global perspective on home education, this handbook includes the disparate work of scholars outside of the U.S. Typically understudied topics are addressed, such as the emotional lives of home educating mothers and the impact of home education on young adults Writing is accessible to students, scholars, educators, and anyone interested in home schooling issues
Homeschool : An American History by
Call Number: Winter Haven Circulation LC40 .G34 2017
Publication Date: 2017-03-05
This book provides a lively account of one of the most important and overlooked themes in American education. Beginning in the colonial period and working to the present, Gaither describes in rich detail how the home has been used as the base for education of all kinds. The last five chapters focus especially on the modern homeschooling movement and offer the most comprehensive and authoritative account of it ever written. Readers will learn how and why homeschooling emerged when it did, where it has been, and where it may be going. The second edition has been thoroughly revised to incorporate the most recent scholarship on the topic and to provide comprehensive coverage of recent trends.
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation (LC40 .H47 2013)
Publication Date: 2013-06-21
1. Homeschooling is a growing trend and evolving practice / Danielle Geary -- 2. Homeschooling is increasing among the wealthy / Alexandra Jacobs -- 3. Homeschooling : the sleeping giant of American education / Dan Lips and Evan Feinberg -- 4. Making education history : beyond the status quo / The Old Schoolhouse Magazine -- 5. Parents have the right to homeschool their children / Michael Farris -- 6. Homeschooling violates progressive liberal values / Dana Goldstein -- 7. Homeschooling does not violate progressive liberal values / Conor Friedersdorf -- 8. Some Evangelical Christian homeschooling limits the worldly options of girls / Kathryn Joyce -- 9. Christian homeschooling should not limit the options of girls / Jeannette Webb -- 10. Homeschooling can be a feminist act / Becky Ellis -- 11. The health of a family : homeschooling from the heart / Julie Foster.
Homeschooling in New View by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (LC40 .H6693 2016 )
Publication Date: 2016-01-19
Part 1. Setting the context. Introduction to recent changes and research in US homeschooling / Brian Ray Legal status of homeschooling: an overview / Charles J. Russo -- Part 2. Understanding a range of perspectives. Away with all teachers: the cultural politics of homeschooling / Michael W. Apple -- State power versus parental rights: an international human rights perspective on home education / Michael P. Donnelly -- Trends in homeschooling in North Carolina and Ohio / Lance D. Fusarelli, Andrew Saultz, Andrew McEachin -- Are homeschools adequate learning environments for students with LD? / Steven F. Duvall -- Homeschooling for liberty Tom Smedley -- Willed curriculum: a self-determined approach to learning at home / Carlo Ricci -- Why homeschooling should be regulated / Rob Reich -- Homeschooling in hindsight: the strengths and shortcomings of unschooling / Venus Taylor -- Through the lens of homeschooling: a response to Michael Apple and Rob Reich /Nicky Hardenbergh -- Part 3. International perspectives. -- Can families be trusted: keynote address at Global Home Education Conference 2012, Berlin / Charles L. Glenn -- Homeschooling: a British perspective / Sean Gabb -- Homeschooling regulation vis-a-vis democratic demands of pluralism, integration, and freedom in Spain / Ana Llano Torres -- Afterward: Back to the future: Homeschooling and the evolution of education / Frances R. Spielhagen.
School Choice by
Call Number: Winter Haven Circulation LB1027.9 .G37 2018
Publication Date: 2018-09-18
An accessible guide to the major issues and arguments surrounding school choice.The issues and arguments surrounding school choice are sometimes hijacked to make political points about government control, democratic ideals, the public good, and privatization. In this volume in the MIT Press Essential Knowledge series, David Garcia avoids partisan arguments to offer an accessible, objective, and comprehensive guide to school choice. He first outlines the different types of school choice, including home schooling, private schools, freedom-of-choice plans, magnet schools, charter schools, vouchers, and education savings accounts. Two themes emerge as particularly resonant in the American school choice debate- the long history of school desegregation, and debates over the roles and responsibilities of government. Is education a public good, for the collective benefit of society, or a private good, to benefit the individual? Garcia describes and evaluates the major arguments supporting school choice policies- the elimination of government bureaucracies, the introduction of competition into education through market forces, the promotion of parental choice, and the casting of school choice as a civil right. He examines the research on the effects of school choice and summarizes general trends. Finally, he considers how school choice policies are likely to evolve. He notes that the Trump administration's Secretary of Education, Betsy DeVos, is an advocate for school choice, and that the administration's budget allocations signal a deliberate shift from long-standing federal policies that provide supplemental funding for low-income schools. Instead, new policies provide incentives for low-income families to leave public schools altogether through choice. This book will be an essential resource for participating in the debates that are sure to follow.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
The world's largest and most complete collection of full-text education journals, this database provides scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals, and policy makers. It covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education as well as all educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
Educators Reference Complete This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive resource covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college and includes virtually every educational specialty, such as bilingual studies, health, technology and testing. The resource also includes information on issues related to administration, funding and policy in education.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
An authoritative database of indexed and full-text educational literature and resources. Essential for education researchers of all kinds, it features journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.
Expanded Academic ASAP This link opens in a new window
Resources for research across academic disciplines, offering in-depth coverage of
virtually any concentration from advertising, psychology and history to microbiology, the humanities and womens studies.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Contains journal information for K-12 teachers and librarians. Topics covered include best practices, curriculum development, literacy standards, pedagogical research, instructional media, language arts, science & mathematics, school administration, and more.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.