Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for internet addiction research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
Internet Addiction: Psychology of Emotions, Motivations and Actions by
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Since the Internet's early widespread use in the mid-1990s, Internet addiction has been identified as a legitimate psychological disorder with significant implications for an individual's cognitive, emotional, and social development. This book presents current research from across the globe in the study of Internet Addiction, including Internet Addiction in adolescence and emerging adulthood; on-line pathological gambling; the Internet and its negative impact on adolescents' sexuality; and the maltreatment of internet addicts in China.
Online Health and Safety: From Cyberbullying to Internet Addiction by
Publication Date: 2016-02-22
This book explores 10 unique facets of Internet health and safety, including physical safety, information security, and the responsible use of technology, offering takeaways from interviews with experts in the field and suggestions for proactively improving users' Internet safety. * Addresses a wide range of topics related to Internet health and safety, all of which are highly relevant to students and young adults * Includes a subject-by-subject directory of resources that guides readers toward sources for additional study.
Theory of Addiction by
Publication Date: 2013-11-04
The word 'addiction' these days is used to refer to a chronic condition where there is an unhealthily powerful motivation to engage in a particular behaviour. This can be driven by many different factors - physiological, psychological, environmental and social. If we say that it is all about X, we miss V, W, Y and Z. So, some people think addicts are using drugs to escape from unhappy lives, feelings of anxiety and so on; many are. Some people think drugs become addictive because they alter the brain chemistry to create powerful urges; that is often true. Others think that drug taking is about seeking after pleasure; often it is. Some take the view that addiction is a choice - addicts weigh up the pros and cons of doing what they do and decide the former outweigh the latter. Yet others believe that addicts suffer from poor impulse control; that is often true... And so it goes on. When you look at the evidence, you see that all these positions capture important aspects of the problem - but they are not complete explanations. Neuroscience can help us delve more deeply into some of these explanations, while the behavioural and social sciences are better at exploring others.
Internet Addiction in Children and Adolescents by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (RC569.5.I54I553 2017)
Publication Date: 2017-05-01
This book thoroughly examines how early and easy access to the Internet and digital technologies impacts children and adolescents. Experts in the field examine the research that shows the social, cognitive, developmental, and academic problems that can result when children spend excessive time in front of screens. This book includes strategies for treatment and prevention in family, school, and community settings. Practitioners and researchers in psychology, social work, school counseling, child and family therapy, and nursing will appreciate this book's thorough review of Internet addiction among children and adolescents. The book also serves as an engaging supplement in courses on media psychology, addiction counseling, abnormal psychology, school counseling, social issues, and more.
Glow Kids: how screen addiction is hijacking our kids--and how to break the trance by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (RJ506.I58 K37 2016)
Publication Date: 2016-08-09
In Glow Kids, Dr. Nicholas Kardaras will examine how technology more specifically, age-inappropriate screen tech, with all of its glowing ubiquity--has profoundly affected the brains of an entire generation. Brain imaging research is showing that stimulating glowing screens are as dopaminergic (dopamine activating) to the brain's pleasure center as sex. And a growing mountain of clinical research correlates screen tech with disorders like ADHD, addiction, anxiety, depression, increased aggression, and even psychosis. Most shocking of all, recent brain imaging studies conclusively show that excessive screen exposure can neurologically damage a young person's developing brain in the same way that cocaine addiction can. Kardaras will dive into the sociological, psychological, cultural, and economic factors involved in the global tech epidemic with one major goal: to explore the effect all of our wonderful shiny new technology is having on kids.
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation (T14.5 .J346 2012)
Publication Date: 2012-05-01
From Twitter to iPhones, from Facebook to tablets, we have an endless supply of media and gadgets to hook our interest, snag our wallets, and occupy our time. Think back over the last five years. How much of your time was devoted to online activities? How much of your real life has been gobbled up or googled up in your net life? In Hooked, counselor and addiction specialist Dr. Gregory Jantz speaks enthusiastically and frankly about the gizmos and gadgets, social media magnets, and Internet sidetracks we have at our fingertips. With real-life examples and biblical applications, he presents a celebration of the positives technology offers and a cautionary tale about the negatives it unleashes, including: The power and dangers of the web; The myth of multitasking; Overcoming disconnection anxiety; The psychology behind Internet addiction; Employing the ultimate filter and taking back control of your life.
Why Can't I Stop? : reclaiming your life from behavioral addiction by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (RC533 .G723 2016)
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
Just as substances like alcohol and narcotics have the potential to become addictive, so do certain behaviors. With a physical basis in the brain, behavioral addictions are serious illnesses-but simply willing yourself to stop is usually not enough. Why Can't I Stop? is for anyone who has a behavioral addiction, as well as their supportive families and friends. Examining seven of the most common and serious addictions-gambling, sex, stealing, internet use, shopping and buying, hair pulling and skin picking, and food-the authors bring together cutting-edge research to describe behavioral addiction, its causes, and how it can be diagnosed and treated. Featuring patient stories of behavioral addiction and recovery, as well as information about treatment centers, this compassionate guide will help readers better understand the complicated issues surrounding these addictions and teach family members how to help the addicted person while helping themselves.
iDisorder : understanding our obsession with technology and overcoming its hold on us by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven & Lakeland Circulation (T58.5 .R667 2012)
Publication Date: 2013-08-06
iDisorder: changes to your brain's ability to process information and your ability to relate to the world due to your daily use of media and technology resulting in signs and symptoms of psychological disorders - such as stress, sleeplessness, and a compulsive need to check in with all of your technology. Based on decades of research and expertise in the "psychology of technology," Dr. Larry Rosen offers clear, down-to-earth explanations for why many of us are suffering from an "iDisorder." Rosen offers solid, proven strategies to help us overcome the iDisorder we all feel in our lives while still making use of all that technology offers. Our world is not going to change, and technology will continue to penetrate society even deeper leaving us little chance to react to the seemingly daily additions to our lives. Rosen teaches us how to stay human in an increasingly technological world.
How to Break up with Your Phone by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (RC569.5.I54P75 2018)
Publication Date: 2018-02-13
Packed with tested strategies and practical tips, this book is the essential, life-changing guide for everyone who owns a smartphone. Is your phone the first thing you reach for in the morning and the last thing you touch before bed? Do you say you want to spend less time on your phone, but have no idea how to do so without giving it up completely? If so, this book is your solution. Award-winning journalist Catherine Price presents a practical, hands-on plan to break up--and then make up--with your phone. The goal? A long-term relationship that actually feels good. You'll discover how phones and apps are designed to be addictive, and learn how the time we spend on them damages our abilities to focus, think deeply, and form new memories. You'll then make customized changes to your settings, apps, environment, and mindset that will ultimately enable you to take back control of your life.
Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
America's News With unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
Expanded Academic ASAP Resources for research across academic disciplines, offering in-depth coverage of
virtually any concentration from advertising, psychology and history to microbiology, the humanities and womens studies.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context The premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.