Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for income inequality research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
The Economics of Inequality by
Publication Date: 2015-08-03
Piketty begins by explaining how inequality evolves and how economists measure it. In subsequent chapters, he explores variances in income and ownership of capital and the variety of policies used to reduce these gaps. Along the way, with characteristic clarity and precision, he introduces key ideas about the relationship between labor and capital, the effects of different systems of taxation, the distinction between "historical" and "political" time, the impact of education and technological change, the nature of capital markets, the role of unions, and apparent tensions between the pursuit of efficiency and the pursuit of fairness. Succinct, accessible, and authoritative, this is the ideal place to start for those who want to understand the fundamental issues at the heart of one of the most pressing concerns in contemporary economics and politics.
Inequality in America: Facts, Trends, and International Perspective by
Publication Date: 2012-07-13
Income inequality has been on the rise since the late 1970s, but the economic and financial crisis of 2008 instigated an unemployment epidemic that dramatically compounded this problem in the United States and catapulted the issue to the center of debate. There is wide agreement across the political spectrum that high inequality is contributing to undesirable circumstances such as stagnant household income, rising poverty rates, and increased borrowing and debt, though there is much less agreement on remedies. Inequality in America provides a snapshot of the issues posed by the growing concentrations of income, focusing on the United States but drawing on international comparisons to help set the context. The authors examine the economic, technological,and political drivers of inequality and identify worrying trends associated with its rise. They demonstrate how specific factors have exacerbated income inequality, including technological change, international trade, changes in labor market participation,and the increasing role of the financial sector. Their clear and concise exposition makes the issues surrounding income distribution accessible to a wider public. As they write in the conclusion: "We have argued that tackling the worst effects of inequality and re-establishing a measure of equal opportunity requires increased investment in crucial public goods: first, education; second, a more progressive and simplified tax system; and third, increased international cooperation to avoid a race to the bottom.
Divided: The Perils of Our Growing Inequality by
Publication Date: 2014-04-01
Compiled by Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist David Cay Johnston, Divided gathers the writings of leading scholars, activists and journalists to provide an illuminating, multifaceted look at inequality. Combining surprising statistical evidence with penetrating new analysis, the contributors explore the devastating implications that income inequality has on areas as diverse as education, justice, healthcare, social mobility and political representation. This is an essential resource for anyone who cares about the future of Western economies.
Under the Affluence: Shaming the Poor, Praising the Rich and Sacrificing the Future of America by
Publication Date: 2015-10-13
In his bracing new book,Under the Affluence, Tim Wise brilliantly engages the roots and ramifications of radical inequality in our nation, carefully detailing the heartless war against the poor and the swooning addiction to the rich that exposes the moral sickness at the heart of our culture. Wise's stirring analysis of our predicament is more than a disinterested social scientific treatise; this book is a valiant call to arms against the vicious practices that undermine the best of the American ideals we claim to cherish. In Under the Affluence, Wise discusses a related issue: economic inequality and the demonization of those in need. He reminds us that there was a time when the hardship of fellow Americans stirred feelings of sympathy, solidarity for struggling families, and support for policies and programs meant to alleviate poverty. Today, however, mainstream discourse blames people with low income for their own situation, and the notion of an intractable "culture of poverty" has pushed our country in an especially ugly direction. Tim Wise argues that far from any culture of poverty, it is the culture of predatory affluence that deserves the blame for America's simmering economic and social crises. He documents the increasing contempt for the nation's poor, and reveals the forces at work to create and perpetuate it.
The Wealth Divide by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (HC110.E5 W43 2015 )
Publication Date: 2015-01-06
The wealth divide between rich and poor harms the US economy / Jonathan Rauch -- A cell phone in every pot / Aparna Mathur -- Income inequality causes serious social ills and should be reduced / Thomas L. Hungerford -- Income inequality is not unfair and does not need to be eliminated / Arthur C. Brooks -- A house divided / Thomas J. Sugrue -- Disparities in achievement along racial and ethnic lines are the norm / Thomas Sowell -- Race, wealth, and intergenerational poverty / Darrick Hamilton -- How to fix America's wealth inequality : teach Americans to be cheap / Noah Smith -- Reflections on inequality / Robert A. Levy -- To reduce inequality, we should help the poor not tax the rich / James Q. Wilson -- Americans want less wealth inequality than currently exists / Michael I. Norton and Dan Ariely -- That Americans want less wealth inequality is irrelevant / Max Borders -- The unequal wealth created by the rich is essential for the economy / Richard A. Epstein.
Inequality : what can be done? by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation (HC79.I5 A822 2015)
Publication Date: 2015-05-11
Inequality is one of our most urgent social problems. Curbed in the decades after World War II, it has recently returned with a vengeance. We all know the scale of the problem-talk about the 99% and the 1% is entrenched in public debate-but there has been little discussion of what we can do but despair. According to the distinguished economist Anthony Atkinson, however, we can do much more than skeptics imagine. He presents a comprehensive set of policies that could bring about a genuine shift in the distribution of income in developed countries. The problem, Atkinson shows, is not simply that the rich are getting richer. We are also failing to tackle poverty, and the economy is rapidly changing to leave the majority of people behind. To reduce inequality, we have to go beyond placing new taxes on the wealthy to fund existing programs. Atkinson thus recommends ambitious new policies in five areas: technology, employment, social security, the sharing of capital, and taxation. He defends these against the common arguments and excuses for inaction: that intervention will shrink the economy, that globalization makes action impossible, and that new policies cannot be afforded.
The Wage Gap by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (HD6061.2.U6 W34 2014)
Publication Date: 2014-06-06
This title explores issues related to the wage gap, including: problems with the wage gap between men and women; the wage gap as a rich and poor problem; the wage gap among races; is education key to reducing the wage gap.
Two Nations, Indivisible : a history of inequality in America by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation (HC110.I5 B66 2016)
Publication Date: 2016-10-17
While examining the arguments made in favor of egalitarianism, this book debunks the notion that the United States is now or has ever been a nation offering equal opportunity to all. * Exposes the extent to which inequality exists-and has always existed-in the United States * Traces the deep roots of the American concern about inequality and the ways in which that concern has taken different forms over time, from the movement for free homesteads, to the Populist movement, to the Progressives, to the career of Huey Long, to Occupy Wall Street .
Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
America's News With unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
Expanded Academic ASAP Resources for research across academic disciplines, offering in-depth coverage of
virtually any concentration from advertising, psychology and history to microbiology, the humanities and womens studies.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context The premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.