Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for literacy in America related research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
Literacy for the New Millennium by
Publication Date: 2007-10-01
Living in an age of communication, literacy is an extremely integral part of our society. We are impacted by literature during our infancy, childhood, adolescence, and adulthood. This four volume set includes information from specialists in the field who discuss the influence of popular culture, media, and technology on literacy. Together, they offer a comprehensive outline of the study and practice of literacy in the United States.
The Secret of Literacy: Making the implicit explicit by
Publication Date: 2014-09-30
Literacy? That's someone else's job, isn't it? This is a book for all teachers on how to make explicit to students those things we can do implicitly. In the Teachers' Standards it states that all teachers must demonstrate an understanding of, and take responsibility for, promoting high standards of literacy, articulacy, and the correct use of standard English, whatever the teacher's specialist subject. In The Secret of Literacy, David Didau inspires teachers to embrace the challenge of improving students' life chances through improving their literacy. Topics include: Why is literacy important? Oracy - improving classroom talk How should we teach reading? How to get students to value writing How written feedback and marking can support literacy.
Rebuilding the Foundation : Effective Reading Instruction for 21st Century Literacy by
Publication Date: 2010-09-01
Teaching reading is a complex task without a simple formula for developing quality instruction. The authors present a deep and thoughtful conversation about what is meant by effective reading instruction for all students. Rather than build on or alter existing models, this book considers how educators and policymakers might think about rebuilding and reconceptualizing reading education, perhaps from the ground up.
Reading Instruction in America by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation (LB1050 .P375 2015 )
Publication Date: 2015-09-18
The diversity of student populations in the United States presents educators with many challenges. To provide effective reading instruction for the individual student, teachers must understand the enormous variety of reading methods and materials that exist and make independent decisions based on their students' particular needs. Research indicates that educators are often influenced by reading instruction fads that quickly fade, making it more challenging to develop a repertoire of teaching strategies in which a teacher may have confidence. This book examines a variety of reading methods used in American schools from the 19th to the 21st century, and the literature promoting or critiquing them, to help teachers become informed decision makers and better meet the needs of students.
Best Practices in Early Literacy Instruction by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (LB1139.5.L35 B47 2013)
Publication Date: 2013-09-03
Bringing together prominent scholars, this book shows how 21st-century research and theory can inform everyday instructional practices in early childhood classrooms (PreK-3). Coverage includes foundational topics such as alphabet learning, phonological awareness, oral language development, and learning to write, as well as cutting-edge topics such as digital literacy, informational texts, and response to intervention. Every chapter features guiding questions; an overview of ideas and findings on the topic at hand; specific suggestions for improving instruction, assessment, and/or the classroom environment; and an engrossing example of the practices in action.
Losing Our Language by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (LB1573 .S874 1999)
Publication Date: 1999-02-24
In Losing Our Language, Stotsky shows how basal readers have been systematically "dumbed down" in an effort to raise minority students' "self-esteem." While elementary readers of the past featured excerpts from classic stories such as Arabian Nights and Robinson Crusoe, with a complex vocabulary and sentence structure able to challenge the imagination and build reading skills, today's basal readers present students with politically and ethnically correct stories whose language is virtually foreign and unable to engage them. Drawing words from Swahili, Spanglish and other trendy dialects to reach students with a shrinking English vocabularly is a symptom of this intellectual and cultural disorder.
Education Source The world's largest and most complete collection of full-text education journals, this database provides scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals, and policy makers. It covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education as well as all educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
Educators Reference Complete This comprehensive resource covers multiple levels of education
from preschool to college and includes virtually every educational specialty, such
as bilingual studies, health, technology and testing. The resource also includes
information on issues related to administration, funding and policy in education.
ERIC An authoritative database of indexed and full-text educational literature and resources. Essential for education researchers of all kinds, it features journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.
Teacher Reference Center Contains journal information for K-12 teachers and librarians. Topics covered include best practices, curriculum development, literacy standards, pedagogical research, instructional media, language arts, science & mathematics, school administration, and more.
Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Expanded Academic ASAP Resources for research across academic disciplines, offering in-depth coverage of
virtually any concentration from advertising, psychology and history to microbiology, the humanities and womens studies.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.